We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bandara Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bandara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bandara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for the second week of our holiday having stayed in Chaweng for the first week. We wanted to upgrade to a pool villa however were not prepared to pay £500 to £700 so we tried to negotiate and were really pleased with the deal we had for the highest quality pool villa which was absolutely stunning. We were also given a free meal in the hotel restaurant, bottle of champagne and breakfast brought to our room on the first morning. Having our own villa with a large pool and secluded garden area really made our holiday and we used it such a lot even after returning after our nights out we would usually go in the pool to cool off. The inside of the villa was also stunning, spotlessly clean with lovely scented oil burners, the most comfortable bed and pillows meant we slept soundly, the square bath would have been big enough to fit a whole family. The breakfast offered a lot of choice although it was very busy on some occasions so was not the most relaxing environment. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely lovely and the design of the main pool was stunning offering seating and lying areas in the pool around the edge. It was a large pool and we always managed to get a sun bed and there was a bar offering snacks and a large choice of drinks. The other pool is near the beach although this was smaller and busier so we did not use it. The beach is lovely to sit on with a choice of sunbeds or bean bags which were so comfortable and relaxing. The only problem with the beach was that the water although clean is very murky due to sludgy mud under the sand. This means that you cannot see any creatures which may be around you in the water which made me a little uncomfortable especially as we saw a large jelly fish washed up on the sand one day. The hotel allows guests free use of the kayaks which was nice. There are many beach sellers but they were in general very friendly and not pushy and some liked to have a chat with you which was nice. The man selling the Billabong t shirts was the only one we found to be a problem. The location was stunning - just 5 minutes walk along the beach to the Fisherman Village which offered a large choice of lovely restaurants and a few nice but quiet bars. We saw some really good live music in the Billabong Bar and Coco Tam's was a lovely chilled beach bar with bean bags on the sand and lovely swing chairs. The best meal we had was in Café 69 on the main road opposite Anantara Hotel. The flavour and presentation of the food was absolutely amazing and it was probably the best meal I have ever had and it was very reasonable - we were lucky to get in but would advise to book as several people were turned away while we were there as it was full. The staff in the hotel were so friendly and polite and a special mention has to go to the security man at the front of the hotel who took great delight in helping you cross the busy road always with a big smile. There are some really nice beaches on the island and we visited Silver Beach and Choeng Mon by taxi both were lovely beaches for £8.00 to £10.00 each way. To summarise this is a lovely hotel which I would recommend but if you're after clear water for snorkelling there are much nicer beaches on the island and the nightlife is nice but very chilled so no good for party animals but the lovely staff and pool villas are amazing.

Room Tip: recommend to upgrade to the new pool villas as they are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    302
    79
    20
    10
See reviews for
186
479
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Highlights: Buffet Mondays including steak, 2 big pool options, great restaurant/bar with friendly singers and staff.

Location: Very near fisherman's village, cab drivers, money exchange & convenience stores.

Food: Go for the Thai pizza if you love pizza like I do but everything else they have are good. Don't remember ordering anything bad and we stayed there for 7 days. PS: You'll never get tired of the breakfast buffet.

Room: You know a hotel's into details when they provide you with a separate set of beach bags and towels.

Look for Christian - Genuinely nice guy :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were two families visiting this hotel in August. It was an unforgettable holiday!!!!! The hotel, is a very well maintained resort with all the amenities required. It is a beautiful property where attention to detail is seen in every corner. To be honest, we solely hung out by the pool located next to the beach and pool bar. Our group spend the whole day at the resort and enjoyed the delicious food at their restaurant (which is reasonably priced). Ample amount of sun beds by the pool and beach...so one didnt have to go crazy looking for a spot. Personally, I think its a perfect getaway from all the chaos and crazy nightlife at Chaweng. The hotel has free kayaking for their guests. Breakfast was truly scrumptious!!!! I am craving for their noodles at the noodle station and assorted eggs provided every morning. A very friendly and helpful staff at the hotel. Wii fii was a bit slow and dicey, but you dont go to Thailand to be on your smartphones constantly, do you? A speacial shoutout to the GM James, who made our stay very comfortable and spoiled us for the 8 days we stayed their. Pom, the lady by the pool bar was is an exceptional star member of your staff. We miss her smile! Mr.Milan, who I think is the food and beverage Manager was always willing to accomodate our party of 10. He made sure all the guests were content and was always available for any queries. Rooms are very comfortable and large. Housekeeping did a very decent job at maintaining and replenshing all the necessary towels and other amenities. The resort is located walking distance to Fishermen's Village, which is a huge plus point. All in all we had a FAB time and will definately come back. THANK YOU BANDARA FOR MAKING OUR STAY SOOOO MEMORABLE!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stayed at Bandara Resort with my family spread across three double rooms for a week in July 2014. We had the BEST experience. The hotel was gorgeous and very clean. The breakfast every morning was very well catered and fresh. The grounds were immaculately kept and the pools were lovely. The staff were by far the best aspect of the hotel. They couldn't do enough to make our stay better. I would recommend this hotel to families and couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

As a place to get away from it all and relax this is hard to beat (although this isn't the place if you are looking for night life). The resort is in a fantastic location (bonus only 10-15 minutes from the airport), the rooms and facilities are good and the staff are so friendly. We especially enjoyed the restaurant on the beach - stunning views, good service and tasty Thai food.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I always look here for advise on my holiday choices , I was sorry I chose to stay here ..
Maybe I should of paid the £500 to upgrade the room , stayed in 427 room was a little dark , we had problems with the water temperature , once reported it was sorted , problems with water coming through the light , again once reported was sorted .
I had a bath , that was a mistake , to lie down I had to put my legs up in the air , absolutely tiny .
The towels weren't changed and on some occasions we were only left one , I never complain which I didn't it's only a base but stayed in much better accommodation .
The wifi codes were changed they didn't advise on this , when you go and ask they give you another code.
It was my husbands 50 th , Royal Orchid Sheraton in Bangcock did a cake and a Loy Nama night cruise did but the Bandara didn't acknowledge it at all .
On a plus side the breakfast was lovely and the staff in the restaurant were and at the beach bar.
It's a great location Fishermans village is 5 minutes walk away had some lovely meals there and great shopping at the Friday night market .
The Coco Tam is great for last tipple on the way back and you can walk across the beach.
If you want to go snorkelling this is definitely the wrong location , the water is so murky you can't see your hand in it ( didn't expect this in thailand ) .
The traders come on the beach selling food and drink which is a lot more reasonable than the restaurant.
The road is really busy to pop to the shop but security stop the traffic , they are great.

To summarise we had a good holiday in an adequate hotel and lovely location .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May K, Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time post your value comment. Your comment have been brought to the team to reatify the incorrect things. I would like to take this oppurtunity to appology you regarding the water temperature as well as WIFI. Please be enusred, we are striving to provide a best quality of service to our valued guest as your goodself. Thank you again for your comment.
Yours faithfully
James Taywakone
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have stayed here for 4 nights and three daytimes with my daughter together with my friend and her son. All of us think Bandara is a nice place to stay. I like the swimming pools and the nice beach. Your service is excellent. Everybody is friendly here. Smile always blooms on everyone's face. You know, i began to missing Bandara whlie i did not leave Koh Samui. I hope one day i would go back to Bandara and enjoy it once more.

Room Tip: all are nice i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May K, Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time review Bandara resort & spa, Koh Samui through Trip advisor. We so delight that yoru were happy while stayed with us. Your praised point has been brought to the team. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Yours faithfully
James Taywakone
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#15 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.