We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel on Samui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Backpacker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Samui Backpacker Hotel to your Saves list
Samui Backpacker Hotel
76/1 Moo. 4, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel on Samui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed at Samui Backpacker Hotel the first week it opened. The staff were amazing, the other guests were super friendly. The communal area makes it easy to hangout and meet new people. I highly recommend staying there if you are on Samui!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great hostel with super friendly management, couldn't be more helpful. Indoor and outdoor hot showers were nice to have after a week in another hostel with just cold ones! Really clean, tidy and modern all at a great price. The outdoor area is great for a little chill out too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Nice new modern building, nice and friendly staff, good value only 350 bht a night, good location, directly opposite the peer to ko phangan. Everything was clean and comfortable and it had a tv with english channels. Excellent value for money, would recommend to people going to ko samui

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Me and my friends stayed here after a recommendation from some people we met in Koh Tao....and boy are we happy we did. This is by far the nicest hotel any of us have ever stayed in with the most friendly and helpful staff. The owners even arranged a nice bbq for us! the location is amazing just set back from the road with lots of chilling space and even some cool swings and amazing outdoor bed area which can fit about 15 people on it. Its across the road from the beach and a few mins walk to the pier which takes you to full moon and 10 min walk to the one which goes to koh Tao. It was super modern and clean inside and showers were nice and powerful. The games area is also a great addition! Thank you Samui backpacker hotel we will certainly be back next year!

Room Tip: upstairs also has single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here with 2 friends for 2 nights wished we could have stayed more but had prebooked accommodation on phangan. The place its self is very clean and sleek, the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room between the beds, good area to chill in with a pool and table tennis table and a nice pair of speakers next to it, really good location, 2 mins to the beach, shops round the corner, plenty of restaurants to choose from. For me the best thing about this place was the shower , having a hot shower that has some pressure to it is amazing after 4 weeks of cold showers, would definitely recommend to all coming to ko samui if they want a nice place to stay at a cheap price , definitely going to try and come back here

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hat Yai, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A modern, clean, friendly backpackers hostel. There are several showers and toilets inside and outside the hostel with a spacious bathroom. A comfy couch to sit and chill and catch up on some English TV! Outside there is a little social area with seating, a pool table and table tennis.
The hostel is in a great location, easy to find, just across the road from Banrak beach which is where the pier is to Koh Panghan. It is 15 minutes away from Koh Samui's party spot Chaweng beach. Scooters can be rented from the hostel at a great price.
The owner is very friendly and warming, always willing to ensure you have a comfortable stay. I will definitely be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Loved staying here over new year! It's so chilled. The dorms big with really comfy beds. Didn't want for anything and loved every minute of it :) If I ever go back to Koh Samui, I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Backpacker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Backpacker Hotel

Address: 76/1 Moo. 4, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern backpacker hotel offers a cheap but also quality place to stay. It is located in Bangrak which has lots of bars, restaurants and shops. If your thinking of heading to the Full Moon Party we are only a 2 minute walk to the Full Moon Party Pier. Includes free: wifi, air con, hot shower, pool table, table tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Samui Backpacker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Backpacker Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Backpacker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.