We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasy Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantasy Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Zazen is built with tremendous imagination. Almost as if someone concepted the most eye-popping tropical fantasy. Then built that concept to the letter. Flagstone roads under Bamboo archways. Twisty paths flanked by sparkling streams. Planters stuffed with fat marigold heads. Birds with loud, tropical voices. Planked wooden pathways criss-crossing over ponds of massive Koi. Gorgeous Thai women in slinky silk dresses. Zazen has a beautiful slug of Bophut beach to call it's own. Plenty of cushioned chaises and ample umbrellas. The restaurant is unmatched. We spent the rest of our stay trying to find a menu as sublime or tasty. (We got close at "The Page" in Chaweng.) Beachfront villas are preferable. But garden villas do not disappoint. If you are a person who has built up this romantic and impossible vision of a vacation in Koh Samui, you belong at Zazen.

Room Tip: Garden Villas are fine. Beach front villas afford a quick appraisal of chaise availability. And are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Markkoelfgen,

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team. It is such a beautiful description of our Resort!

Many thanks for the positive feedback and we hope to see you soon in Samui!

With best regards,


The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    151
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
132
585
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My Husband and I spent a blissful 7 night's at Zazen. We chose to stay at Zazen based on all of the great reviews and we were not disappointed. The reception staff were very welcoming
on our arrival with ice cold towels and thirst quenching cocktails. We chose to stay in one of the Garden Villas which is one of their larger rooms. The room was beautiful and we had a lot of privacy. We didn't mind the open bathroom but found it to be quite enjoyable. I am glad we didn't stay in one of the beach villas as they seemed to lack privacy. The breakfast selection was great and we especially enjoyed the Belgium waffle and blueberry pancakes. It was great to start every day with a glass of sparking wine. We ate lunch either on the beach or by the pool and all of the food was delicious. We had dinner at the restaurant on our first night and on our last night. The service and food was of an equally high standard. Try to keep space for
dresset, you will not be disappointed.

The spa a Zazen is truly magical. We went for 3 treatments and each was fantastic! We really loved the packages that they have on offer. We went for 'le spa zen bliss' which iended off with a glass of sparkling wine in their outdoor jazuzzi. Try and make some time for the spa, you will not be sorry. Thank you to Oil and all of the ladies at the spa for making our time with them so enjoyable.

I have only one negative thing to say about Zazen and that is the fact that they are not a couple's only resort. I really don't think they are geared towards children and the children that were staying at Zazen seemed unable to enjoy themselves fully due to the nature of the resort and the couple's including myself got irritated by the screaming children by the poolside. Zazen is an idyllic, romantic place and unfortunately not the place for young children.

As I write this review i am taken back to the beauty of Zazen. I cannot wait to return!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear ReneSol,

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Many thanks for the positive feedback and we hope to see you soon in Samui!

With best regards,


The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The resort managers are very friendly and attentive to guests' needs. The rooms are clean and very few mosquitoes. It has a very good restaurant and my daughter loved their ice-cream as the containers were beautifully made of syrup and shapes varied every time. They offer many delicious breakfast choices. Not all the waitresses were pleasant though. Some didn't even smile. They have nice spas too. But as another reviewer said, it's not a resort for families with small kids. Mine are 9 and 10 years old respectively so it's ok. The beach is small and water was muddled probably due to last week's typhoon. Join the snorkeling trips if you want clear water and to see beautiful fish. The condition of snorkelling equipment they provide here is much better than those in Langkawi. The island is nice, not too big nor too busy. People are very friendly and the price performance of merchandise here is excellent. The pros of coming in December is less crowded and not so hot. But it has the risk of bad weather because December is still rainy season. March to May have very good weather but very hot (35 degree celcius) and I believe it's more crowded.

Room Tip: Garden villa good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear IdaLiu,

Greetings from Koh Samui

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We also greatly appreciate your time invested to share your concern with us as such constructive feedback enables us to monitor and improve our quality service standards.

Further to your comment regarding our restaurant staff friendliness, I sincerely apologize if not all of our waitresses were pleasant. Please note that we will re-enforce our training to ensure our staff keeps smiling and deliver a friendly service.

Once again our appreciation for your constructive comments and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

Adrien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We traveled to Thailand with two other families for Thanksgiving. The resort is beautiful but was not a great place to go as a family. The pool is very small and is right next to the main dining area which meant our kids were hushed by management more than once while playing in the pool. It is very much a location for a romantic holiday which was the case with several couples that were very affectionate with each other in the pool and sea resulting in some interesting conversation with the kids. We stayed in the larger villas which were wonderful and very comfortable. One other thing to note....we booked the zipline experience through the hotel and when we arrived at the location the employees there noted that we were charged more by the hotel than what was posted. The Zazen did reimburse us the difference but it makes you wonder about pricing inconsistencies. Again, perfect for a romantic holiday but not ideal for families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear TeamJenkins,

Greetings from Koh Samui

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We also greatly appreciate your time invested to share your concern with us as such constructive feedback enables us to monitor and improve our quality service standards.

Further to your concerns about kids coming to the Resort, it is true that Zazen is more suited to couples than families. We however are glad to welcome children as we are a family ran business. I am sorry to read that your children may have been shocked by affectionate couples, which we can't control as long as they keep their clothes on. More seriously, we have never noticed or had any comments regarding this issue as our guests are usually educated and respectful about others.

Regarding your comment about the Canopy Adventure pricing, I have investigated and found out that there was a difference of approximately 80 Baht with our pricing. I apologize about this issue, thanks to your feedback we have adjusted our selling price.

Once again our appreciation for your constructive comments and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

Adrien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My partner and I have just come back from an amazing trip which included 5 days at this amazing resort. This was one of the most picturesque an beautiful I have ever seen. In between the amazingly helpful and amazing staff and the fantastic facilities was one of the best restaurants in Koh Samui. Thanks to Adrian and his staff for giving us the most romantic and fantastic holiday we could have wished for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Mr Splitch,

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Many thanks for the positive feedback and we hope to see you soon in Samui!

With best regards,


The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,256 reviews 1,256 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
3,619 helpful votes 3,619 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon, staying in one of their lovely beachfront villas.
Lovely warm welcome, with cold towels & refreshing fruit drink. The rooms are very well appointed, right on the beach with a lovely view of the sea. Gorgeous bathrooms, which are open air with rain shower. Good attention to detail, like beach bag, iPod dock & lots of complementary water in the minibar.
Having walked around the resort, I am pleased that we booked the beachfront rooms. Maybe it's not quite as private, but you have blinds & the beach isn't full of people. Early morning & night time, it is deserted. The sound of the ocean as you lay in bed is magical!
Excellent breakfast, with good choice of buffet fare with the 'mains' cooked to order. Breakfast is taken on a lovely terrace overlooking the ocean & beach. Fantastic!
This place is a honeymooners dream, quiet & relaxing, beautiful resort & friendly attentive staff. Would have scored this a massive 5 but......
On our second day, they had a wedding booked for 4 pm with a reception afterwards. We received notice by letter the night before. The nicest part of the beach was cordoned off at 9am, but they didn't start setting up till 2pm, leaving their hotel guests squeezed together all day.
We were given a bottle of 'Asti' on arrival (another nice touch) & we had put it in the minibar to keep cold. I went to the only hotel bar to get an ice bucket & ice at around 6pm. The bar staff looked horrified that I was there when the wedding reception was going on! Where else am I supposed to get a drink etc? They ended up shooing me away & somebody brought the ice to the room.
Music from the reception went on till 1.30am & was pretty loud. Music normally got switched off at 12, which is reasonable, so why were they allowed to party till the early hours, keeping paying hotel residents awake?? To cap off this negative experience, the wedding party then let of loud fireworks, accompanied by cheering & shouting, virtually outside our room!! If you were lucky enough to be asleep through the disco, the fireworks would have given you a hell of a scare!!
I don't want to seem a 'party pooper', I party like the best of them, but the hotel need to have more consideration for their other guests. Loads of people,spending loads of money in the bar, must be e real 'earner' for the hotel, but 2 am is ridiculous.
Apart from that issue, amazing place & I would definitely return & recommend.

Room Tip: Don't be put off my the negative comments about the beach villas & book one, they are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Chris,

Greetings from Koh Samui

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your honeymoon.

We also greatly appreciate your time invested to share your concern with us as such constructive feedback enables us to monitor and improve our quality service standards.

I sincerely apologize for the disturbance you have encountered one night when we were hosting a wedding ceremony. We normally end every ceremony at midnight and it is indeed unacceptable that it lasted until 1:30 am. This case has been immediately brought up to management meeting and thanks to your comment, it will not happen again.

Regarding the firework, please note that fireworks are forbidden in front of Zazen due to the fact that most of our hotel is built in wood. However, nearby bungalows sometime shoot some fireworks which we have no control over as the beach is public (like everywhere in Thailand).

Once again our appreciation for your constructive comments and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

Adrien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to zaen after a 4 night stay in Silavadee resort. Both resorts were class apart., We took beach bunglow this toime for 3 nights. Staff was good, always smiling. Restaurant was great. Amazing beach, nicely kept very clean, soothing , quite. In the room you wont even hear a sound from sea waves. Great usage oif colurs in the room. We also chose a package of aromatherapy which was blissful. The way hotel was kept was amazing. In the evening hotel was lit in a beautful manner. The hotel even had a genset back up which you wont find every where in koh Samui. The hotel charges are decent and not very high. Though Bophut is a bit far from the main market areas but it depends on the kind of vacation you are looking at. If relaxation , luxury and calmness are the things you are looking at then you have check this place out.

Room Tip: If budget is not a constraint.. Go in for a beach bunglow. Best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Visava,

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Many thanks for the positive feedback and we hope to see you soon in Samui!

With best regards,


The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
#5 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.