We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Choose this hotel on recommendation of trip advisor reviews and can not explain how perfect Zazen turned out to be. The hotel staff are the best I have ever come across, so helpful and polite (Especially Den on the beach and around the pool during day who could not do enough to help) Stunning setting, attention to detail, restaurant food is beautifully displayed and tastes amazing. Thank you for a perfect honeymoon week!

Room Tip: Delux garden villa more than enough for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Jake,

It is a real pleasure to have a positive feedback regarding our staff and restaurant.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and celebrate your honeymoon. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please let us know if you come back to Samui, we would be glad to welcome you again.

Best regards,

The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    158
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
136
615
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed one week at Zazen. It has been a positive and negative experience.
The restaurant, the SPA and the Garden looks terrific. The garden was such a beauty with so many lights and decoration at night. Stunning garden!
The view from the Restaurant was really great, beautiful view and relaxing.
The breakfast was probably the best we have had in years, excellent and you have a lot to chose from including home made croissant.
The pool is nice however they keep on playing music all day long, we wanted to hear the sea, the birds, the wind instead. And space around the pool is limited. Some people will take a lot of space. even if they do not use the chairs or madrass.
The quality and taste of the food was very irregular, depending on what choice you have made. It was sometimes very good (the discovery menus are recommended and most a la carte dishes), but it could also be very disapointing (avoid the expensive lobster/seafood menu and "The Best of Samui").
The room looks nice, it is spacy, the beds and pillows at excellent, very comfortable.
However the bathroom was a big problem as it is outside, surrounded by walls. This means that it is very hot and you get sweaty within less 5 minutes after taking a shower, which is very unpleasant. And of course you have lots of mosquitos in a place where you are usually moving around naked. Worst was when you need to go to the toilet at night, you don't want to have to spray all around, rush out and get back in there 5 min later.
It is not comfortable to take a shower and get sweaty again within 5 minutes afterwards, unless you move fast to the bedroom. And then we have the problems with the mosquitos.
The view from our bedroom, facing the bed was terrible (room 7 I think we had). There was a very small area that is being used as a storage area, and hardly no vegetation to hide this mess. It is certainly not what we would expect from a resort that did so well in terms of decoration and planning of other areas. A big contrast!
Then we have the problem with the quality of the sea which was a big problem for us. After 2 days we decided only to bathe in the pool instead. Many places have suffered heavily from tourism, thus the sea is polluted in many places. Boh Put was no exception. Very close by the beachside (around the corner) there is a very dirty river look alike that pours into the sea at high tide.
Once you have seen this, you want to stay away. I got some skin problems and hitching after a couple of days. Hopefully the pharmacy is very close distance.
For this reason only we would never go back to Zazen. Usually the place we travel to have clear and clean water. I love to swim but the pool is too small if you want to swim 45 minutes or so.
We also had some problems with the service at the restaurant , which was irregular. If we'd ask for 2 tea bags in the pot, we'd get one and we had to ask again. Every morning we clearly mentionned that we did not want to have any potatoes with the scrambled eggs. But every day it came with the potatoes, despite the fact that the staff speaks english.
Summary: if you very much enjoy to spend the day around the pool or if you don't mind bathing and swimming into polluted sea (visibility was less then 30 centimeters) this could be a wonderful place for you to stay. The view is wonderful, it is hot and warm and there is some very good food if the make the right choice. Otherwise skip it.

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe bungalows but it seems to me that the other bungalows which are located facing the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Gael,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Certainly, we are constantly trying to improve our level of customer’s service and our facilities and amenities. We also try to keep our kitchen staff and Menu to the highest standards.

In regards to your comment concerning the beach, we are sorry that you were disappointed about the beach quality. It is true that in Samui the water and sand quality is not the one that can be found in Koh Phangan or Koh Tao. We are however glad to assist our guests to organize day trips to surrounding islands in order to enjoy the beauty of the sea with snorkeling or deep sea diving.

We would also like to thank you for the compliments; we are glad you experienced a kind and courteous service from our Spa Team and that you enjoyed our Breakfast and Garden decoration.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the service issue and spoken with the employees in question. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed.

We would hope you would visit us again another time and give us a chance to win your loyalty.
Kind regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ditto to all other glowing reviews, we loved our 2 nights in here at the start of our Koh Samui holiday, our 1st time to Koh Samui too and loved loved it. We arrived at midday and room was ready, we just had the garden deluxe room, it was perfect, we hardly spent any time in there anyway. Took a bit of getting used to the open air bathroom, especially as our 'neighbours' could hear us (and vice versa), probably the only thing we weren't fussed about. The staff were fantastic, the restaurant is superb, we ate dinner here one night & couldn't fault it. Breakfast is great, you order from menu. Loved the pool and the big daybeds around it, we were lucky enough to be there at what seemed a quiet time, we had pool pretty much to ourselves. Yes the ocean looks great until you wade in and sludgy bottom, couldn't get out quick enough! we were there for a Monday night and got invited to Managers Cocktails for 1hr, it was lovely and nice way to meet other guests, who come from all over the world, in fact we were only Aussies we met there! Complimentary fruit skewers & juices around the pool are a lovely touch.

My husband had 90 min massage and I enjoyed a 90 min Pedicure on day of arrival (I prebooked before we left), both outstanding, yes pricey but every massage my husband had after this for a fraction of the price he would say 'oh Zazen was better'! The Spa is just lovely.

There isn't much nearby, you do need to walk/taxi to Fishermans Village, we went early morning (and very hot) and it was dead, hardly any shops open, went back that night for dinner - and smart enough to catch taxi this time (make sure you barter) - and it was all happening then. Probably wasn't a big fan of Bophut but loved Zazen & will definitely return for few nights at least. We moved to South Chaweng after 2 nights here but could have had one more day we decided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Zazen with the online travel community. We are glad to read that after your first stay with us you would like to come back again and enjoy our restaurant and resort one more time.

It is a real pleasure to note that our food as well as the spa cares has been appreciated. Your compliments with reference to the Monday Management Cocktail have been shared and thanked by the team.

Please let us know if you come back again, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited for 5 nights only due to other commitments and the purpose was to share with other family members the wedding of a niece. We chose the Zarzan through a recommendation from Audley travel in the UK. Our beach side room gave us a wonderful early morning view of fishermen returning with their catch. It was quiet, with a large bed on a raised dais, and a spacious bathroom with shower. All the staff were attentive, helpful whatever the request, and determined to ensure the comfort and well-being of all guests. Whilst we could not use all the facilities the spar and dining room lived up to their billing and were superb. As a couple without children this hotel provided the comfort, hospitality and location we had hoped for, and we would thoroughly recommend it to any discerning traveller.

Room Tip: The six beach side rooms are worth the extra cost - what price a memory of waking to see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Nicholas,

Thank you for choosing Zazen for your holiday and for taking the time to write such a great review.
Our team is delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay, our service and our Restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We flew direct from NEw Zealand to Koh Samui via Sangapore. We were met at the airport by the Hotel's driver who was there with cold towels and water. The hotel is around 10/15 minutes from the airport. The hotel has a great tropical garden setting and we would recommend spending the extra to get a beachfront room . The room was exactly what is shown on the website though not huge. Very efficient air conditioning which was a blessing in the heat . The bathroom is partially open to the elements but that was fine. The staff placed burning insect repellant coils to ward off the mozzies in there.
The staff were first rate as were the facilities. Food was great as were the drinks but as you would expect everything cost more than places further down the beach or in town.
The resort is at the quiet end of the beach so if you want to be in the middle of things this is not necessarily the place for you. The fishermans village is at the other end of the beach probably 1.5 to 2 kms away. Do not try and walk there in the midday sun as we did! Cabs are cheap and the resort has bikes you can use .
The pool is smallish and surrounded by buildings and trees. The niggle however is the beach. Looks great above the waterline but when you get further in we encountered a sludgy bottom which was unexpected. Also the water was not clear. You could not see past your waist!
Overall it was a relaxing place to start our Asian trip with all the comforts you would expect in a smaller quality hotel though you pay a fair price for the luxury and service

Room Tip: Beachfront is worth it. You have your own small deck with a couple of chairs less than 20 metres fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Fiona,

Thank you for choosing Zazen for your holidays and for taking the time to share your experience.
We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The beach is indeed not at its best in this season, where more seaweed can be found on the bottom of the sea. We hope that this has not affected your stay too much.

We are hoping to welcome you again very soon.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Koh Samui is not my favourite place in Thailand..... if you find yourself in this part of the world however do book a few days into this sublime magnificence. Attention to detail, service and luxurious soft furnishings and decor make Zazen a place of relaxation and serenity.

Sadly, I was not to enjoy the fullness of Zazen as I had contracted Dengue Fever in the jungle. Once I appeared with a fever the staff stepped in and got me to a hospital instantly. I received beautiful flowers the next day and a surprise visit from Michael which was totally unexpected! - they truly went out of their way to ensure that I was taken care of. My friend, who was on her own whilst I was in hospital was also taken care of by the staff - once again not necessary, but a lovely touch!

I hope to return, under better circumstances, as this is "proper boutique" in every sense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Fiona,

Thank you do much for your great review!
We sincerely hope that you have recovered form Dengue Fever.
We are always a bit sad when this situation happen and we do understand the disappointment of our guests, who have health issues during their holiday.

Furthermore, we believe that it is our role to assist our guests in every possible ways as their family would do under such circumstances. We do appreciate that you are recognising our efforts, which we already showcased to our team.

We do hope to welcome you again under better circumstances in order to fully appreciate our Resort features.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Zazen for 3 nights in June this year. It is a nice resort in Bophut region, about 5 min taxi ride away from Fisherman's market. Have found staff to be quite helpful in arranging speedboat tours and provide recommendations for local restaurants. The management are quite interested in getting guest feedbacks on how to improve their service. Hotel restaurant is nice, although the main chef was away during our stay. The main negative is that bathroom is located outdoors, so will get mosquito bites. Based on overall experience and price, well worth a visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Jack,

Thank you for your great feedback!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Resort and Restaurant.
We are sorry that you did not appreciate our tropical open bathrooms, which are often praised by guests. Although insects are inevitable in a tropical setting, we take every possible measures to reduce their nuisance and again, we are sorry that it has affected your experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Zazen.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#4 Family Hotel in Bophut
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#6 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.