We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool lifestyle resort in samui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Senses Samui

Save Saved
You added Six Senses Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Six Senses Samui
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 53 hotels in Bophut
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool lifestyle resort in samui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Here we go again and this time with six senses - koh samui

It won't be strange that when I say if you want to forget about the world around you , just leave it to six senses and live another world experince .


It was not the first time been in samui, but this time yes i consider it the first time because I have been in splendid six senses resort
That makes me love koh samui more and more..

Guys they don't treat us as a customer but a part of family !!
That was cool . Me and my wife felt we are celebrity !!!

Mr. David Ashworth ... Thanks for your warm welcome greeting and for the care that given to us and for everything
My respects and honour to your generous and kindness..

Well .. I will not forget (ink) and chiaki our butlers that handled our staying in the resort .. Thanks for the care ..

The villa (16) with an order from mr. David , was the best experiment I have ever .. In the villa you will not need anything from them except the ice and in-room dining

The resturant ( dining at hill) is nice they offered a good quality of food .. My comments:
- the drinks like mocktails and some juices need some artistic improvement
- Some kinds of foods need the sense of the chef which is lost in..

Unfortunately we lost the opportunity to try the (dining at the rock) which is one of the best fusion resturants in Thailand ..!

The administration need to notice some of the workers like the technicians and some labours not to enter the villa's area without a permission as we faced that with Electrical technicians when the came to the villa for some fixing

In general they are really great and they are ready any time for any thing you request , familiar environment and cute staff and the privacy is guaranteed ,the things that you won't find in any other hotels or resorts ..

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear CODE75,
Thank you for your detailed feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, my team and I are very pleased that you had such a wonderful holiday, enjoying the food quality, service and ambiance of your villa. I have also passed you lovely comments to your butlers K Ink and Chiaki, they enjoyed having the opportunity to take care of you and your family. With regards to the maintenance team we would like to thank you for this remark, we totally accept this and will ensure the team as the correct training to avoid this happening to future guests. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, and maybe this time round you can enjoy the food at Dining on the Rocks. If there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    94
    39
    24
    14
See reviews for
53
368
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After staying at their Yao Noi resort, we ended our trip here at their Samui property. They were nice enough to upgrade our room which was very beautiful but we were very disappointed with the quality of their service and food in comparison. Yao Noi was exceptional for service and food and everything else. Samui was average for service and below average for food. I would find a place on Samui that was better than this. Not necessarily worth the premium price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Justin B,
Thank you for your candid feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are pleased to see that you appreciated the room upgrade, but overall you were disappointed with our food and service, we are looking into this in more detail to make sure we exceed all our guests expectations, we fully appreciate your remarks and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you once again in the not to distant future. If there is anything you would like to discuss further please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerly,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My mom and I both feel so lucky to have met the Six Senses team (especially David and May) and to have had this experience. It was very unique and truly incredible- something that I would recommend everyone to experience if they have the chance!

If you are looking for your typical luxurious resort- then this isn't the place for you but if you are looking for something authentic and special- you must stay at Six Senses! You feel like you are sleeping in your very own private tree house (most of the walls are floor to ceiling windows). I have been fortunate enough to travel to many places around the world and have stayed at some of the nicest resorts (including The Four Seasons in Koh Samui) and this is by far the nicest pool area/view that I have ever seen. The spa was wonderful- definitely take advantage of it while you're there and I also need to note that the breakfast buffet is the best I've seen and tasted to date (in fact all of the meals were incredible)! Feel free to message me with any questions...

Room Tip: If you're able to splurge for the ocean view - it is well worth it!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Alexandra W,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the authentic ambiance of your pool villa, including the service, food and large breakfast buffet each morning. I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely ,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a mom & son hols, a surprise really...we'd already done our annual Bali trip and this was unplanned and last minute... Six Senses touches all the senses and more, it excels and the staff make that happen, nothing is too much trouble, kind, courteous and welcoming. My son is a global traveller for both work and pleasure and adores Thailand, through him I have fallen for the country, its diversity, and its people are the kindest and most generous i have had the honour of meeting. Six Senses was a first for us and what it offers is an exemplar to all... The environment is considered, the local population are appreciated moreover what is offered is high standard at all times. I cannot fault it... We were upgraded to the Presidential Villa, an Ab Fab group of strikingly authentic villas with the very best amenities, watching the sun set with a glass of Bubbly in an outside stone bath is the ultimate joy for me... Six Senses offers the traveller all they desire and I mean desire... I thank my son for this fantastic experience and I have to thank all the staff who made our holiday absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Lili S,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the tentative service and special ambiance of your villa including the unique surroundings. I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 5 days in a pool villa with an ocean view.Although it was not a beach front villa we enjoyed a very nice ocean view,in a specious villa,with a huge bath tub and nice amenities.
This is a very upscale secluded resort,so you will not find vendors on the beach.The infinity pool is amazing,offering stunning views. Dinning on the Rock is a must! You will enjoy an amazing view and an excellent set menu.The staff was very friendly,and especially our private butler called Ink.She greeted us upon arrival,and has provided us with excellent and personal service throughout our stay .She was always accessible and gave us tips for activities out side the resort,such as booking a private long boat tour and sunset dinner at the "Five Island " restaurant, renting a motorbike and planing a day trip around the Island,etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Sarmufmaf,
Thank you for your recent feedback on a visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that we exceeded your expectation and that you enjoyed the size of the villas, lovely views and private infinity pool and general ambiance of the resort, I have also passed on your remarks regarding the food at Dining on the Rocks to our chef. Khun Ink your butler is also very happy that she could make your holiday just that more special.
I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was one of the best hotels in Thailand. The private pool in our room and the outside shower was beautiful. The room was beautiful. The service was great. The beach is quiet and so pretty. The only down side was that to do anything in town you have to take a taxi.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that I saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Simchafirestone,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent stay at Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed the ambiance of your villa especially your private infinity pool, outdoor shower,and tranquil beach area , I have also passed on your remarks to all my team with regards to the service.
I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a very nice place but primarily because of the people who work there. After bad experience we had at Intercontinental Samui, this was a paradise. You feel welcome from the begining and evrybody wants to make you feel good. They assigned us a butler, a lady called Fae. She is superb and sincerely caring. I think she did more than was required of her like check us in for the flight adn giving us lot of useful advice on Samui. I also want to mention Ivan, their head of food and beverages. Each morning he greets people at the breakfast, chats with people in a very nice and frendly manner, getting their feedback. So on customer side, it is a great place. Locationwise, it is about 10-15 mins by car/motorbike from a "village" where there are good restaurants and some shops. it is also relatively close to the airport. On a less exciting side is the beach which is very small but this is compensated by a huge pool and also pools that some villas have (we had one.) I personally did not like the style of the rooms as I prefer more modern style but that a matter of taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Michael G
Thank you for your comments on a recent holiday at Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance of the resort, especially the services of Khun Fai your butler, I have also shared your feedback with rest of my team especially Ivan the food and beverage manager. We have also noted your remarks concerning the size of the beach, unfortunately Samui does not have many large beaches, most tend to occupy small coves along the cost line.
I hope that you will visit us again and if there is anything i can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#9 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Senses Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.