We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Six Senses Samui to your Saves list
Six Senses Samui
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special 3 nights package
Ranked #26 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for the day, did not stay overnight. Still received the best of service. Car picked us up from our hotel (at a cost, but still convenient). Great room, buggys to drive us everywhere in Six Senses. Great service from staff. May be difficult location to explore the rest of Koh Samui. Fantastic pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear S D,

I am really pleased to see you enjoyed your day visit to the resort and thank you for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor. I hope next time we may see you staying a bit longer at one of our resorts.

Kind regards,

David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    116
    42
    31
    19
See reviews for
65
431
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

great bungalows/villas with your own butler, food is so good we did not want to leave for another restaurant. They charge a lot for a room , but it is really worth it!
nice little brach, great pool and two awesome restaurants

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear GolfnSpa,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to post your experience here. It good to see you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the restaurants within the resort. I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

Kind regards,

David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Amazing hotel, amazing bungalow and service is incredible
We stayed 10 days in a beach front villa with pool for your honeymoon
Best Hotel ever seen
Dinning on the rocks wast one of the best moment we had in our lifes

You can rent a motocycle for 350 Bath/ day ( 6 euros ) and discover the island but Samui is very touristic and too much crowded
Chaweng for exemple is awfull

We plan now to discover other six sense hotels
It's a lifestyle about relaxing, calm and confidence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Leclerc de la c... C,

I am really pleased you had an amazing honeymoon here and that certainly what we try to deliver. Dining on the Rocks is an beautiful setting and gets many comments from resort guests and those visiting Samui. Holidays after all are all about memorable experiences.

I hope that we will see you back on your anniversary in either Samui or another one of our properties.

Kind regards,

David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Recently had lunch here whilst on holiday on Koh Samui with a large group of friends. The setting is really beautiful - all very natural and tranquil with fabulous views across the bay to other parts of the island. It seems just the place to come and relax and find your 'inner peace'.
Pity the lunch experience did not leave us feeling quite so good. The food was good and the fresh coconut juice the best I have ever had, but the food took a very long time to arrive and many of our group had left before the dessert was served!

Room Tip: We did not stay here so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear swissericsister,

Thank you for taking the time to make me aware of the shortfalls following your visit to the resort.

It always helps us review the areas that are slipping sometime and areas where we can improve. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your lunch at the resort and will certainly be speaking to the restaurant team to ensure we do some back to basics service training to ensure we speed up the process and efficiency of service as well as the kitchen team.

Kind regards,

David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is all what I could ever wish for from holiday. Peaceful, luxurious, just amazing! Service is perfect, they do what ever you can wish for. Although the resort is top notch, special here is their amazing breakfast. I have stayed in many 5-star resorts but breakfast here is best I have ever tasted. Ingredients are all fresh and there is everything you can imagine. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear susietfinland,

I wanted to thank you for your kind comments on the resort following your visit. It is always a pleasure to see that we have managed to meet or surpass expectations from our guests. We do have a service culture to always try and deliver what the customer wants to ensure a great experience and am pleased the “can do” training is being delivered.

I look forward to welcoming you back some day and if there is anything you need please do let me know.

Kind regards,

David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a trip planned in advance to celebrate 25 years of marriage. We took the family, 5 of us, ranging in age from 15 to 56. We booked two villas, one with private pool (ours) and another which had an extra bed supplied for three.
I have never stayed in a hotel that offers such exceptional space to spread your wings - Villa no. 54 has three levels of private space : living/sleeping, down to pool and deck and then on down to your own private afternoon snooze gazebo covered deck, with fan and double "bed".

The attention to decor is absolutely fabulous - quietly, tastefully put together with the best quality in mind.

The staff were excellent, discreet but always available should you require assistance. The touch of having a private butler was an innovative experience and we made use of our lovely butlers rather well. They were very efficient and quietly ready for anything, always with the most beautiful smiles on their faces.

Dining here is wonderful too - the buffet style on offer at the regular hotel eating area was always widely spread, offering many varied dishes from Asia to Europe. Something for everyone. We loved breakfast as the fresh fruits were glorious : especially loved the granadillas and the Paw-Paw, or papaya as some know it as. It was a treat to have dim-sum alongside my scrambled egg!

It it is privacy and far from the madding crowd you are after, with top drawer service expectations, this secluded hotel is just what you want! Tucked into thick and well tended green vegetation (all native to the area), you are almost fully guaranteed to have maximum privacy while in your villa. Don't forget to take your own iTouch or iPod as there is a dock there in the room, with fab surround sound. There is a DVD too. Coffee machine with capsules. The outdoor showers (offering two shower types : rain or strong flow) were a treat indeed - I just loved the sensation of standing on the decking having to decide which type of shower I wanted to use! Another super touch supplied to each bathroom (we had two in our chalet, no.54) were large pump-bottles of after-sun creams/gel, Aloe Vera, spa hair conditioner (the best I have ever used), shampoo, body lotion and even insect repellent! Really nice touch.

The towels offered were the biggest I've ever used and just loved the size. The bed linen was luxuriously smooth and cool. Mosquito netting looked so lovely and was fun to sleep under. The net is essential as there are mosquitos in abundance. Each area of villa and hotel has an anti-mosquito fogger burning gently. Well worth having them as they do a good job and is not harmful to humans. (The ceramic burners are gorgeous - I want some for myself! - The shop sold them, along with many other spa type items. I bought a beautiful essential oil burner - each room has one burning all day and the scent when you enter is too lovely).

Our private infinity pool with wonderful views out to sea, was a huge highlight for us all as we could spend quality time together quietly lounging together, just us. The solid teak loungers and thick cushions were perfect! The attention to detail offered at this hotel is tops!

Our five nights went by far too quickly. We will certainly return to this hotel one day but will also love to try out other Six Senses hotels. I like their ethos of "green/eco" hospitality.

Well done. A great stay, loved by all five of us. Thank you to all at Six Senses, Samui.

Room Tip: We found Villa no. 54 to be well placed in the large grounds of the hotel : quick to the beach, quic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Janet B,

Thank you so much from myself and the team for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor. They have certainly been shared with the rest of my hosts.

We certainly design the resort areas to give a generosity of space and also flexibility in what to do in each area. I am pleased to see the villas were enough for the extended family to enjoy whilst still give privacy where needed.

Also pleased to see your found the service from the restaurant staff and butlers supportive efficient and yet discrete. We spend much time on this training to ensure its unobtrusive.

Overall it sounds like you had a fantastic time and I am pleased we were able to help. I look forward to seeing you back some day and if I can assit in anyway please do let me know.

Kind regards,

David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place was AMAZING!!! I only wish I had more time to spend here. Do mosquito exists? yes. Were they a pain? NO! You are visiting the remote jungle area so you have to be prepared but this resort does a great job making you feel relaxed here. I can honestly say that my wife and I never complained about the mosquitoes. We spent 4 nights here as part of our honeymoon trip. This place is perfect for honeymooners looking to relax and do nothing. If you are looking spend most of your time in town, then place is probably not for you. You have to book a ride to get anywhere. We did spend some time in different parts of the island but we really came here to end our trip off in paradise, and that is exactly what we got. Nantaporn from the L.I.F.E office was able to help organize a Buddhist wedding blessing ceremony that was better then expected. This was a very special part of our trip and Nantaporn made it happen with ease.

This resort is in a secluded spot, and its designed to work with the natural hilly environment. Its a great place to put on some comfortable shoes and walk around the various paths to see where they lead. Everyday I found a path leading to something new on the resort.

The spa is fantastic. For any of the honeymooners I would recommend getting their romantic package. It comes with Diner on The Rocks which is an amazing experience, and a full 3 hour pampering at their amazing spa.

Food options are also fantastic. I am a vegetarian, and the staff always made sure to meet any of my food restrictions with ease.

This is a true worry free resort. If you are looking for a slice of paradise, where you don't have to do anything, this is the place.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe ocean front pool villas, you may never leave your villa. We stayed in villa 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear WideAngleLense,

Thank you for your amazing comments following your stay with us. Very pleased to see you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us. Certainly our aim I to make you as comfortable as possible so you can relax and enjoy the facilities. We do develop resorts in natural environments and try and keep them authentic as possible but at the same time keep some pests away and do try and keep the mosquitoes in check and glad we were on a whole successful during your stay.

The Buddhist blessing ceremony is a favorite with our guests and if you haven’t experienced it before can be special. I am pleased the Life team made the recommendation to you. Sounds like you enjoyed the relaxing break and also pleased you enjoyed the Dining on the Rocks and Spa pampering session.

Hope we see you back sometime.

Kind regards,

David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Senses Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.