We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaaaamazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Beachfront Set Lunch Menu
Ranked #9 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aaaaamazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had our wedding at Zazen. Everything about the hotel exceeds expectations. Our wedding planner Ame, was extremely helpful and made the whole experience very easy. Attention to detail is something this hotel does best. I couldn't believe how much effort went into presenting everything so beautifully. Every lotus leaf had been carefully attended too, all the plates of food were beautifully decorated and absolutely delicious and the staff were wonderful too! I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway and/or wedding venue! See you for our honeymoon next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort and for choosing us to host such a special celebration.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    160
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
136
618
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a quiet and civilised hotel with a great Spa: ask for Dao, she was brilliant and the spa beautifully decorated and tranquil. Food was excellent including breakfasts which were plentiful and superb choice. I enjoyed the location, probably the best on the long stretch of beach. The only concern was that the water was not so clean but people still swam in the warm and calm sea. The pool was small but pretty. The restaurant was a local and French combo, the French emu was excellent but ver expensive. The restaurant were unable to cope with vegetarian requests :-(
The gardens and grounds were so picturesque and the staff generally very attentive. We will definitely go back next year.

Room Tip: Go for a garden bungalow, excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

In regards to your comment about vegetarian requests. I am surprised that you could not find any suitable alternatives in our Thai menu as every single dishes can be adapted to suit vegetarian, which represents about 20 dishes. Our team should have informed you about this and we will ensure that this information is clearly presented to our guests. Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Adrien, Siegfried and the team deserve a medal for the service they provided to me and our family recently. Over the last couple of mths they have assisted me with arranging a very special birthday for my partner turning 40. They turned my ideas into reality, all of my requests and questions were handled with impeccable detail. When I arrived at the resort, I was in a completely different world. The gardens and resort are simply stunning, like out of a beautiful movie, you will not be disappointed if you go with them. I will definately will be back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in Zazen for one night, coming back from Ko Tao. The hotel is very nice, staff extremly friendly and the restaurant (we had breakfast and lunch) was excellent. We had a beach front bungalow, nicely decorated. The only thing we really struggled with was the open bathroom, especially given the fact that there are plenty of moscitos in the area. I have had more relaxing showers and using the toilet at night can also be a bit tricky if you do not want to be biten by moscitos.... We probably would not go back because of the open bathroom/moscito experience.

The beach is ok even though the water was not very clear when we were there. They have good beach equipment that you can use (kayak, paddle boards etc). The pool is a bit small but nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

In regards to your comment about our open bathrooms, please note that we are currently thinking to improve this feature in the coming year. We thank you for this valuable feedback.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a top property in every aspect: Location, rooms, design, service, restaurant and surroundings. If you come here you are transfered in another world. The property is fantastic and so are the people and the service. Perfect beach, amazing restaurant, top top rooms and excellent spa. Plan your romantic escape here!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Selected Zazen based on all the positive comments in Trip Advisor.
Certainly wasn't disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIPs. Easy checkin at the remote open air desk with welcome drinks and soft swing sofas. Was already totally relaxed before we got to our room.
We chose the garden chalet which was just perfect. Room was extremely comfortable, quiet and relaxing. Very cool too, bearing in mind the outside temperature. Rain shower in the bathroom was heavenly.
Bed was extremely comfortable and we slept peacefully each night.
The atmosphere around the resort is very calming and laid back. The pool is quite small but fits the environment well. We didn't try the spa but it looked awesome.
I have to say I was extremely impressed with the quality of the food in the restaurant. I am used to expecting very mediocre food in beach type resorts but Zazen certainly takes the award for best food. The presentation was outstanding and the taste and quality also. Much care is given to each dish. Even the breakfast eggs and omelettes were just asking to be photographed.
Thailand is famous for its outstanding friendly service and Zazan does not disappoint. Everyone happy to help and wish you well.
The beach front is good and access very easy.
We will definitely be returning to Zazen and I would happily recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Koh Samui.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are very quiet, cool and relaxing. Seaview rooms looked to be less private and would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Samui for the last 3 days of our honeymoon and were initially booked at a far lesser hotel down the road but when we stopped in to make a dinner reservation we were blown away with the sheer beauty. We immediately inquired bout rates no were able to get a last minute discount of 20% on the existing costs. And this isn't just for a room, it's for a beautiful villa complete with a living area, outdoor bathroom & front deck. The staff was wonderful, the service (including complimentary refreshing beverages on the beach and free access to canoes and paddle boards) was top notch, the lush grounds were serene and the food was fantastic. Highly recommended if you want to treat yourself on a special occasion.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
#6 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.