We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, excellent service - so relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bo Phut Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bo Phut Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12/12 Moo 1 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Cheltenham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, excellent service - so relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Just returned from 8 nights at the Bo Phut following a 3 night stay in Bangkok. What a complete contrast to the noise and smog of Bangkok, the Bo Phut is a peacefuul haven set in the most beautiful gardens.

We found the Bo Phut to be a small but very charming hotel, with the most genuinely friendly and helpful staff. Wondering through the resort you get hellos and welcoming smiles from all the staff, any of whom would go out of their way to help you. Our room was a garden view room rather than one of the villas/bungalows, but we found it to be of good size with good amenities. I loved the fresh flowers in the room and the special touches such as the fruit which is replenished daily (you can request pariticular types of fruit if you have favourites) and the evening turn down with the oil burner lit and more fresh orchids. Free newspaper everyday was also a nice touch, as was the shoe shine.

Everywhere you go in the Bo Phut there are lovely fresh flowers and although the grounds are not large they are immaculately kept and were a pleasure to walk through to reach the pool or beach. The beach is a little coarse under foot, but has lovely views of the islands and although there are a few beach vendors we found them to be polite and friendly unlike some of the hawkers you get in places such as Spain and Turkey.

The breakfasts are really good, with a great selection and quality of food. So lovely to sit overlooking the sea eating such gorgeous food in the morning sun. Missing it lots already!!

We had a few good meals at the hotel, in particular enjoying the Thai night on the beach. Fisherman's Village has some good restaurants to give you extra choice. We really liked the Shack which does great steak and burgers. Also ventured over to Chaweng Beach, but found it to be far too busy and loved coming back to the peace of Bo Phut (although the restaurants and bars did seem a little cheaper than Fisherman's Village, which was one plus point). Agree with some of the other reviews that Fisherman's Village is a little scruffy and is not quite as charming as I had hoped, however it does have some nice shops and good bars. Great pancake vendor as you walk out of Fisherman's Village back towards the hotel and the Coconut icecream is really good in the beach bar near Shades Restaurant (our Rep told us to avoid Shades itself though). Had lunch at Coco Calm Beach to the left of Bo Phut, but wouldn't recommed it.

Would recommend the laundry on the opposite side of the road to the Bo Phut £1 per kg for wash and iron. Hotel gift shop has a nice range of items and found it to be really competitive in price, which is a refreshing change from other hotels I have stayed at. Fitness Centre good, although on the small side it is quiet. Free internet room, book, CD and DVD library all really good touches.

Overall we rated the Bo Phut very, very highly. If you are looking for a large ultra trendy hotel then this might not be for you, but as a tranquil resort with first class service, then you will love it. We are really fussy, but could find no fault with the hotel or service other than finding a couple of dead flower heads on a path one morning!!! Would definately return one day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    147
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
115
704
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wilts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We have just returned from 8 days at the Bo Phut. We cannot praise the staff enough for their friendliness and attentiveness. It will be so difficult to go back to moving our own sunshades and laying out our own towels on future holidays! The hotel and grounds are not big, but everything is so well laid out that each room and villa has a lot of privacy, mainly due to the wonderful greenery and flowers everywhere. The gardeners do a wonderful job and whoever arranges the flowers must have a full time job. There are little stone statues of frogs, rabbits and other animals along the pathways, each holding a fresh flower everyday, even the toilets in the public areas have fresh arrangements everyday, with each petal and leaf laid out individually in patterns - incredible detail.

The food in both restaurants is beautifully cooked and presented, although it is slightly more expensive than the restaurants in the village. Breakfast is excellent and there is so much choice. Plenty of places to eat just a short walk along the beach. Starfish and Coffee is interesting, Smile House has excellent Thai food at a very good price and Krao Bo Phut is slightly more upmarket, but just as well priced and is owned by the people who own the hotel, so the presentation is really good. We can also recommend the corn cobs grilled by the beach vendors for lunch - and the hotel does not object to people bringing these back to eat by the pool - unlike some less relaxed places. the happy hour cocktails are good and extremely strong - great after an afternoon massage.

We had a free one hour Thai massage lesson in the hotel spa, which was excellent. However, we didn't indulge in any treatments at the spa as we had several wonderful massages in the cabins along the beach for £6 an hour - bliss.

I cannot really add to the fantastic comments already made about this hotel other than to say that this is most definitely one place we would love to go back to again and again if only that were possible. It is the little touches that make it special - the beach bag in every room, free daily newspapers, a jug of fresh milk in the fridge if you say you don't really like creamer in your tea and the fact that the staff remember your room number even if you have only spoken to them once. For anyone just wanting to totally relax and chill out, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

My mum and I returned to the Bo Phut following our previous visit two years ago. We were not disappointed as the level of service and attention to detail was as superb as ever.. I just have to talk about the service, I have never stayed anywhere where the staff are so attentive and polite. The guys managing the pool area are simply superb and will literally run at "break neck" speed to your aid if you need your sunshade to be moved even an inch. The rooms are well appointed and create a relaxing/feng shui atmosphere however they could do a little better on the lighting front as they are really quite dark in the evening which can prove challenging when trying to apply that all important mascara in the evening..
The food as always was excellent, providing a wide variety of breakfast options. The Sala Thai restaurant was excellent although a little pricey compared to other restaurants in the area, but the atmosphere and food quality more than make up for it.
The Fisherman's village is OK but lacking in any kind of atmosphere and was extremely quiet in the evenings. There are a few good restaurants but you may find that you are the only people dining in them which we found a little disappointing. The Pancake vendors on the street are fab and it's worth the walk to get a banana and nutella pancake. We always tend to do this on the last day of the holiday as they are rather addictive and could easily develop into a regular late afternoon habit if you're not careful..
In conclusion, we had a great time and the Bo Phut did not disappont. We may return in a few years but the lack of atmosphere in the fishing village will probably result in us visiting a different resort/island, in the coming years. If you are looking for a peaceful resort with great service and food then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Spent 3 glorius nights at the Bo Phut Resort... a Jem of a Hotel... every aspect / detail was carefully chosen & taken care of... from the moment one arrives until the moment you depart one is pampered..definitely fits the bill of falling into the category of the " Leading Small Hotels of the World " !!!

  • Liked — Peace & Quiet... away from any Hustle & Bustle...
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Wonderful service from excellent staff,good food, nice pool which was occasionally overwhelmed by a group of 3 Russioan families and/or a group of 12 Americans, but most of the time only a handful of couples.
Beach is gritty and soft so difficult to walk thru but a scenic bay with views of Kp Phan Ngan.
Fisherman's village is 10min walk but is tatty and disappointing. Would not recommend the food at Villa blanca but nice interior.
gardens of the hotel are beautiful especially if you book a garden villa (as we did) green snakes and red squirrels and flowers, a nice touch is the trees are labelled so you can know what they are.
Good spa obviously more expensive than the beach huts (£30 full treatment).
the pool villas have a 7m pool and jaccuzzi and are totally private and are fabulous.
Would definitely stay at Bo Phut if returning to Koh Samui. Koh Samui airport is unique and great not sure about Koh Samui itself but fine for a week

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We have just stayed for a week at the Bo Phut We had an Ocean view villa. We were about 10 meters from the beach. The hotel is very lovely. Our villa was spacious and well appointed. Lovely bed and great bathroom. Good sony TV and dvd/stereo and free wifi. Our villa and all of the hotel were kept immaculate. The grounds are like a botanical gardens. I must have seen atleast 5 full time gardeners.

The staff are the best I have come acreoss. Incredibley helpful and polite. They couldnt do enough for you.

Its in a great location in the middle of Bophut beach between Anantara and Peace. The beach is lovely and clean and the view to the Islands fantastic. The sea is also much calmer han on the other side of the island and good for swimming. It is 5 minutes walk down the beach to the fisherman's village which is a beachside street of shops, bars and restaurants. <ore than enough choice including the Shack (a great steak house) and plenty of fresh fish/thai.

We didnt use the spa but the people who we spoke to that did said it was very good.

There was a good mix of guests from al countries and of all ages. There were a few small children as well and the staff seemed very child friendly with plenty of toys, a small children's pool and children's menus.

The food was the best we had on the Island particularly the thai restaurant which is in a great spot in the grounds. The prices were slightly higher than outside but not much and well worth the beter service and quality.

There is a small gym which has new weights, bike and a running machine (but just one, although it didnt seemed used very often so easy to get on).

No one we spoke to had a bad word to say about the hotel which is unusual.
I would recommend it to friends and family and would stay there again. Unusualy I don't have any complaints or bad marks!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights to conclude our Thailand/ Cambodia tour, and couldn't have been happier. The staff were wonderful and friendly (as seems the case for people all over Thailand), and the service was of a high standard.

The grounds of the resort were beautiful, especially at night when lit up. We spent many hours relaxing by the pool and beach, which is right out the front of the resort. Our balcony was equipped with a spa bath, which also was great to get into after a night out.

The food was nice, though I would recommend the 10 minute walk to explore the fishing village for a wide variety of good value restaurants and bars.

If you are looking for a wonderful environment in which to relax and unwind, look no further than here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bo Phut Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo Phut Resort & Spa

Address: 12/12 Moo 1 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#2 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bo Phut Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bo Phut Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo Phut Resort And Spa
Bo Phut Hotel Bophut
Hotel Bo Phut
Bo Phut Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bo Phut Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.