We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lawana Resort

Save Saved
You added Lawana Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lawana Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   180/11 moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 77 hotels in Bophut
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked this place via agoda. On arrival bit disappointed that our hotel room was a bit tired but although the bathroom was basic it was clean, as was the bedroom and the place soon lost shook our first impressions. Only negative could hear everything through paper thin walls.

The pool area is stunning, the pool is perfectly clean and fun for kids. It is picturesque right on the beach and there are free kayaks to borrow.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants along the beach and road the resort sits off. There is a 7.11 next door and fishermans' village is a 15 min walk away for upmarket nice fish restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
August16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. The Hi Deluxe rooms are our budget rooms. Please book our Premier Garden Bungalow for free standing room with no connecting neighbour. We offer quiet location for families with no mass tourism. There is a also a pharmacy just across street, a bank and ATM is 100 meters away. We offer also free wifi. Please return to us when you next visit Ko Samui and email ums directly at info@lawanaresort.com for free airport pick up andw a rate reduction for all our return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    95
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
41
71
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My friend and Ioved the look of the resort when we saw the photo online, and the description of Deluxe Garden Bungalow was appealing as well. We were not disappointed, as the area of bungalows where we stayed had a nice space in front, the room was spacious, the bathroom/shower area very big, and the fact that there was a safe with lock was appreciated.
The foliage on the property was very lush, and the walk to the pool and beach was also very pleasant.
The staff was wonderful, very helpful and attentive. We received good suggestions as to how to get around, and there was a tour booking desk as well.
The massages offered on site right next to the beach were very good.
We loved the food as well....the breakfasts, included in the price, had such a wide variety of choices. We ate looking out onto the beach each morning.
I definitely would return to Lawana Resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
July 29, 2013
Dear Angela, Thank you very much for your full review. We are proud that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We only wish that we could do more to our guests. Please note that our garden now 7s full of colourful orchid. We are hoping the the full bloom will last through September. We hqve stopped servicing our budget rooms Deluxe garden bungalows. We only now offer Premier Garden Bungalow that is with more space and closer to the beach and the pool. We will keep the full American buffet breakfast. We now offer B420 for two persons Thai set dinner on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A small resort with lots of character. There are many more modern resorts but they cant compete with Lawana in terms of its character. You feel like you are in Thailand and it is tropical and lovely.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Deluxe unit with its own private pool. The furnishings are simple but sufficient. It is very clean. The staff were lovely - even when they could not understand our English - they would find a way to help!

Wonderful pool area and the small beach front is great.
Very child friendly!
Massages are great!
Food is okay - there is better food at many of the places up and down the beach for same / less.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms are the best - private pool is lovely option. Try to get a pool closer to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your encouraging comments of your holiday with us,LAWANA. We welcome all families to our quiet beach. We have our staff always watch the children from a distance for safety reason. We are not disturbed at all with all the children playing.
Please note that our standard room is Premier Garden Bungalow and not
Deluxe Bungalow. Our premium rooms are Deluxe Private Pool Bungalow.
We used to offer cheap room Deluxe Garden room to guests who are tight on budget but now we do not offer this cheap room any more since May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A very pleasant hotel. Not the cheapest and not the most modern or luxurious, but by far our favorite so far. Pay a little extra for a premium room and you get a little more space, and a little closer to the pool. Plenty of room one the bed platform to order an extra mattress to make the room a triple. They even have suites that have tiny little private pools!

The best and friendliest staff, good breakfast and a great massage. Nice places to relax both by the pool and on the beach. Nice garden.

Very children friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
July 11, 2013. Thank you very much for your simple and helpful review. This will help other guests to decide when they need a quiet place to relax. We are proud of our PREMIER GARDEN BUNGALOW that has become very famous in Europe, winning two design awards even we had not used any professional architect to design it. All the rooms are filled with original antiques from the collection of the owner. It can really be a museum, in fact. Our garden is ever green and full of orchids, fresh and natural. Our location is on the beach, but we also have a new supermarket 24 hr just next door on the street, a new pharmacy just across the street, a bank and ATM is 100 meters to walk, the Fisherman Village with 100 local restaurants is 300 meters to walk. Our Thai set dinner for two persons on the beach every evening is B420 for two persons. Please email us directly when you want to return so we can give you a free airport pickup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Yes there are better resorts, but don't compare it with 4/5* resorts. Overall Lawana is a nice and affordable place to spend your holiday.
+ free standing bungalows
+ friendly and helpful staff
+ lovely pool at the beach
+ beautiful view on the islands from the beach
+ relaxing atmosphere
+ good and affordable massage service
+ Nice and quiet location
+ Bo Phut and Chaweng nearby
+ Bookig agency for excursions and transportation in the hotel
+ complete breakfast with fresh eggs to order
- bungalows are close to another, litlle privacy
- lots of things need a little maintenance, go for the 4* status!
- the bath and shower were somewhat poor

Room Tip: Go for a bungalow near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
June 14, 2013
Thank you vefy much for your review with vefy good details. It nice to know you had enjoyed your holiday with us.

We are 3* resort and charge 3* rates BUT WE DELIVER 4* SERVICES. Ouor staff is always trained to do more for the guests.

We are on a very quiet beach bug only 300 meters away on foot two the FISHMAN VILLAGE for, maybe, 100 local restauorants.

Please come back and email us directly so we can give you free airqport pick up and a rate reduction for return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Didn't enjoy this hotel in Fishermans village after having got used to the quiet beach and views at Mimosa Spa.

Fishermans village is not really a village . it's a couple of strips crammed with restaurants of variable quality.

We chose badly and had a rubbish meal at a restaurant which overlooked the sea. Sorry cant recall the name

Did enjoy sitting on huge orange bean bags on the beach one night listing to a great blues singer....sorry cant remember name of bar....

We had booked a good deal. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded.....we hadn't. But got a room in a block which smelt of sewage. When we complained we were told we could have another room if we paid more! We refused and were given a room futher up in the same block. Not near the pool or beach. It was clean....and we had a tree in our bathroom...odd.

Breakfast ok nothing special.

Lunch from beach peddlars ok.

Had a massage at pool ...ok.

But wished we hadn't bothered to move and had stayed at Koh Samui Resort.

There is a Local Super market to buy beer on the road which divides the resort ! It also does laundry.

Room Tip: Get them to confirm exactly what room you are getting before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review to assist our other guests to decide.

We only wish we could do more to our guests. We are a small beach resort, quiet and calm. We are fortunate that we have to opportunity to look after each of our guest very well.
Whne you return next time, please email us directly for a free airport pick up and a rate reduction for return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samui
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful pool setting overlooking the beach. very clean. Well trained and attentive staff understanding basic english. Fantastic breakfast buffet. Bungalows very nicely decorated with all necessary amenities and kept clean daily. I like to come again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review to assist our other guests to decide.

We only wish we could do more to our guests. We are a small beach resort, quiet and calm. We are fortunate that we have to opportunity to look after each of our guest very well.
Whne you return next time, please email us directly for a free airport pick up and a rate reduction for return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lawana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawana Resort

Address: 180/11 moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawana Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawana is located directly on the middle of the quiet Boput Beach. This is a perfect resort to relax on your holiday. Our garden is so rich and green that you will expect of a tropical garden. Our rooms are modernly furnished with all the necessary amenities like any 5 * hotels but we only charge you 3*. There is a supermarket next door, a pharmacy across the street, bank and ATM is 100 meters to walk, the Fisherman Village with 100 local restaurants are 300 meters to walk on the beach. Our restaurant offers full seaview with full American buffet breakfast with fresh eggs cooked to your order each morning.We offer free WIFI in all public areas. We offer free parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Lawana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.