We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and service, and a special event too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saboey Resort and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Saboey Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Saboey Resort and Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51/4 Moo 4 Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and service, and a special event too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We got a beach villa on the weekend of 19 - 21 May 2012; excellent views of the ocean coupled with a wonderful room and experience. It was also a special trip for us as I proposed to my partner while staying at this property, and the hotel management went out of their way to set up a beach pavilion and complimentary dinner for us... very thoughtful and excellent service! (Unfortunately we couldn't use the beach pavilion as there was a storm incoming, but that's a story for another day)

The only downside to this property is that the beach isn't too clean and the sand is not powdery soft, but that's to be expected of any property along the Big Buddha beach stretch. The nearby town made renting a motorcycle and lunch pretty convenient though, and I highly recommend the family run restaurant on the opposite side of the street. A completely satisfying meal at 300 baht, and that's tourist prices.

Room Tip: The beach villas are excellent and have a better view in my opinion than the penthouse suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    86
    19
    12
    14
See reviews for
41
167
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable week at Saboey. The very hospitable staff were ably led and encouraged by the obliging manager Jon Feaver. Our room was large and clean and the bed very comfortable.The breakfast was adequate, although not an extensive range. The facilities at the resort were very good, spa, pool, garden, bar and beach.
We found the location of the resort and villas to be very good, with a variety of restaurants and fine dining within either walking distance or short taxi trips. The glitz and bustle of Chaweng is only a10 minute taxi drive away from this peaceful resort. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed two weeks at the hotel. The villas are well set back from the road, so quiet. The staff are very friendly and attentive - I once left my key in the room and when I returned to the hotel the receptionist noticed me and gave it back to me without me even having to ask! There are good views across the Bophut bay. The villas are large and well maintained. Very comfortable but not 5 star luxury. I am visiting Samui again later this year and will return to the hotel.

Room Tip: All the villas are in nice quiet settings. Rooms in the main hotel building are closer to the road s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was a much quieter part of Koh Samui. It was away from the main beach areas.
Still lots of lots of great restaurants near by.
The resort itself was very relaxed and quiet, with a smallish infinity pool
Breakfast is not extensive but more than adequate
The bar food and service was great. and the staff were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: We had villa no 2 which was facing the beach and very private but close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this lovely resort with my wife in April and to conclude it, this is a lovely and nice resort.

The room is clean and big, nicely renovated and comfortable to sleep while the staffs offered very friendly services to us.

In terms of breakfast, it is ok (while the variety is limited but the taste is great, but we could understand as this is rather a unique resort with limited rooms)

The only minus point is that the hotel is located a bit far from Chaweng and Lamai but in general certainly a great resort to be stayed.

Room Tip: Fantastic choice for honeymooners and couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My friends and I stayed at this resort for a few nights over the new years eve period so that we could go to the Countdown Party at Koh Phan Ngan for NYE. This resort is situated on a busy, loud road but once you stepped inside it was just so nice and peaceful. The infinity pool is as fun as every one says. The resort opens out right onto the beach and the views were great. Service was great. We stayed in the ocean villa which was just so spacious and beautiful. I did see the inside of one of the Garden villas which wasn't as pretty or spacious but our room was great. Couldn't fault this place. Anytime we needed help, we got service with a smile. Breakfast was included in our deal with Expedia and it was a really well-made breakfast at that. Really enjoyed my stay and on returning to Koh Samui, I wouldn't hesitate to book at Saboey again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our Thailand trip and had stayed at some other very nice properties, so our expectations were quite high by this point of the trip. The property itself was quite nice while our "penthouse villa" was just average. It wasn't bad at all, but there was just nothing out of the ordinary. The shower didn't drain well so the entire bathroom flooded with even a short shower. The AC was too cold...we turned the temperature up but it was still too cold and was blowing directly onto the bed. We tried turning it off and it was too hot, so finally had to hang a towel over the vent. The hotel itself isnt in a great location - Bangrak. We had hoped it was close to Boput and it wasn't nearly walking distance so had to hire scooters to get anywhere. Pool area and beach were nice. We spent 2 nights here and that was enough. We had stayed earlier in they stay at a nice Chaweng hotel - glad we had spent the longer portion of our Samui stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saboey Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saboey Resort and Villas

Address: 51/4 Moo 4 Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saboey Resort and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saboey is a beautiful, secluded resort, designed to maximise serenity, space and privacy. Nestled amidst lush tropical gardens and landscaped around a double-infinity freshwater pool and Jacuzzi, allowing stunning beach and sea views. A contemporary blend of Moroccan & Asian design, offering 14 spacious villas and 6 suites. Saboey is an intimate retreat, with personalised and attentive service. Indulge with the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saboey Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saboey Resort And Villas Hotel Bophut
Saboey Hotel Bophut
Saboey Resort Bophut
Saboey Resort And Villas Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saboey Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.