We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui to your Saves list
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147/3 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

I had a fantastic time at this hotel! I have read several reviews on other sites where people have rated it very low and felt these were unfair.

The staff here were so friendly and were willing to do anything at all you needed.

The rooms were basic but clean. There was enough storage space for cases etc, and you got a safe and mini bar too. The bathroom was fine to, the shower wasn't very strong, but it wasn’t a problem!

With regards to rats in the rooms, i didn't have this problem, but i think being in a country like this it is something you have to be aware may happen!!

The swimming pool was fantastic; it was large and has a waterfall which cascades into it. I spent a lot of time around it, and it was never too busy either. The meals were really lovely and traditionally cooked, and you can order them to eat around the pool too.

I had Thai massage every day down by the pool and again I couldn't fault it.

If you want to be right on the beach or a 5minute walk from the beach then this is not the property for you. They run a free shuttle bus to the beach every 20minutes or something like that, which was fine by us, and in the evening you can catch the shuttle bus into the centre of chaweng which is a 5minute ride away!!

Several people have complained about stray dogs on this hotel site, but they are not strays, they are dogs which have been taken in by the hotel, and live there. There is nothing wrong with them they are clean and looked after, and have had injections etc. They do sit around by the restaurant sometimes, and they have free run of the grounds but they are actually very friendly! This is common practice in many of the hotels and cafes there!

I would really recommend this property as for a 3* it is really good! If you are worried it is too far out, they offer car hire which we did and it was cheap too. We got to see most of the island!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff!
  • Disliked — Bathrooms was quite small!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    139
    51
    10
    18
See reviews for
14
74
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
darlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Fabulous location,staff very friendly and very helpful. Pool cleaned every day and rooms cleaned with fresh towels daily. Very laid back and comfortable.Feeling of family atmosphere with the staff. Only ten minutes to beach,scooters for hire and courtesy bus .Air conditioning excellent and rooms big and airy although the lighting could have been brighter in bedroom.Massive bed very comfortable.

  • Liked — out of the way but near enough to get to main resort
  • Disliked — size and friendliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Arrived at the Nova resort after a short flight from Phuket, where we had stayed at the At Panta Resort.
Received a great welcome at check in and were quickly allocated a room on the first floor overlooking the superbly well kept, beautiful gardens. First impressions of the hotel were reasonable considering what we had paid. After 10 minutes checking out the rooms facilities and balcony, we began to unpack. I opened what I though was a cupboard (it was actually adjacent to the main cupboard) and a rat (YES a RAT stared me in the face!) I closed the cupboard door amazed at what I had seen and then opened the door again - the rat was still there but began to climb up the electrical wires!
I immediately called reception who sent a maintenance guy straight up - of course there was no sign of the rat.
The guy on reception moved us quickly to another room on the ground floor which absolutely stunk of damp. The smell of damp was so intense that you could not stop coughing. The reception then moved us to a third room which was OK.
We did not enjoy our stay at this hotel, but I am sure had we not experienced the above on our first night then our opinion would be more positive.

  • Liked — Leaving it! To be honest the gardens were great
  • Disliked — Its location and it is run down - it is in desperate need of a complete refurb
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winstanley, Lancs, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

Just got back from Koh Samui at the end of February 2007 after a 2 week stay at The Nova Samui Hotel.

It was a good mile from the beach and not ideal for walking. The hotel had a shuttle bus service every 30 mins which ran well, and was driven by very pleasant drivers.

At the hotel we stayed on one of the lower level rooms above the restaurant, so we did not have that many steps to climb, but one of the rooms we were shown at the higher part of the hotel was a good 80 steps up - no lift. Not a recommended hotel for those who are a bit iffy on their feet. The room was clean, light and air conditioned, and came with a safety deposit box, kettle and hair drier. The bed was very comfortable, which is hard to find in hotels these days. The shower was good, with it's own water heater, so you had guaranteed hot water at all times. Decoration was ok. Plenty of electrical sockets around the room as well.

Pool area was ok while we were there, but I would imagine any more than 30 people would cause a bit of congestion. Not ideal for young kiddies either. Pool bar was good, and we had no problems with the service and cost. Fresh beach towels daily. Gardens were superb.

Staff were wonderful and the couple of minor problems we had were dealt with immediately and efficiently. Breakfast was good, but just a little repetative, with eggs (freshly made omlette, scrambled or fried) bacon, sausages, fried bread, beans, rice, potatoes, boiled ham, 2 types of cerial, fresh fruit, Fruit juice, tea and coffee, and 2 toasters for the sliced bread and jam every day for 2 weeks. There was such an array of restaurants in the town centre that we only had one evening meal at the hotel. I would guess that most of the guests ate out as well as it was very rare we saw people in the hotel restaurant. But in saying that the meal we did have was tasty, well served and quick.

If we were going back to Koh Samui I'm afraid we would try and put a bit more to the holiday fund and stay at The Boathouse. We went with Virgin and could not fault their local reps at all. They were superb, and were worth their weight in gold with their assistance at the Airport when we left.

Chaweng Beach area was a little more commercialised than we bargained for, and the traffic was horendous. If we went back to Thailand we would try and stay at one of the islands off Koh Samui, a little more quieter.

Or am I showing my age ?

  • Liked — The comfortable bed and the staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

Rooms not 5 star, but clean, hot water, everyting you need for your holiday. The staff were all excellant, anything you asked for they helped with. Other reviewers seem to have problems with the minibus, but they always ask you what time you want picking up, if you tell them a time, they always picked us up.
We went to Phuket last year and of the two resorts, we prefered Phuket, we stopped in Patong and found the beach and general layout of the resort better.
Just a personal thing, but we found that because we didn't have a hotel on the beach, you had to walk through either another Hotel or restuarant to get to the beach, there only seemed to be a couple of access points and its quite a long beach.
The hotel does take you to a restuarant on the beach that provides sunbeds, but we didn' t always want to sit in the same spot, and did feel as if you had to eat and drink there and it is quite expensive, compared to other restuarants, go to Bob's next door or eat from the beach vendors as we did.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — No pavement on main road
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

lovely hotel, excellent staff, my only reason for not giving 10 out of 10 is that the beach is miles away, but would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guipuzcoa Province, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2006

Room was clean, bathroom needed updating, specially bath sealing where you could see all the dirtiness stuck, not enough water pressure in the shower.
Local dogs in the hotel, even while having breakfast, staff quite friendly but some of them tooooo lazy (we recall a dirty plate from one of the guests being left in the corridor for two days and none collecting it), we were even offered dirty towels in the swimming pool as they had to go to the store room to collect the clean ones.
They offer a free ride to the town and to pick you up, we had to wait most days but one day we were 3 minutes late and were not picked up, the driver smiled in the hotel saying that we had been late....

I could go on, but definetely, I'd avoid it and would try any of the many hotels in Chaweng beach, shouldn't be much more expensive.

  • Liked — Air conditioning of the room
  • Disliked — Staff attitude
  • Tips/Secrets — It does not take 5 minutes waliking to Chaweng beach but at leats 15-20
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui

Address: 147/3 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novasamui Resort Koh Samui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Koh Samui
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.