We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bandara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bandara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bandara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We choose Bandara resort and spa for our honeymoon destination in October 2011, and were very pleased with our choice! The resort itself was absolutely beautiful! We stayed in a pool villa, which was extremely spacious, very clean, and had everything you could hope for including a private garden area with deck, sun loungers and a plunge pool. The villa was towards the back of the resort near the beach and hence took us no longer then a 60 second walk straight onto the beach!

The thing that really made our stay special was the staff at the resort. They were so friendly and helpful, and really cared about and catered for all our needs. There was a security guard 24/7 on the beach which made us feel comfortable enough to leave our belongings in our bags and sleep! Irina, the Guest Relations manager was the star of the show! She was so hands on. Whatever we needed we just asked her, and no matter how impossible, somehow she made it possible. She also arranged a fruit carving session for us at the hotel in which she took some amazing photos of us, which made it into our photo album. Fruit carving is a lot harder than it looks but it was lots of fun! Irina also organised a surprise candle lit dinner on the beach that I organised for my wife. It was amazing so romantic and the service/food was perfect. I organised this for our last evening at the resort. Wow is all I can say.

Breakfast was fantastic! So many choices, and again the staff at breakfast were great, we were always welcomed with a smile and not to mention “Swaadeeka/p”. In particular the staff at the hot food counter was really helpful. My husband and I cannot eat meat, and so each morning Po (staff member) would use clean pans and cutlery to prepare our food to avoid any contamination from meat products. This was really special for us as without this we would have not gone for the fried eggs or omelettes, which happens to us alot at other hotels.

Location wise, Bandara was far enough for us to get the quiet relaxation we were after, but also close enough for us to visit Chaweng Beach (Bandara also provide free transport to and back from the Chaweng twice aday). We hired out a scooter for around £5 a day from Mike (Time to travel) who has a travel company a few doors down. We also booked a Jungle safari, quad biking and national marine park excursions with Mike and his wife Pam who were so friendly and helpful! Out of the three, the only one my wife didn’t really enjoy was the quad biking. We hired a small scooter for a week but after one day Mike swapped our bike for a bigger one which had more holding space so we could travel with our bags in the trunk. He also spent some time with my husband showing him how to ride the bike! The bookings were cheap and very easy to make.

Overall our stay in Koh Samui was unforgettable and we cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    334
    86
    23
    10
See reviews for
209
542
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Once again Bandara didn't disappoint! Truly the most relaxing stay you could ask for. Iv been to Thailand 12 times now (north-south) and while lm in Samui l wouldn't stay anywhere else. It's almost like returning home, when lm greeted with all the genuine lovely smiles they welcome you back with. Truly a place where your troubles melt away. Iv stayed at both the private pool villas and balcony rooms, and both are fantastic with all you could possibly need in the rooms. Most rooms have great views of the pool and the breakfast is always great with lots of choice, plentiful and fresh. Tip: Try the omlettes (with the lot) and you ll be singing their praises too. yummmmmm.. Thanks so much Jade-Hugh, look forward to seeing you 2012

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room and not main road. Skip the restaurant and head to the village or the local m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were privileged to spent 8 nights at Bandara in October 2011 and should we ever travel to Koh Samui again we wont hesitate to stay there again. My husband and I are in our 50's and we wanted to stay somewhere out of the hustle and bustle and Bandara offered us that and more. The staff are just beautiful and always willing to please. When we stayed there, John was only into his 2nd week as manager and it was if he never slept! He was always on hand welcoming any suggestions to help improve the resort and his friendliness is warm and charming. Upon arrival, having read an earlier review, we requested that we change our room to one off the main street which, even though it was a slight increase in cost, was definitely worthwhile as it was a lot quieter.
A trip to the "Walking market" at Fisherman's Village which is a pleasant walk or a short taxi ride, on a Friday night is a must! It's a perfect opportunity to sample the cuisine which is so cheap (we declined the offer to taste the fried grasshopper) and experience the wonderful atmosphere.....and the cocktails were appreciated to quench our thirst ;)
There are many little restaurants within easy walking distance from the resort and the only time we ate at the same place twice was at the resort itself on the theme nights.
We hired a scooter for a day and rode around the island visiting some amazing places. We also hired a jeep for a day with the intention of spending some time at Chewang Beach, but it was too busy for our liking so we spent some time at Lamai instead which suited our pace much better.
And after all that driving and riding, there was nothing more welcoming than the pool at the resort. We didn't spend much time at the beach as the water isn't what you would call refreshing and walking in the sand requires way too much effort, but the pool was cool and uncrowded. That was probably because we were there in the off season and it wasn't so busy, so not sure how it would be in the peak season.
We booked day trips through the resort for elephant trekking and a boat/kayaking/snorkelling experience both of which were awesome. You are picked up at the resort and dropped off at the end of the day, so there is no need to arrange any travel.
The only little thing on the downside is the slight smell of sewerage towards the front of the property, but you kind of get used to it.
The highlight of our stay at Bandara though was the people. Everyone was so friendly and willing to go out of their way to make us comfortable....and Irena, we would still be delighted to have you as a daughter in law =)

Room Tip: Rooms off the main strip are much quieter and worth paying the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I can't say enough about how much we loved our holiday at Bandara Resort.

We stayed for a week in early December, 2011. My husband and I are early 30's, no kids, and wanted a relaxed easy break. And that was exactly what we got.

From the moment we arrived, each and every staff member made us feel special and welcome. The staff go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need.

If you are looking for something away from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng, but still within reach of activities etc, Bandara is perfect. The location on the beach is ideal, and it is an easy walk to the Fisherman's Village for bars, restaurants and shopping. Although a tip - the beach isn't so easy to walk on, and not ideal for swimming. But a gorgeous view and Bandara has a pool overlooking the beach with a bar right there!

We did the cooking class, which I would highly recommend - a great experience! Also used the day spa on a couple of occassions, and while it is not as cheap as getting a massage or treatment out of the resort, the quality was outstanding and as good as any day spa I have been to in Australia, UK, or anywhere else.

All in all, a fabulous trip, I will definitely be back to Bandara!!

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe or Pool Villa over the standard rooms, just for the location of the room (away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed her in September and it was our second visit to koh samui After staying at centara villas in lamai last year.
The hotel was a great location, bophut was the best place we have been to in samui due to the villiage feel with bars restaurants and night market. It was on the more expensive side though.
The hotel was great and the pool villa was fantastic and well worth the extra money. Breakfast in the restaurant was really good. We didn't eat in the hotel for other meals as for lunch we had Papaya salad and chicken from the beach sellers which fab, we always walked down to the villiage for dinner eating in a different restaurant each night.
Only downsides were a slight sewerage smell around the resort and a three day wait when I asked for an ironing board. Other than that a perfect stay in a fabulous place!!
Turn left out of the hotel as walk up the beach for cheaper Bars and
great massages on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Spent a week here and had a lovely time. Nice quiet location with plenty of sunbeds available but not sure how this would be if hotel full. Beach was not the best but that applies to all of Bhoput. Would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

A great place to stay, service was super friendly and the rooms were very nice. Awesome bar service...highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#12 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 Family Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.