We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room more than made up for by luxury and outstanding service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Beachfront Set Lunch Menu
Ranked #9 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small room more than made up for by luxury and outstanding service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Zazen is a real gem of a hotel with charm and intimacy. We arrived at Zazen unexpectedly having had a dismal experience renting a private villa (Villa Rose in the Tongsai Bay area). Having had Christmas and Boxing day ruined, we were determined not to let my husband's 60th birthday go to ruin as well. Fortunately for us, Zazen had a garden room available for two nights only. The room, at first appearances seemed a little small, a little dark,but within 5 minutes we discovered that the attention to detail was impeccable, the funishings expensive and aesthetically pleasing with tasteful objects d'art in the room. For the first time in any hotel i have stayed in there was a near professional hairdryer with a plug close to the mirror (how many hotels overlook this!); an extension lead with five sockets that work to any adaptor, broadband in the room, beautiful kimonos, torch, umbrella, a pillow menu, crisp linen - really everything anyone could possible desire.
THe bathroom too was everything one would expect complete with toothbrushes should one have left it at home. Crucially, we had a family next door to our room, and I didn't hear a sound due to the proper sound proofing of the rooms.

The spa was excellent - wonderful treatment, and the beach, whilst small, had the most comfortable sunloungers I've come across. We had ordered a London newspaper which didn't arrive until the afternoon, but the charming staff found us on the beach, newspaper in hand, and gave it to us, crisp as can be and put into a plastic cover for our convenience.

To my mind, the restaurant was the least successful, but this is a small criticism. THe ambience of the restaurant is wonderful, but the food, whilst very good, didn't sing in the way I have experienced in some restaurants abroad. However, having eaten my way around France, I think my expectations were possibly a little too high.

WHat I was impressed by was the discreet presence of management in the hotel, keeping a beady eye on everything so one feels completely in safe hands and that almost request would be met with charm and efficiency.

We left 24hours later with nerves restored and mood transformed, deeply sorry to leave,but relieved to know that it is there. To my mind it on a par with some of the top hotels I have st ayed in, including Claridges in London. As I said earlier, ZaZeb is a real gem and it management is to be congratulated.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    159
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
136
618
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I was a little apprehensive when I chose Zazen at Koh Samui. The name didnt sound 'flashy' and I had loads of choices with resorts of uber-opulence (7 swimming pools and 10 restaurants, some had) but still, I decided to go ahead with Zazen purely on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews.

And I was not disappointed ...

First, simple things that make a difference have been looked into. For instance, they give you a separate pair of walking slippers for the beach, beach towels are neatly stacked in your room, there is even a little bag to carry those large beach towels and a torch in case you wanna hit the beach at night. In the evenings they write the next days weather forecast and leave it on your bed. Little touches here and there but they really do make a difference. I have stayed at plenty of Marriotts and never seen anything close to this.

Second, unlike many large hotel chains which have taken commercialization to a whole new level, things were very different (if i may say homely) at Zazen. The airport pick and drop was an added bonus, we received a bottle of Italian sparkling wine on arrival, the WiFi was complimentary, they have a well stocked and varied library of books and videos all for no cost, and as a refreshing change, the mini bar was reasonably priced - all this at very compelling room tariffs. Try the same at a hotel chain and they will bleed you dry.

Finally, the hotel staff always courteous and friendly.

Just a couple of things ... I found the food pricing at the restaurant a tad expensive and the menu a little constricted for my taste. The shower head in my bathroom needed a little more PSI to wash off all the sticky sand from my back ... but beyond these minor things Zazen truly defines the word boutique - personal & classy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredrikstad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Fantastic place, food and spa!!!! The staff is like angles and we are comming bace ( for the 3.time) love it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

A very beautiful place to stay. A big thumb up for the efforts to make this place so beautiful. The decorations are so tastefully chosen. The garden is so beautiful and that is certainly thanks to all the hands that keep it so good looking. Even when it was pooring outside, there were still people busy taking care of the garden ! If you would pass by the gardeners you would notice that they were really serious about keeping the place as beautiful as it is...and so friendly. This is the biggest asset of this little paradise: their overall friendliness. Ok we have been to Thailand before and in general Thai are always very friendly. But here you can notice that the managers leave their staff the space to make extra efforts for making your stay extra memorable. I had to go to the hospital a few times and the reception arranged everything for me without any hesitation. The driver from the hotel would even wait for me at the hospital to bring me back ! One day we booked an excursion (not through the hotel) and they would come to pick us up at 6h30 am. After half an hour waiting the receptionist came up to us asking us what was the matter and offered herself to find out what went wrong...She made like 4 phonecalls, brought us something to drink, an apple and even offered us to go to the breakfast and she would allert us if the driver arrived....! Also on the last day I wanted to book a sunburst massage (the spa is wonderful too !!!) Unfortunately the spa was fully booked already. After 5 minutes a girl from the spa would come up to me at the pool with a gel to help me treat my sunburst ! I can give you several other examples like this that made our stay really memorable. We have stayed in many good hotels before but these small things really made the difference for us. This makes us want to go back already. Also for me a very big + was the service on our last day. We had to check out at noon but our flight was at 21.00 pm. The hotel as a very comfortable room where they leave your luggage and where they give you the opportunity to take a shower and get dressed for your trip home....Super deluxe ! Also transportation to and from the airport was very well arranged.

Is this to possitive. Was their really nothing I disliked? Actually not mucvh...If they would ad a fitness to their accomodations that would be a big hit for me (all the lovely food here, makes the kilo's stick as glue...) and for me personally I would like a mosquito net above the bed and the open air bathroom sounds very romantic but I was always a bit worried about the insects (although there was a mosquito net in front of the open parts of the bathroom) If there was a choice I would book a room with an indoor bathroom.

I would like to end by thanking everybody at Zazen for the wonderful stay and I really hope to come back sometime soon xxxxx Keep up the good work

Peter and Kelly

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We went to Zazen with our 8 months old baby and the first impression of our bedroom was really nice. Zazen team had prepared a very cute white cot, super confortable and with mosquito net for our baby. The whole team is amazing to make your life easy and be sure that you have a good time while respecting your space. We loved absolutely everything about Zazen; the location, close to the Fisherman's Village, the beach, very calm and clean, the room impecable clean, confortable, the massage, especially when they surprise you at the beach with free head massage, the delicious breakfast every morning with different options, the staff soooo friendly and kind, the management that make us feel very special and even the other guests that are so relaxed and happy that spread smiles of satisfaction. Now the only problem is that our baby is spoiled with daily fresh fruit, nice weather and be the center of attention every where. Zazen became a word between us to represent the best; if it is not Zazen we do not want anymore :o)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Just got back from a weekend in Zazen. I would say an ideal location if you like to be just on the edge of a lively resort but within easy walking distance.
The decor of the resort and the grounds are stunning. Overall service was very good and the staff were very helpful.
The only drawerback was breakfast-it took too long if you ordered anything cooked and one occassion we had to leave to go on an excersion despite them having 20 minutes to prepare!
Definitely recommend it for a romantic get away!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, General Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

We hope you had comfortable and safe trip back home, and would like to thank you again for staying with us, and for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read your appreciation and trust that your holiday has been both an enjoyable and enriching one.

We are of course sorry to hear about the inconvenience which occurred during the breakfast as we always strive to fulfill our guests' needs in terms of products and timing. We have, since 9 months now, started to propose hot dishes "a la carte" in order to provide more choices and a better quality. This results in a short waiting time, but as well in a much higher quality and, so far, an almost complete guest satisfaction. Considering that we are a leisure destination and that our guests are usually here to relax and forget about schedules, we believe that having a large choice of hot dishes made from scratch with fresh ingredients is more interesting and rewarding than a range of soggy self heated pots that are waiting for you since the early morning. Furthermore, it is to be said that these hot dishes are complemented by a very large fresh buffet which includes homemade bread and pastries, fresh fruits, salads, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals and a proper service for coffee and tea.

In order to facilitate the day to our guests who leave on excursion or for an early flight, we have recently implemented our services with a personalized breakfast box, which allows you to take your favorite breakfast items with you.

Once again let us thank you for choosing our resort and for your kind positive comments. We truly hope to welcome you back to Zazen and remain at your disposal should you like to share with us more details and suggestions concerning your stay.

Kindest regards from all of us at Zazen.

Sincerely,

Alexander Andries
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We just spent a week at Zazen and thoroughly enjoyed our stay even though it rained every day.
The hotel rooms,grounds and restaurant are beautiful and the staff first class. I have been in the restaurant business for 40 years and so notice the small things like good staff training.
The food deserves a special mention. Chef Cyrille has created a nice blend of Thai and European dishes which delighted us every day and i believe his food is the best on the island.
Keep up the good work Zazen and we will be back

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#6 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.