We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui

Save Saved
You added NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147/3 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 53 hotels in Bophut
Tipperary
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Spent approx 2 weeks here in May, Arrived around 10 in morning and room was ready and check in available. The hotel grounds were well maintained, the pool and gardens were tended daily. rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and I found the staff very plesant. As everyone else has said, it is not on the beach but only 10 - 15 minute walk. The location ensures that there is no passing traffic of people going through the hotel grounds towards the beach so security was very good unlike some of the hotels on the beach. Short cut to soi green mango where main nightlife - walk on left had side of road towards beach until you reach the first 7 eleven then cross road and take laneway(one way street) and follow for 100 metres and you're there. I had no issues with this hotel and was very happy for money paid.

Room Tip: Our room was in 400 up wards which got sun on balcony in late afternoon and evening. 400 has less st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    137
    51
    10
    16
See reviews for
13
72
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel itself is modern and set in lovely grounds with a large swimming pool. It is about 15 minutes walk from the beach if you choose to walk instead of using the shuttle service. We only found this out because despite booking a shuttle pick up for 5pm from the beach, they forgot to pick us up. When we advised the reception of this they just giggled like naughty teenagers.

I purchased 100 minutes of internet credit for 100 Baht. I had used a few minutes and left the scratch card with my belongings the following morning. When I returned in the evening the maid had thrown the card away. I advised reception of this, they said they would check with the maid in the morning. This was not helpful to me, we were checking out in the morning so I advised there was no point. I was not offered any apology or the 100 Baht returned and instead it was made out as though I was not telling the truth.

The maids did do a good job of cleaning the room daily and we were always given fresh towels.

The only things that are wrong with this hotel are the reception staff and the mattresses. The mattresses that my friend and I slept on were the worst ever. You could feel every spring coil and they are in dire need of replacing. It was probably the most uncomfortable sleep I have ever had. I would have slept on the floor if I had had something to lay down first!

I would not recommend Koh Samui, it's quite frankly Costa Del Thailand. If you are a backpacker, stick with Koh Tao and Koh Phangan unless of course you want to get an STI and a tattoo!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

just back from our stay here for 11 nights.have to say for the price we paid for the rooms it was excellent value.staff are welcoming and very friendly.the cleaning ladies are lovely and look like they never stop working.the hotel is outside the center of chaweng itself but really its only a short walk maybe 10 to 15 mniutes straight into the center also a shuttle bus is available and they organise taxi to airport which we used when leaving to home.i would also recommend getting a thai massage at the pool side the lady who does them is excellent.very much needed after a long haul flight from ireland.its also a very safe hotel.we were looking at some of the other hotels in the center before we came to thailand and we were glad of our choice as the big hotels close to chaweng beach side get a lot of noise and party goers at night time.the hotel also has a mini bar and room service.i got my laundry done in the hotel and it was as cheap as any launderette in chaweng plus they have it left back at you room the next day.rooms are built up on a hill but if you have difficulty walking they also have rooms close to reception on the ground floor.again this isnt a five star hotel but for the price we paid i was very happy.would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We arrived one day early and reception were more than happy to accomodate us with a room and also had the restaurant prepare us a meal, as we got there fairly late and were exhausted from the trip from Phuket.

Fantastic rooms and well kept grounds, definately felt welcomed and couldn't have asked for better customer service.

Spend every night at hotel bar before we would venture off for the night, either by the hotel shuttle or we would walk 5 mins to where the bar area is.

All in all a great place, next time I come to Samui I will probably stay right on the beach, that's all this place lacked!

Room Tip: We had to walk up 80 stairs to our room, we didn't mind though, it burnt off those calories we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murcia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel is not actually in Bophut. Bophut is a 400 baht taxi ride away. It is in Chaweng. It is not near the beach and town, but the hotel supplies a bus that leaves every half hour, and it will pick you up.

Room Tip: We started off in a room at the front of the hotel, but had to move because of the noise of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Hotel itself initially looked very impressive.......however to get to your rooms there is alot of stairs going down not a problem....going back up is exhausting! you will need a shower each time! We had to carry our own cases up although I'm sure if we had asked they would have carried them up. Other downside... they have several ponds and at various times the noise from the frogs was very very deafening..grounds and swimming pool really nice...pool table could do with replacing. Shops/restaurants nearby as well and a 10-15min walk to main part where all the action is. Rooms are very cheap and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panchkula
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Good hotel! Cleanliness and polite staff are the main driving force behind this lovely property which makes it one of the best resorts in Samui. Two large swimming pools whihc are very unique and most of the rooms are equipped with balconies with a view to pools. Really enjoyed our stay. They even provide free shuttle service to main shopping areas of city and Chawng Beach which is plu plus.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui

Address: 147/3 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novasamui Resort Koh Samui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Koh Samui
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.