We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, value-for-money not spot-on..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 177 Hotels in Bophut
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Hotel, value-for-money not spot-on..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A family of 4 after 8 days: overall great, but truely five star?
Plusses: great rooms - connecting doors is great for family life, great pool, outstanding breakfast.
Minuses: reactive and inattentive receptions and concierge staff, skip the restaurants and go to fisherman's village instead.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear camillavirum

Greetings from Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa.

We would like to thank you for taking your time and posting your review on TA. We are glad to read that overall you and your family had a great time.

We would appreciate if you could contact us to share your experience with our reception & concierge team so we could address this with our team.

We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager
(cgerart@anantara.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    231
    81
    29
    15
See reviews for
197
547
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful stay at Anantara resort. The service was brilliant, the location great, the pool fantastic and the food yummy. We enjoyed our yoga class and the spa was extremely relaxing. The gardens were lush and very well kept. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear CatB345

Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your review here on TA and sharing your great experience with us and other readers.

I am pleased to read that you and your family had a fantastic time and enjoyed our hotel, its facilities and of course the service provided by our associates.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family for another relaxing vacation here in our little paradise.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently returned from Koh Samui, Thailand and our first stay at an Anantara property. We only had a week there but at the end of that blissful stay, we felt like we had had a three week vacation. We were so relaxed and our two young daughters had the time of their life too. The property is beautifully laid out with very pretty, lush gardens that are very well-maintained. It is in a fantastic location, right on a clean swimmable beach and next to the local fisherman's village. Our room had a magnificent view across the bay and we would wake up to amazing sunrises and enjoy the sound of the waves lapping below us. The hotel has a contemporary Thai style. What we really enjoyed about it is the "boutique feel" - it is not huge and yet has all of the facilities that you need, from a large pool, to a couple of lovely restaurants (great food), a gym, a STUNNING spa and a kids club that even my 9 year old was happy to go to a couple of times. Staff were very attentive and senior management were always on hand to greet guests during the course of the day. We would definitely return here and happily explore other Ananatara properties around the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear AussiemomLondon

Greetings from Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa.

Thank you so much for such a magnificient review . It makes us all proud to read that we were able to provide you such a fantastic stay and experience to the extend that one week feels like three weeks , which is exaclty what we would aim for.

Your great comments about our facilities and service is highly appreciated and i am very pleased to share with our talents at the Kids club that your youngsters have truly enjoyed their time with them.

We would hope to welcome you back to your nerxt vacation and please feel free to contact us directly if we could be of any assistance.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is original in its design. The novelty of a gong announcing your arrival and being welcomed so hospitably is a novel touch. I have to say that the standard of service and welcoming attitude throughout the hotel from the gardeners to the staff in the restaurants and management is the best I have received anywhere in the world. I would be reluctant to single out anyone as all the staff are excellent. The breakfast selection is varied and delicious. We stayed just over two weeks and it is an ideal location for a relaxing beach holiday.There are plenty of excursions nearby.
Catherine, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Catherine

On behalf of our entire team here at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa we thank you for such a lovely review. It is always great to read that our guests feel touched with all the little details in the resort.

We sincerely hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to ourl ittle paradise.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hotel
Such a beautiful with a great entrance (unlike other hotels I've stayed in on Samui). The grounds are amazing, in keeping with Thai style but nice and modern too. So many staff always tending to the grounds and keeping the place clean. The pool and the swim up bar are amazing, and the service is brilliant. Everyone speaks great English (which is great compared to other places). The only thing is it got quite busy with kids towards the end of our stay, obviously fine if you had kids, but we tended to go to the beach more where it was quieter. They could have made a lot more money from us if they had come over and asked us for drinks, you had to get the staff's attention, or go to the bar or the pool bar. It's a small thing, but think it would be a great pointer for improvement.
Only 2 small things that I wasn't pleased with. 1) We arrived late at night, about 10pm, and the lady who showed us to our room asked if we wanted to pay some extra to upgrade, I said I wasn't sure and maybe we'd look in the morning. We were then pushed to view the better room before ours which I don't think was a great tactic. We didn't go for the upgrade in the end even though the room was a bit bigger, but I didn't like her attitude and approach to it. Wasn't the best greeting to a holiday.
Secondly, despite having free bottled water in your rooms, you have to pay for it round the pool, when adding on service charge and tax, this comes to quite a lot each time you want some water. In my opinion it's outrageous they charged so much for water when you can get it for a quarter of the price at the local shop (which obviously we did). Next door at Hansar Samui where we had friends staying they hand out free bottles of water round the pool and that's much better.
One more thing to note, if you're relatively new in your relationship I wouldn't go for this hotel, the bathroom is completely open, there's a sliding door but not much privacy, fine for us but worth noting!

Location
The location sold it to us, and it's definitely one of the massive pros to this place. You can walk down the beach to other smaller and cheaper restaurants, and are only 2 minutes walk to Fisherman's Village. It's perfect.

Room Tip: We chose a sea view which was definitely nice, The ones nearer to the beach seem the best but think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Becky M

Greetings from Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on TA and sharing your great experience with us and other readers.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed all our facilities and the service provided in the hotel, espeically at our swim up pool bar.

We have made note of your comments and will review them and make the necessary changes in order to enhance your experience for your next visit.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneAustralia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at the resort last year whilst the two main wings were closed for refurbishment. It was interesting to see what they had done to the place and the upgrades to the rooms. We stayed at the end of one of the wings and they made arrangements for one of our sons and his girlfriend to be booked in to the room next door. Last year there was only a skeleton crew on so many of the staff we had no seen for 2 years but they still remembered us.

The newly refurbished rooms have been finished to a high standard, but the thing that stood out to us was the staff, their care, attention to detail and responsiveness to any issues.
We had the lights stop working in our pool, one call and maintenance were there within 5 minutes...fixed. Noticed that the filter didn't start up one day, one call, bang there in 5 minutes fixed. The battery went flat in our room safe and had to get them in to open and change the batteries and open up, they were there in less than 5 minutes. Had room service quite often and the quality of food and service was very good. Excellent breakfast and the staff serving,especially at the eggs station were fantastic. The maid service to our room and attention to detail was very good likewise someone was there each day to keep our pool sparkling clear.

Manish, we will miss you greatly at the resort as GM and the benchmarks that you achieved over time. We missed you by a few weeks, but it was nice to meet you Christian as the new GM and am sure you will continue on the excellent reputation that this resort has achieved. Looking forward to returning again next June for stay No. 7. It doesn't matter if it is the person on traffic duty out the front making sure you cross the road safely, garden staff, room service, bar staff, front desk or food staff or housekeeping they all have the same friendly smile and strive for high service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear MelbTraveller45

Greetings from your" Home away from Home"

What a wonderful review. It is fantastic to read that even after so many visits we still can exceed your expectations in all the areas of the resort.

We would like to apologize for you having encountered some minor issues during your stay in your room however i am pleased to see that our team was very efficient in solving them.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your very complimenting words about our team and the service provided by them. it only keeps them motivated to constantly provide a great service to all our patrons.

We are looking forward to welcome you next year back.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is amazing. Traveled there with my husband for a very special occasion and our travel agent - Explorient Travel Services, Inc. (highly recommended!!) was able to get us an incredible rate for the honeymoon suite. It was fantastic. The rooms are immaculate with a beautiful deep soaker tub. The grounds are so well kept. The restaurant overlooking the Gulf of Thailand was breathtaking. We dined there and could not stop looking at the amazing view. The food was so delicious.

The staff is so friendly. The spa is one of a kind. I've never been to a spa where I get my own 'room' with my own private outdoor bath tub. I loved every minute of my treatments!

It's a short walk to Fisherman's Village where there are shops and other restaurants. Definitely worth the trip.

Definitely check out Explorient too. They were able to get us a great package overall for travel all over Asia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Indeedvacationbad

Greetings from Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

First of all we would like to congratulate you once again to your recent marriage.

Thank you so much for having chosen our little paradise to celebrate your honeymoon and it is even better to read that you had such a fantastic experience and that you took a fond memory of this special occasion.

Our culinary team of the Award Winning signature restaurant "Full Moon" says a big thank you for your complimenting words about the delicious food .

I am pleased to read that your Spa experience was another highlight of your honeymoon .

We would hope to have the pleasure welcoming you to your first, second, third, etc.. anniversary .

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bophut
#9 Family Hotel in Bophut
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Villas in Koh Samui at Anantara Bophut Resort & SpaDiscover this enchanting island and Anantara’s fastidious approach to hospitality from the luxury of you your own private Koh Samui villa. Anantara Bophut Koh Samui has a variety of luxury pool villas to choose from, with each offering exclusive facilities and services including private pools, LCD television, a large bathtub and much more. Whether one or two bedroom, all our luxury villas in Koh Samui are designed to the highest standard, with unique Southern Thai-inspired artwork and the highest quality furniture and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa Ko Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.