We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a special place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Six Senses Samui to your Saves list
Six Senses Samui
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My mom and I both feel so lucky to have met the Six Senses team (especially David and May) and to have had this experience. It was very unique and truly incredible- something that I would recommend everyone to experience if they have the chance!

If you are looking for your typical luxurious resort- then this isn't the place for you but if you are looking for something authentic and special- you must stay at Six Senses! You feel like you are sleeping in your very own private tree house (most of the walls are floor to ceiling windows). I have been fortunate enough to travel to many places around the world and have stayed at some of the nicest resorts (including The Four Seasons in Koh Samui) and this is by far the nicest pool area/view that I have ever seen. The spa was wonderful- definitely take advantage of it while you're there and I also need to note that the breakfast buffet is the best I've seen and tasted to date (in fact all of the meals were incredible)! Feel free to message me with any questions...

Room Tip: If you're able to splurge for the ocean view - it is well worth it!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Alexandra W,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the authentic ambiance of your pool villa, including the service, food and large breakfast buffet each morning. I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely ,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    108
    40
    27
    15
See reviews for
56
405
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a mom & son hols, a surprise really...we'd already done our annual Bali trip and this was unplanned and last minute... Six Senses touches all the senses and more, it excels and the staff make that happen, nothing is too much trouble, kind, courteous and welcoming. My son is a global traveller for both work and pleasure and adores Thailand, through him I have fallen for the country, its diversity, and its people are the kindest and most generous i have had the honour of meeting. Six Senses was a first for us and what it offers is an exemplar to all... The environment is considered, the local population are appreciated moreover what is offered is high standard at all times. I cannot fault it... We were upgraded to the Presidential Villa, an Ab Fab group of strikingly authentic villas with the very best amenities, watching the sun set with a glass of Bubbly in an outside stone bath is the ultimate joy for me... Six Senses offers the traveller all they desire and I mean desire... I thank my son for this fantastic experience and I have to thank all the staff who made our holiday absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Lili S,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the tentative service and special ambiance of your villa including the unique surroundings. I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 5 days in a pool villa with an ocean view.Although it was not a beach front villa we enjoyed a very nice ocean view,in a specious villa,with a huge bath tub and nice amenities.
This is a very upscale secluded resort,so you will not find vendors on the beach.The infinity pool is amazing,offering stunning views. Dinning on the Rock is a must! You will enjoy an amazing view and an excellent set menu.The staff was very friendly,and especially our private butler called Ink.She greeted us upon arrival,and has provided us with excellent and personal service throughout our stay .She was always accessible and gave us tips for activities out side the resort,such as booking a private long boat tour and sunset dinner at the "Five Island " restaurant, renting a motorbike and planing a day trip around the Island,etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Sarmufmaf,
Thank you for your recent feedback on a visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that we exceeded your expectation and that you enjoyed the size of the villas, lovely views and private infinity pool and general ambiance of the resort, I have also passed on your remarks regarding the food at Dining on the Rocks to our chef. Khun Ink your butler is also very happy that she could make your holiday just that more special.
I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was one of the best hotels in Thailand. The private pool in our room and the outside shower was beautiful. The room was beautiful. The service was great. The beach is quiet and so pretty. The only down side was that to do anything in town you have to take a taxi.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that I saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Simchafirestone,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent stay at Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed the ambiance of your villa especially your private infinity pool, outdoor shower,and tranquil beach area , I have also passed on your remarks to all my team with regards to the service.
I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a very nice place but primarily because of the people who work there. After bad experience we had at Intercontinental Samui, this was a paradise. You feel welcome from the begining and evrybody wants to make you feel good. They assigned us a butler, a lady called Fae. She is superb and sincerely caring. I think she did more than was required of her like check us in for the flight adn giving us lot of useful advice on Samui. I also want to mention Ivan, their head of food and beverages. Each morning he greets people at the breakfast, chats with people in a very nice and frendly manner, getting their feedback. So on customer side, it is a great place. Locationwise, it is about 10-15 mins by car/motorbike from a "village" where there are good restaurants and some shops. it is also relatively close to the airport. On a less exciting side is the beach which is very small but this is compensated by a huge pool and also pools that some villas have (we had one.) I personally did not like the style of the rooms as I prefer more modern style but that a matter of taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Michael G
Thank you for your comments on a recent holiday at Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance of the resort, especially the services of Khun Fai your butler, I have also shared your feedback with rest of my team especially Ivan the food and beverage manager. We have also noted your remarks concerning the size of the beach, unfortunately Samui does not have many large beaches, most tend to occupy small coves along the cost line.
I hope that you will visit us again and if there is anything i can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

2 fabulous weeks in this beautiful resort. Amazing sea view villa lost In rocks and nature. People are sweet and professional. Breakfast is perfect. Swimming pool with the view is incredible. We loved to Be In this hotel. Complementary cocktail In sunset is so a good Idea. Kids loved the beach, small but cosy and service exceptionnal. For my part i adore all the fresh fruits waiting for me In the villa everyday. So great hollidays.The manager David is so Nice, and available . Six Senses samui and the Dream Come true.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear VANESSAAZ
Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased to see that we exceeded your expectation, I will certainly share your comments on the food, service and ambiance with all my team. I hope you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay at a Six Senses Resort, please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were here on our honeymoon. We had pushed the boat out for the last week of our honeymoon and went for the 5+star resort over the 5star. Unfortunately by the time we got to Koh Samui the Six Senses had been downgraded to 5star.
The location is stunning but very secluded. So secluded that you are trapped to buy everything from the resort. Unfortunately everything costs 3 times more than it would in the shops. Being our honeymoon we were happy to pay this but its something you should be aware of. Beers are £5 a bottle but there is a happy hour 3-5pm at a beach bar. Wine is unfortunately very expensive at £45 a bottle but apparently this is true across all of thailand.
The room we had in our hideaway villa was beautiful.
As usual in Thailand the service staff were great.
We ate at Dining on the Rocks on our last night which was truely amazing-a real dining experience! Highly recommended and actually good value for what we had.
Unfortunately on the second last night of our stay I fell through the decking outside our villa. It was rotten and I fell straight through it getting stuck at my knee joint. Since returning home my knee has got worse and I am due to have a scan tomorrow on the infected blood clot I now have. The staff were excellent dealing with it but it put a huge dampner on what was an excellent two weeks. Not to mention I have been on antibiotics for a week and can't do any exercise until after it heals properly.
To be honest I would return to eat at Dining on the Rocks but I wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: dont bother with the upgrade to the pool side villa as the main villa is superb. The ocean view one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Rosseaglesham,
Thank you for your candid feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, I have shared your positive remarks with all my team, we are very happy that you enjoyed the ambiance of the resort, the good food and service. I do apologize for the incident which happened towards the end of your stay that left you with a negative feeling on what was a good stay up till this point.
I hope this experience will not deter you from trying another six senses holiday at one of our many locations. Please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com should you wish to discuss any further details.
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#18 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Senses Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.