We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui to your Saves list
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147/3 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Resort design is authentic Thai style..odd that no swimming is allowed after 6pm , probably due to the noise factor but can sneak in a swim after hours. Great that they have a taxi service included to drop and pick up guests to and from the center every half an hour. Not all the staff members are friendly though..but the stay was bearable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    139
    51
    10
    18
See reviews for
14
74
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Unhelpful reception staff. They had a leaflet to see Ang Thong Marine Park on the reception desk through Lomlahk (Lomprayah) which we'd heard good things about and when we asked about booking it and they said they couldn't book it for us as they didn't have a contact. They wouldn't even call for us, so we just went over the road to the (really lovely!) travel agent opposite the hotel and they booked it for us. It was amazing - highly recommended! We paid for a suite which was nice, a bit dark but that is the style. They have free films rolling throughout the day which was a nice touch. It was a shame that the terrace wasn't as private as expected, it was kind of joined to the room next door, the cheaper rooms looked like they had private terraces though. Had to crouch in the shower. The pool was gorgeous and the sunbeds were really comfortable. Seemed very quiet. The hotel in general seemed really empty which was quite nice but lacked any kind of atmosphere. Breakfast was always very quiet, it was usually only just us there and being stared at by the staff was a bit off putting. The food was quite poor. Chaweng town was awful, neon signs, smelly drains and pushy waiters. We moved to Lamai after a couple days which was much nicer but still quite touristy. After a couple weeks on the beautiful islands of Tao and Phangan, we were really disappointed with Samui. I wouldn't ever return to the island but highly recommend the other two!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pool if you don't want to walk up lots of steps. Wasn't an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was really good value for money and was overall satisfactory however our major gripe was that we had chosen this hotel because of its location away from the noise and bustle of Chaweng itself.. how wrong we were! Having already known it was near to the Ice bar and having scanned earlier reviews the only noise problem I saw was that of frogs! Unfortunately we didnt pinpoint the exact cause of the music, even mid week until 4am on some nights but the reception staff appeared a bit vacant and said it was likely to be the Q bar which is infact a big nightclub perched up in the hills directly above the Nova Samui. Fortunately earplugs drowned it out a little but we did not have the restful holiday we had hoped for.
Positives were the airconditioning which was good, breakfast basic but adequate and the free shuttle into the centre. Also although Im quite aware that you get what you pay for, the room and bathroom were not cleaned /replenished very well at all until strangely on our last day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Large rooms with a great view, good service. You can get a massage by the pool. Free taxi service every 1/2h to city center.
No elevator and a lot of stairs to get to the room. A little noisy on the week end because we hear the neigborhood clubs. And avoid the restaurant: empty and sad.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is great value for money. We were informed about our room being 120 steps up which was not a problem at all. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable with balcony. The garden is great with a waterfall when it rains and a large swimming pool. Staff is helpful and friendly. There are a few motorbike rental places opposite the hotel so a perfect place to stay location wise too.

Only downside is that WiFi is a paid service. And it isn't cheap either. Very 2011 so hope this gets changed soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012. Lovely quiet hotel in chaweng about a 5 minute ride to the main centre of chaweng. Lovely pool area and well kept beautiful gardens. Rooms decorated with dark wood which made the room feel a little dark but comfortable enough. Shower was quite basic, shower holder was cracked when we arrived there therefore shower wouldnt stand in the holder. We reported it however couldnt be fixed until the next day therefore had to hold the shower to shower for the first night.
Free hotel shuttle to chaweng centre was useful as we got a taxi back from chaweng centre one night and it was 200 bhat for a 5 minute journey, the transfer from the airport was about 150-200 bhat. Good nightlife in samui, something for everyone.
Helpful and well spoken reception staff, booked our boat transfer to ko phagnan and sorted out shuttle bus to port.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had booked 2 suites and I think for the 3 nights we stayed there it cost us about £25 more per room!! The room was massive with a large sitting room!! The pool area was very relaxing especially after coming from busy patong (Phuket) the reception staff were so helpful and we asked them many questions. They guided us on how to get car hire and the best company. They offer a shuttle car that leaves every half hour drops you off right near chaweng strip, which is very handy but is also a nice 20 minute walk. We also had a lovely Thai massage here very sweet lady. Food is very cheap for a hotel here and as a guest you get a further 10% off everything AMAZING!! We would definitely return back here and highly recommend it for a 3 star hotel!!!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui

Address: 147/3 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novasamui Resort Koh Samui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Koh Samui
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.