We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding on the resort and 2wk Holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Wedding on the resort and 2wk Holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had 2 week stay and wedding on this resort on 14 Aug. So we altogether had 42 guests staying on the resort more than 10 days for wedding. We a dream wedding and fantastic stay here. Hotel staffs from GM, restaurant manager all the way to gardeners were so nice. There are few nice resorts in Koh Samui but what special here is service. I do not think; you can beat this resort from service to any other I have ever stayed.

We have to thank specially, our wedding planner Ms. Air for everything; she took care of us like family.

This is the place to stay in koh samui!

Room Tip: Any room is fine (this depends on the budget)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for such a lovely feedback. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the wedding and moreover the service provided by the team at Anantara.
We look forward to welcome you back at our paradise to celebrate your anniversary.

Regards
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    282
    101
    31
    18
See reviews for
249
659
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Took ages to decide to stay here or at Chaweng - in the end we did both. We stayed here for about 5 nights and it was great.

It's about a 10 minute walk to "fishermans village" which was a nice enough area with restaurants etc, was a fair bit quieter than Chaweng in the end.

Hotel was good, we ate in the restaurants which were good albeit expensive in Thai terms. Taxi to Chaweng was a flat rate of about 300 Baht ($10 AUD).

Pool was nice, drinks and food good. Beach was not very nice, the sand was reall gravelly and there was a bit of rubbish along the beach, so we spent a lot of time by the pool.

I am 29 and am glad we ended up spending time here AND at Chaweng because it did get a little boring here but the resort, hotel etc was really nice.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We all at Anantara Bophut are glad to know that we have been successful in making your stay a memorable one. Your comments have been shared with our all our staff members which helps them motivated and offer 5 star standards. Just to share some information with the readers. Our pool has been awarded as the “World Most Amazing Pools”.
We hope that you would offer us the opportunity to serve you again in future.

Regards
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed for a week here with my wife and 22 month old daughter, had a fantastic time. Had an Anantara Suite which was perfect, really huge room/living room, big balcony (tip: ask for ground floor as you get a bigger balcony, and much easier if you need to make frequent trips to/from the pool throughout the day + much safer with a toddler). Absolutely huge bath tub comfortably fit the 3 of us in there, and the whole package was excellent value compared with other places.

The grounds are really nice, lovely gardens/plants makes things feel a lot more private than those big open courtyards you see at other places. Pool is excellent but didn't look like you'd have much luck if you wanted to get a lounger in the afternoon....the beach is excellent quality. Used the gym pretty much every day, has some good lifefitness machines, weights etc.. Breakfast buffet was good.

Have to mention the staff, they were absolutely FANTASTIC... everyone from the receptionist to the gardener would always stop, smile and say good morning etc.. Really welcoming and top notch Thai hospitality that you don't see anywhere else. There were a few issues on the language front, and some messups here and there, but the Thai staff are really such lovely people that it's hard to complain.

The reason I put this as 4 stars and not 5 is that there were quite a few issues, that each in and of themselves were not a problem, but once added up became quite frustrating. Ordered room service, the same dish on different days was made completely differently... the bill at the restaurant was messed up a couple times... sevice could be very slow by the pool.... booked a Thai boxing instructor only to turn up at the desk and be told they had no record of my booking.... Upon checking in the receptionist informed me that I needed to email them the booking email (uh.... why?).... the 'kids' facilities were also definitely an afterthought... the 'kids pool' is just a jacuzzi with the bubbles turned off... the 'playground' is just a patch of grass by the lobby that they've tossed a few plastic toys on to.... and the 'kids club' is a 200 sqft room with toys/tv which couldn't accommodate more than half a dozen kids.... it's good that they've tried on this front but they could do much better i think. Spa is ludicrously overpriced when you can get a massage on the beach for THB300 (USD10).

Having said that, I would absolutely recommend this place to a family. The location is also very convenient, you're just a 5 minute walk into fisherman's village for dinner/drinks, but at the same time you're not totally in the thick of things. The thai restauarant food was very good... and in actual fact, not that much more expensive than restaurants down the road (drinks are overpriced though, like any hotel). I read on some other reviews people complaining about mosquito's etc... We never found that to be an issue (and frankly, if you have a problem with insects, then maybe holidaying on an island in tropical south-east asia isn't a particularly good place to start!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for the review which is a great tool of motivation for our team. I appreciate your acknowledgement towards the efforts that we try to make for every guest during their stay with us. Guest satisfaction is always on our priority. We are also glad that you liked the resort and staff which is the essence of Anantara Bophut.

Apology for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with room service and booking the Thai Boxing class. We are re working on the Kid’s club. The outside play area for the kid’s will be upgraded by beginning of September and we will have more kid’s activity in near future.

Your comments both positive and negative help us improve as well as keeps us motivated in this competitive world. We hope you would give us many more opportunities to serve you our best.

Regards
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a last minute trip booked from Zuji site and we were not expecting much but hopeful for some peaceful break from city.
It was drizzling when we touched down that night & we were not the least worried about not getting a transfer to the hotel, like i do a couple of years back. This time round, I arranged for the transfer with Anantara. We were welcomed with a Merc E200 and you must have thought I paid a bomb for it. 1000Baht is all I paid, for a one way transfer.
We were excited about signing up for the Yoga session the next morning but the driver couldnt quite understand us. However, when we reached Anantara, the staff that showed us the way to our room briefed us through the activities that they have in the day, the way to the dining areas etc.
There's fruit carving, thai cooking sessions that you can opt to participate.
We met Mr Kul who was rather attentive to our requests or enquiries. Very helpful. Thanks!
Not to be miss is the highly rated Spa at Anantara. Totally like the ambience, even without the spa! Nap on the hammock, listen to the birds chirping away, reading your favourite novel...
There's free Wifi at the lobby and a cozy room for reading and logging on to internet.
I spent much time by the pool, reading, snacking & boozing. Pizza from the cafe is good. Portion for other for other main courses is rather small. Sometimes the staff comes by to giveaway free watermelon.
The massage on the beach, beside Anantara is to go for too! For the $ that you are paying and enjoying the sea breeze with massage on the beach, it's value for $.
Fisherman village is very happening on Friday nights. Many local stuffs like Virgin Coconut Massage Oil, accessories made of coconut husk etc on sale. Prefer Fisherman Village to Chaweng.
Was rather quiet at Chaweng on a Saturday, perhaps it wasnt the peak season? Lobster & other seafood is more reasonably priced at Fisherman Village.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great service. Very comfortable suites.
Beautiful place. Excellent location. Good food.
Like heaven on earth

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. Entire team is glad to read that your stay was a memorable one.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back!

Regards
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulham, London , UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Just got back from a twin hotel holiday in Koh Samui , first staying at the Anantara Resort , Bophut Beach 7 nights and then onto the Anantara Lawana Resort , Chaweng Beach for 7 nights.

This review I will just talk about Anantara Resort Bophut Beach , As they say you get for what you paid for.
The Anantara was superb from moment we stepped off the plane and jumped into the Anantara 4x4 that picked us up and dropped us off.
We were greeted by the Hotel Manager as arrived and then were whisked away to our one Bedroom Beachfront Pool Villa.Absolute luxury are words I wouldn't give away lightly but this property was amazing , from the great bathroom with twin showers , inside and outdoor to the whirlpool bath and the walkin dressing robe area.

The bedroom/reception area was just sensational and you looked out onto your own private pool area and across the gardens to the golden sands of Bophut and Koh Phanghan in the distance.

The nightly turndown service was Wow which included he staff running a flower filled bath every night for us.

The grounds were big manicured gardens and staff are friendly in the service areas but best of all is the Anantara Spa which is opulence at it's best .

I had various pampering treatments over the week , but I saved the best to last having a luxury honey filled soaked sunken bath and then finished off with wonderful swedish massage which had me relaxed like I had had a good 24 hours slumber.

I also like that the Fishermans Village is only a leisurely 5 min walkaway which allows you to enjoy the community experience of Koh Samui.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for the review which is a great tool of motivation for our team. I remember personally speaking to you and I appreciate your acknowledgement towards the efforts that we try to make for every guest during their stay with us. Guest satisfaction is always on our priority. We are also glad that you liked the resort, food and staff which is the essence of Anantara Bophut.

Regards
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bombay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here over Christmas last year and came back this year for a couple of nights....we split our stay between the newly opened W and this hotel. As expected it was outstanding. The service is impeccable and the rooms are really lovely. the Anantara Suite was excellent and very large. This hotel has the perfect location. It is away from the madness of Chaweng but a short drive away for the people interested. No complains at all !

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are very glad that you had a memorable stay with us once again. We appreciate you loyalty towards our resort and hope to welcome you once again soon.

Regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bophut
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#9 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 Family Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa Ko Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.