We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded paradise, where attention to every detail is taken care of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Six Senses Samui to your Saves list
Six Senses Samui
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special 3 nights package
Ranked #26 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Secluded paradise, where attention to every detail is taken care of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a long time wondering whether to take the plunge and book up - it was quite expensive and had been recommended personally to me by a friend who stayed there during her honeymoon. We were looking for privacy, to wake up to the sound of nothing but the ocean and to have a bit of pampering. From the moment we arrived we knew we had come to the right place. We were in a pool villa. Nobody was able to look over us so we were able to swim naked in our pool - very liberating, especially when all you can see around you are the trees and the ocean! The villa itself was wonderful - tastefully decorated - all in keeping with a rustic feel. The food - oh the food! Now, my boyfriend and I know our food and this, in all the places I have ever eaten, beats any breakfast I have ever experienced. Succulent mango carved to perfection, noodles made to order, fruits of all varieties but prepared with such care, sushi, pancakes, waffles, coconuts, juices of all types, honey on the honeycomb, the list is endless. All exquisite. And then there's the pastries! We only ate on the resort one night (because we love sampling the local restaurants) and could hardly move after. It was so good that we just kept eating more.
Service - just unbelievable. The staff are so sincere and wonderful. It was this that actually made our holiday.
Useful tips - hire a car from day 1 to pick up at the airport and drop off at the airport. We messed around the first few days with taxis here, there and everywhere and it would have been cheaper and more convenient to have hired a car from the beginning. Taxis are quite pricey on Samui. Wear your mosquito spray at dusk. I got bitten alive but we went at the end of the monsoon season. Note the mosquitoes are all over Koh Samui - the staff at the resort take great care to avoid them biting you - they prepare the mosquito nets every evening when they prepare your room, they burn sticks throughout your villa and at dinner in the evening there are plenty of ceiling fans (rustic ones!) which keep them away from you. I actually got most of my bites at the waterfalls, not on the resort. The Spa- I didn't even go to the spa- next time I will - but you can just relax on the beach and have a foot massage for one hour for the equivalent of 5 or 6 pounds. Trips - thoroughly recommend that you do the trip to Koh Tao that they can organise for you - amazing snorkelling in turquoise waters.

All in all, although we are not the type of people to go back the same place twice, we plan to return here as it is just so special -and we hope to bring our parents next time. If you are looking for something cheap you should look elsewhere, but if you are prepared and able to pay for a taste of quality, paradise, elegance and beauty, this is the place for you. It is worth every penny and will be very hard act to follow for any hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    116
    42
    31
    19
See reviews for
65
431
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

The people who own and run these resorts know what they are doing. They take hospitality very seriously and now that I've seen what's possible, I'm pretty much disappointed in every other place I've vacationed.
From the second we arrived to the second we left, we were treated graciously and lavished with attention. The staff here anticipates every need before you have it. It's actually hard to get used to the generosity at first, but then it's really nice. Our butler, Gig, was sweet and would've done anything for us. We felt constantly pampered and taken care of. This place is quiet enough so that if you want to hide away and not talk to anyone you can, but if you want to socialize you can do that, too.
The views, the accommodations, and the food are spectacular. They have spared no expense and put a lot of thought into how to make this a place people will remember. I've never seen such exceptional and consistent hospitality. Their breakfast is a feast -the best resort breakfast offerings there is. I looked forward to it every morning.
Every time we were seen walking, a member of the staff offered to take us to where we were going. When we went to the resort beach, we were immediately given towels and water. Same thing at the pool. When we got up to leave, they asked us if we wanted a ride. They constantly tried to make us comfortable and relaxed. They did our laundry, they made dinner reservations for us. The staff greeted us every time they passed us walking around.
I will say that booking activities through them is costly. You can do it for less money, but Six Sense will take good care of you. We did Mr. Ung's safari thing and it was terrible. We should have booked through the resort.
The fitness facility isn't very good, but this is not really why you go to a place like this. If I was to offer any criticisms at all, I would say they should update their weight equipment and make the fitness space a little more luxurious like the rest of the resort.
The spa was lovely.
The resort beach is very rocky and unpleasant to walk on. It's shallow water, though, which was nice. If you want to go to a beach for the day, I'd go elsewhere just so you can walk on nicer sand. Their beach was better for reading and relaxing.
All in all, I can't wait to go back to a Six Senses resort.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We stayed for the second honeymoon. The service is great and we could have an excellent holiday there. We especially loves the breakfast. We could have the breakfast with the nice view of ocean every morning. We recomment the spa too!

Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Ow my god! Even if you doubt that you would want to spend the extra bucks for a stay at this resort, just book it! You will not regret it...

We stayed in a Pool Villa (nr. 42) and it was magnificent! Each villa has a personal butler for one. The service of the staff is nothing that I've seen before. Doesn't matter what you want, or who you speak to... it will be arranged!

It is quiet. And the use of mobile phones is discouraged. We spoke to a staff member and he said that there was a guest who stayed for 2 months.... I can understand why.

Organic food and drinks. Which was a welcome surprise... This is a place where you can recharge.

Enjoy the stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights. On arrival we were met by the General Manager who was very friendly. Our butler showed us around the hotel she was called Nid, and nothing was to much trouble for her, she met us nearly every day to make sure our stay was going well and if we needed any thing or wanted to book something out side the hotel. We only went out once and that was very good we went to Fisherman's Village, we had everything on site so there was no need to go out in our opinion. Our villa was marvellous it was villa 10 it was so peaceful we did book a villa with a pool after reading on tripadvisor that there were not enough beds around the main pool, this was not the case when we got there they had got more of them. We think the management have listened to what guests have said and there was a lot of work going on to update the hotel this is being done with the least disruption for the guest we hardly noticed. The food was fabulous so much of it and nothing was to much for the staff to do especially if you wanted something different they really tried. We ate mostly at the Dining on the Hill as the staff were very good. We had drinks there most of the time and we were taught a little Thai by Title who only laughed when we tried to order things in Thai and got it wrong. The spa was one of the best we have been to, each room was individual and the right temperature and the music was so soothing the staff there were very professional but warm and courteous. I did a two hour course on Thai massage which was great fun. The only down side was the mosquitoes and that was not the hotels fault they do try and keep them under control. We would go back again no problem at all.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

So it was very nice vacation in Samui. Six Senses of us chose the correct answer was. We can spent gorgeous and relax time and it's was great hideway for set me free from busy routine. This staff also very friendly and nice support us during our stay. And we made valuable experience in loy krathon day. I will be back again certainly in near future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

We travelled as a couple 35/25y in the end of october to the beginning of november. This is off season so the resort was not crowded.

The resort itself is located on the north-east part of Koh Samui. It is quite secluded and the road ends at the resort. It can be difficult to find but the resort offers complementary pick-up at Samui airport. (the worlds cutest airport by the way).
There is a free car park just past the guardpost. The parking area is not shaded so the car will be boiling in the sun.
The resort offers four types of accomodations of witch the top three has a small private pool. The resort also features two restaurants, bar, spa, gym, shop, private beach and a larger pool for the benefit of all guests.
The resort has an enviromentally friendly profile and this is visible in many aspects, from the material used in construction and the opportunity to purchase a carbon neutral stay.
The area is quite large but electrical golf carts takes you around the resort upon request.

We stayed in a pool villa witch is the smallest of the ones with private pools.
The villa has a bedroom/living room with a large double bed, large windows, bathroom with tub and two sinks, toilet and outside roofed shower. There is also a coffee machine, flat screen tv with multiple english channels, dvd player and a mosquito net over the bed (my advise...use it). Then there is the pool.... approx 2m x 5m and 1,4m deep. Steps in one end. There is also a sun terrace, two sun beds, chairs, table, sofa and parasoll.
You can choose when the housekeeping shall attend, both in the morning and for turn-down. You can choose a wide variety of things to personalize your bungalow. There is also your personal butler and 24h room service.

The restaurants are very different in style but both serve excellent food. The view on the "Rock" restaurant is breathtaking.

This is a place that we feel differs from many of the other resorts. The luxury of your private pool, the view and the staff is very service minded and helpfull.

Are there any drawbacks? Unfortunately yes.

The resort is expensive. We payed about 9000 US$ for a 12 day stay incl breakfast.
The bungalow windows and doors are not completely tight. This causes wind to blow through and sometimes rain if the weather is bad. Then you might have to cranck up the AC resulting in a louder noise level. Insects also enter through the cracks but we were not annoyed by this. (that is my point with the mosquito net)
There is however, a gigantic can of bug spray in the closet :)
As this is a luxury resort, the prices are higher than the island average.
The remote loaction makes a taxi ride to Chaweng beach cost about 600 Bath one-way.

All in all...we loved this place. We will be happy to return to a special place with special service provided by a wonderful staff.

Oh...we tried the spa...you should do the same :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Senses Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.