We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SEASONAL SAVER 30% OFF
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Victoria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ditto to all other glowing reviews, we loved our 2 nights in here at the start of our Koh Samui holiday, our 1st time to Koh Samui too and loved loved it. We arrived at midday and room was ready, we just had the garden deluxe room, it was perfect, we hardly spent any time in there anyway. Took a bit of getting used to the open air bathroom, especially as our 'neighbours' could hear us (and vice versa), probably the only thing we weren't fussed about. The staff were fantastic, the restaurant is superb, we ate dinner here one night & couldn't fault it. Breakfast is great, you order from menu. Loved the pool and the big daybeds around it, we were lucky enough to be there at what seemed a quiet time, we had pool pretty much to ourselves. Yes the ocean looks great until you wade in and sludgy bottom, couldn't get out quick enough! we were there for a Monday night and got invited to Managers Cocktails for 1hr, it was lovely and nice way to meet other guests, who come from all over the world, in fact we were only Aussies we met there! Complimentary fruit skewers & juices around the pool are a lovely touch.

My husband had 90 min massage and I enjoyed a 90 min Pedicure on day of arrival (I prebooked before we left), both outstanding, yes pricey but every massage my husband had after this for a fraction of the price he would say 'oh Zazen was better'! The Spa is just lovely.

There isn't much nearby, you do need to walk/taxi to Fishermans Village, we went early morning (and very hot) and it was dead, hardly any shops open, went back that night for dinner - and smart enough to catch taxi this time (make sure you barter) - and it was all happening then. Probably wasn't a big fan of Bophut but loved Zazen & will definitely return for few nights at least. We moved to South Chaweng after 2 nights here but could have had one more day we decided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Zazen with the online travel community. We are glad to read that after your first stay with us you would like to come back again and enjoy our restaurant and resort one more time.

It is a real pleasure to note that our food as well as the spa cares has been appreciated. Your compliments with reference to the Monday Management Cocktail have been shared and thanked by the team.

Please let us know if you come back again, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    145
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
130
567
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited for 5 nights only due to other commitments and the purpose was to share with other family members the wedding of a niece. We chose the Zarzan through a recommendation from Audley travel in the UK. Our beach side room gave us a wonderful early morning view of fishermen returning with their catch. It was quiet, with a large bed on a raised dais, and a spacious bathroom with shower. All the staff were attentive, helpful whatever the request, and determined to ensure the comfort and well-being of all guests. Whilst we could not use all the facilities the spar and dining room lived up to their billing and were superb. As a couple without children this hotel provided the comfort, hospitality and location we had hoped for, and we would thoroughly recommend it to any discerning traveller.

Room Tip: The six beach side rooms are worth the extra cost - what price a memory of waking to see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Nicholas,

Thank you for choosing Zazen for your holiday and for taking the time to write such a great review.
Our team is delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay, our service and our Restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We flew direct from NEw Zealand to Koh Samui via Sangapore. We were met at the airport by the Hotel's driver who was there with cold towels and water. The hotel is around 10/15 minutes from the airport. The hotel has a great tropical garden setting and we would recommend spending the extra to get a beachfront room . The room was exactly what is shown on the website though not huge. Very efficient air conditioning which was a blessing in the heat . The bathroom is partially open to the elements but that was fine. The staff placed burning insect repellant coils to ward off the mozzies in there.
The staff were first rate as were the facilities. Food was great as were the drinks but as you would expect everything cost more than places further down the beach or in town.
The resort is at the quiet end of the beach so if you want to be in the middle of things this is not necessarily the place for you. The fishermans village is at the other end of the beach probably 1.5 to 2 kms away. Do not try and walk there in the midday sun as we did! Cabs are cheap and the resort has bikes you can use .
The pool is smallish and surrounded by buildings and trees. The niggle however is the beach. Looks great above the waterline but when you get further in we encountered a sludgy bottom which was unexpected. Also the water was not clear. You could not see past your waist!
Overall it was a relaxing place to start our Asian trip with all the comforts you would expect in a smaller quality hotel though you pay a fair price for the luxury and service

Room Tip: Beachfront is worth it. You have your own small deck with a couple of chairs less than 20 metres fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Fiona,

Thank you for choosing Zazen for your holidays and for taking the time to share your experience.
We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The beach is indeed not at its best in this season, where more seaweed can be found on the bottom of the sea. We hope that this has not affected your stay too much.

We are hoping to welcome you again very soon.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Koh Samui is not my favourite place in Thailand..... if you find yourself in this part of the world however do book a few days into this sublime magnificence. Attention to detail, service and luxurious soft furnishings and decor make Zazen a place of relaxation and serenity.

Sadly, I was not to enjoy the fullness of Zazen as I had contracted Dengue Fever in the jungle. Once I appeared with a fever the staff stepped in and got me to a hospital instantly. I received beautiful flowers the next day and a surprise visit from Michael which was totally unexpected! - they truly went out of their way to ensure that I was taken care of. My friend, who was on her own whilst I was in hospital was also taken care of by the staff - once again not necessary, but a lovely touch!

I hope to return, under better circumstances, as this is "proper boutique" in every sense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Fiona,

Thank you do much for your great review!
We sincerely hope that you have recovered form Dengue Fever.
We are always a bit sad when this situation happen and we do understand the disappointment of our guests, who have health issues during their holiday.

Furthermore, we believe that it is our role to assist our guests in every possible ways as their family would do under such circumstances. We do appreciate that you are recognising our efforts, which we already showcased to our team.

We do hope to welcome you again under better circumstances in order to fully appreciate our Resort features.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Zazen for 3 nights in June this year. It is a nice resort in Bophut region, about 5 min taxi ride away from Fisherman's market. Have found staff to be quite helpful in arranging speedboat tours and provide recommendations for local restaurants. The management are quite interested in getting guest feedbacks on how to improve their service. Hotel restaurant is nice, although the main chef was away during our stay. The main negative is that bathroom is located outdoors, so will get mosquito bites. Based on overall experience and price, well worth a visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Jack,

Thank you for your great feedback!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Resort and Restaurant.
We are sorry that you did not appreciate our tropical open bathrooms, which are often praised by guests. Although insects are inevitable in a tropical setting, we take every possible measures to reduce their nuisance and again, we are sorry that it has affected your experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Zazen.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

wonderful and quiet place, secluded, nice hotel, very friendly staff, delicious dinner, beautiful beach... absolutely the place to go on holiday or to spend your honeymoon :o) convince yourself, you wouldn't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for spending your holiday in Zazen.
We are delighted to read your great feedback, which has been shared with the team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Zazen.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My fiancé and I selected Zazen for our wedding venue after looking at a number of other very good resorts on Samui. Rio organised everything we wanted for our day perfectly and the team at Zazen could not have done more for us. We had the most amazing day and a fantastic stay at the resort. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear James,

We were delighted to host your wedding.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review. Rio is indeed doing an amazing job and she takes pride in offering couples a memorable day!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Zazen.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#6 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.