We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is an awesome hotel. It gets the balance right - it's small enough to be 'boutique' but has all the features you need. We stayed in a Garden View Junior Suite and it was great. Good sized room (easily big enough to include a rollaway for our 7 year old), massive bathroom and separate dressing / vanity area. The hotel gardens are lovely and the pool area is fantastic. They've designed the Anantara so that whilst there are lots of other people around it never seems to feel busy or crowded. It's an easy 5 minute walk into the fishing village where there are heaps of bars / restaurants. I prefer the vibe of Bo Phut to Chaweng - it's a bit more relaxed, but still has a bit happening. Definitely recommended.

We were there just after New Years and there were quite a few kids around for our daughter to play with. There is also a kids club that looked fine from the door (I tend to just dump and run!).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
We are glad to read you and your family had a great time with us!
Please do drop us a mail when planning your next holidays with us or any other Anantara property, we would be delighted to assist you.

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    282
    101
    31
    18
See reviews for
249
659
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I just left Anantara after 5 wonderful nights here. I really loved it. The grounds are beautiful and well kept, the pool is great, and every member of staff is smiling and friendly. We stayed in a garden view room and it was perfectly suited for our needs. The little touches like fresh fruit in the rooms, flowers on our pillows etc made us feel really welcomed. Would definitely recommend :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
Your kind words and recommendation are the best reward our team’s hard work!
All the small touches are set-up to ensure a memorable and enjoyable stay for our guests.

Once again, thank you very much & we are all looking forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast, australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

On first arrival at The Anantara you feel the smaller boutique vibe. This is not a holiday factory. It can make you a little worried though because you think where is everything, what activities are on offer. Well everything's there, its just not in flashing lights and loudspeakers. But I think thats where the beauty lies. The staff are sincere and very helpful. The food is delicious. The location close to the Fisherman's Village markets and very decent restaurants also holds strong appeal, as you can spend your days wandering about after sitting by the pool without having to get in a car and go anywhere on a proper outing. The room in the new refurbished bit of the hotel was great value for money. We are a family of 5 and took a 2 bedroom suite. It had a kitchen, washing machine, 2 beautiful bathrooms and really elegant decor. The other guests were very nice and we were really happy with our stay.
The only drawback is the spa - although beautiful it is overpriced, not just because you can find cheaper in Thailand but it is overpriced by American/ European/ Australian standards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a detailed review.

We are delighted to read you and your family had a great time with us, and enjoyed the atmosphere of Fisherman Village.
It is true that our Spa can be a bit expensive compared to others, but we have received several international awards, including “Best Resort & Spa” at the World Luxury Awards 2012, and are again nominated for the “World Luxury Hotels Award 2014”.

Do not hesitate to contact us when planning your next holidays!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights over 2014 New Years with three other couples. We booked a deluxe room, which was on the top floor and had been recently renovated. The room was clean and nicely decorated and had a very comfortable bed. Two of the other couples we traveled with booked a Junior Garden view suite, which had a much bigger bathroom. We did however find these rooms to be very dark as they were on the ground floor which allowed very little light to come from the trees in the garden.

The service at this hotel was excellent. We would be greeted everywhere we went, which made the stay extra special.

Breakfast buffet was great and the restaurants served fantastic food.

The hotel is close to the fishermans village which was great for finding restaurants and little shops. Our only negative comment is the beach. We found the sand to be very coarse and sea quite rough. Throughout our stay we saw very few people swimming in the sea. If you are looking for a beautiful beach, then I suggest you stay elsewhere on the island. We travelled down to Lamai Beach during our stay, where we found an idyllic beach and sunshine. We would stay in this part of the island should we return to Koh Samui.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Anantara.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, and for your kind words towards the team!
Glad you and your friends had a good time with us!
Referring to your comments about the beach / sea: this side of the island has been unusually windy throughout the month of December.
The wind has now stopped and the sea just looks like the pictures on our website!

Please do drop us a mail if you come back to Samui, we would be delighted to welcome you back, even for a meal!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was here in 2011. We got very good price in this hotel for about a week. The room is clean and nice. The hotel garden is amazing, its like a botanic garden, the pool is also very good. I am not a pool lover guy, I like more the beach but here I spent more time by the pool with a beach view. The breakfast was amaizing. Everybody was very kind. The hotel is very close to the so called Fischermans village where we could find lot of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for posting a review.
Please do come back and visit us!
We have had a major renovation to upgrade our facilities, but we haven’t touched either the garden or the pool, and the best part is that most of the team is still here!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed on the 25th of december till the 3rd of January room 404 a family of four.

Everything was perfect from the moment we stepped inn till we checked out.

The hotel is really child friendly the staff are exceptional and very caring.

The room was great everything you would expect.

Had a great holiday thankyou Anantara.

Room Tip: Room 404 what a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
We are glad you have had such a great time!
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We wanted a "holiday in the holiday" and chose this hotel. Expensive, but most hotels were for the new years weekend. Many nice e mails in advance, which relly made us feel welcomed. At the in check, calm and nice atmosphere. The room (garden room) was big and all four of us fitted well into the room. A fantastic garden and two verandahs. In the evenings we could sit there and listen to thai music or opera, or the light in the garden pond. During the day a monkey family entertained in the tree tops. Excellent brekafast, there was nothing we missed. Nice bars/restaurants and food. The pool was great, also the beach. The kids joined som of the activities in the kids club, and the adults did a cooking course, very good. Great New Years Gala! And I was told that 270 people worked to give the 300 guest a splendid experience. All hotels workers were so sweet and nice. Five days stay, and we did not want to go anywhere else. Highly recomended if you want to spend some money on being spoiled. We have great memories from the stay at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Garden room, actually good as it was withdrawn from the beach where it can be windy. They also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our resort.
Our top priority is our guests satisfaction: we want them all to leave the resort with happy memories, therefore we are delighted to read that everybody in your family has enjoyed the activities offered, from the children at the Kids Club, to the adults.
Thank you also for your recommendation!
Do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance planning your next trip to Samui or any other Anantara properties.

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bophut
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#9 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 Family Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa Ko Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.