We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nova Samui Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui to your Saves list
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147/3 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
tokyo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nova Samui Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We had a great experience at this hotel. We found the staff to be very attentive. It might have helped that the hotel did not appear to be busy at all. We enjoyed eating at the hotels restaurant .The brekfasts in the morning were very good and the general service all over the hotel was excellent and very very professional.hope to return here soon and would urge anyone going to cha am to think of the Nova Samui Resort.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    139
    51
    10
    18
See reviews for
14
74
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

having read the reviews after booking my holiday i was a little worried and as this was the cheapest hotel in the brochure i wasnt expected a palace but when we arived i was so pleased our room was wonderful and clean the food at the hotel was lovely and the ppl where lovely they would take you into town and pick you up when ever you wanted although it was only a 5-10 min walk to chewang main strip! i was totaly happy with my holiday and would defo return to this hotel xx

  • Liked — the friendly staff and our room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

I returned on March 4, 2008 after 14 sleepless nights at the Nova Samui Resort on Koh Samui. The sleepless nights were the result of an outdoor, highly amplified, hard rock music venue which is located 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. The music starts at 7PM and continues nonstop until 2:30 to 5:30AM. The level of noise generated causes the bedroom windows to vibrate and , even with state of the art earplugs, it is impossible to sleep. This ruined the holiday as I object to being forced to listen to music not of my choosing for hours on end and particularly when those hours are when I should be permitted to sleep. My attempts to relocate my room to avoid the noise proved that the only room where the noise did not penetrate was one on the ground floor surrounded by cement walls and dense shrubbery but also smelling of sewage and with a cockroach the size of a teacup in the bathroom. As a result I strongly advise against going to this hotel which is a shame because the hotel staff are charming, the grounds, pool and common areas are attractive, the breakfast is adequate, the half hourly bus service to the beach is efficient and the rooms are comfortable given that you don't mind sharing with the ant colony and the odd cockroach.

  • Liked — charming staff
  • Disliked — incessant nightly noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

In principle the rooms were okay, maybe my expectations were too high, but the room standard is not more than 3 star. The worst was the mouldy smell and damp in the rooms. We checked out appr 6 rooms before we accepted 2 of them. We did not try the restaurant because the prices were 6 times more expensive compared to having a stake and a beer just across the street.
Breakfast did not impress us since are are used to cerials, chees, cutlets, müsli and yougurt. There were only one sort of cheese one cooked ham that did not taste anything and the other items we did not find. Swimming pool were okay but there were only thirty chairs around the pool so in busy times I can imagine that it is crowded. Service around the pool were not very professional and efficient, but we got what we ordered in the end. I would definitely try some other resort if we end up at Koh Samui again.

  • Liked — quite surrounding, no disturbing trafffic or night clubs
  • Disliked — mouldy smell almost distroyd my holiday and experience of quality time
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

I had a fantastic time at this hotel! I have read several reviews on other sites where people have rated it very low and felt these were unfair.

The staff here were so friendly and were willing to do anything at all you needed.

The rooms were basic but clean. There was enough storage space for cases etc, and you got a safe and mini bar too. The bathroom was fine to, the shower wasn't very strong, but it wasn’t a problem!

With regards to rats in the rooms, i didn't have this problem, but i think being in a country like this it is something you have to be aware may happen!!

The swimming pool was fantastic; it was large and has a waterfall which cascades into it. I spent a lot of time around it, and it was never too busy either. The meals were really lovely and traditionally cooked, and you can order them to eat around the pool too.

I had Thai massage every day down by the pool and again I couldn't fault it.

If you want to be right on the beach or a 5minute walk from the beach then this is not the property for you. They run a free shuttle bus to the beach every 20minutes or something like that, which was fine by us, and in the evening you can catch the shuttle bus into the centre of chaweng which is a 5minute ride away!!

Several people have complained about stray dogs on this hotel site, but they are not strays, they are dogs which have been taken in by the hotel, and live there. There is nothing wrong with them they are clean and looked after, and have had injections etc. They do sit around by the restaurant sometimes, and they have free run of the grounds but they are actually very friendly! This is common practice in many of the hotels and cafes there!

I would really recommend this property as for a 3* it is really good! If you are worried it is too far out, they offer car hire which we did and it was cheap too. We got to see most of the island!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff!
  • Disliked — Bathrooms was quite small!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Fabulous location,staff very friendly and very helpful. Pool cleaned every day and rooms cleaned with fresh towels daily. Very laid back and comfortable.Feeling of family atmosphere with the staff. Only ten minutes to beach,scooters for hire and courtesy bus .Air conditioning excellent and rooms big and airy although the lighting could have been brighter in bedroom.Massive bed very comfortable.

  • Liked — out of the way but near enough to get to main resort
  • Disliked — size and friendliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Arrived at the Nova resort after a short flight from Phuket, where we had stayed at the At Panta Resort.
Received a great welcome at check in and were quickly allocated a room on the first floor overlooking the superbly well kept, beautiful gardens. First impressions of the hotel were reasonable considering what we had paid. After 10 minutes checking out the rooms facilities and balcony, we began to unpack. I opened what I though was a cupboard (it was actually adjacent to the main cupboard) and a rat (YES a RAT stared me in the face!) I closed the cupboard door amazed at what I had seen and then opened the door again - the rat was still there but began to climb up the electrical wires!
I immediately called reception who sent a maintenance guy straight up - of course there was no sign of the rat.
The guy on reception moved us quickly to another room on the ground floor which absolutely stunk of damp. The smell of damp was so intense that you could not stop coughing. The reception then moved us to a third room which was OK.
We did not enjoy our stay at this hotel, but I am sure had we not experienced the above on our first night then our opinion would be more positive.

  • Liked — Leaving it! To be honest the gardens were great
  • Disliked — Its location and it is run down - it is in desperate need of a complete refurb
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui

Address: 147/3 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novasamui Resort Koh Samui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Koh Samui
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.