We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated But Clean Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175/3 Thaveerat-Pakdee Road, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 52 hotels in Bophut
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dated But Clean Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Its a good property if your doing a family vacation and choose not to leave the resort. The beach is very small and ordinary, there is lots of weeds in the water and its a sharp incline, so not very friendly to swim in. Everything around the hotel shuts by 9.30pm. The pool is excellent and they have 2. The room are dated and could do with some refurbishing and definitely should offer free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear NachiketShetye
Thank you very much for your personal comment about your recent stay at Palm Beach Resort.
Great to see that you consider us as a good family resort.
As you have been visiting Samui during its rainy season (Nov-Dec) you did not have the chance to fully enjoy our nice beach. At this time of the year the sea level can be high and wind direction as well as a waves are bringing this weeds to our shores. Best season to travel are the first 9 months of the year where the sea is clear and beaches clean as expected.
The same counts for the small businesses around the hotel. Some are closed or close earlier as they have less business and use this time of the year to relax a bit before the season starts again.
As you may remember our WIFI is operated and owned by Cyberpoint. therefore we are only able to offer free access at our Lobby Lounge and Restaurant area. May be able to change this in the near future...
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future during a time you can fully enjoy Samui's great beaches.
Once again thank you very much for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    96
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
36
100
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the location. Walking distance to Fishermans village and right on the beach. Expectations were high.

The cons:
Sadly these expectations came crashing to earth the minute we entered the room. We stayed in the older part of the hotel which is in drastic need of up updating. The rooms are large but very tired and outdated. The drapes seem to date back to the 70's as does the square box tv. The shower/bath area is also old and worn down.
The most unpleasant issues are the dozens of squashed Mozzies that previous guests have killed over all the tiles and mirrors and the moldy paint work on the walls ( and resulting smell). Hotel management 101 really!
Most of the hotel staff can not communicate in English (not a major issue) which can be a little frustrating when trying to explain the mold etc.
The bar staff (by the pool) are by far a major problem. The service industry relies on friendly interaction but sadly, these guys make the whole bar service really dire. No thanks, no smiles and just plainly uninterested.

The hotel does offer wifi but they have a strange system where the free wifi is in the lobby area but if in room wifi is wanted then a plan needs to be purchased. However this plan only works on one device at a time so if two people want to surf then it's 2 plans that need to be bought...come on guys, this is 2013!!

Mosquitos ! Sadly my wife was once affected by dengue and ever since we have researched the ways to prevent this. This hotel NEEDS to address this . There is water laying around in the (public) bathrooms that is clearly breeding Mozzies. We mentioned this several times but no actions were taken. Fogging is carried out but not in a manner that is addressing the problem. Trust me, you DO NOT want dengue
We also haven't had out room cleaned for 4 days- when I asked why, I was told that the sheets and towels were "finished" :/

The Pros:
Famous saying of location, location, location! Ideally situated right on the beach and 20 mins walk to fishermans.
Fantastic pool area with numerous beds and space (just a shame to towel brigade "claim" chairs at the crack of dawn)
Good sized pools (2)
The breakfast buffet has a good selection and a different Thai option daily.
We ate in the evening in the main restaurant and the food was outstanding! Try the chicken with basil and chilli but put the loo paper in the fridge for the next morning :) it's spicy

Based on my stay (I'm still there as I write this) , I think this place could be excellent! A few tweaks are needed plus some room upgrades and the location will do the rest.
It's a shame to see such a fabulous exterior go to waste.

Room Tip: stay away from the older wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear jetlagged3
Thank you very much for your personal comment about your stay at Samui Palm Beach.
We do understand and are aware about your negative comments you mentioned.
We are actively working on more staff training in language and service improvements.

It is correct that we offering free internet access at our Lobby Lounge and Restaurant area only. The system used does belong to an outside company who provided all settings. As the system is not manages by ourselves we have to follow their guidelines and are not able to change the access for more devices.
It is a known problem that during this period of the year more mosquitoes are around. Staff is advised to spray in rooms to keep it under control as good as possible.
I am not pleased to see that there has been an issue with linen but am aware of this and necessary action has been taken.
I am glad to see that you did like the location, pool area and quality of our offers at the restaurant!
We are currently working on an up-grade program for the full resort to offer higher standards. Some has been done over the past few months and more will come soon.

However I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Samui Palm Beach for your holiday and we all would be pleased to welcome you back...

Happy New Year...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Been here less than 24 hours and really wish I had booked elsewhere. The place is so dated and with the fading paint the staff morale has faded too. Check in was below average. Staff look like they are bored senseless and have somewhere better to be. Service is terrible. I've been sitting at the outdoor restaurant for 20 minutes and still had to ask for a menu. Not a smile in sight. How sad

Room Tip: The best rooms will be those found in other establishments
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear GJinHK
Thank you very much for your personal comments about your stay at Palm Beach Resort!
We regret to see that you could not post any positive comment but hope that you enjoyed your stay on Samui.
However we would like to thank you for staying with us during this full period and wish you all the best in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a great stay here & I would definitely come back. It seemed that this resort has the potential to be even a five star hotel or used to be but is now needing some renovations. However, the service was great, the rooms were very comfortable (especially compared to our other stay at the Chaweng Garden Resort) & the resort's location is beautiful.

Room Tip: I would not pay extra for the royal wing. We were traveling with others who payed for this section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Sharona819
Thank you very much for your personal comments about your recent stay with us at Palm Beach Resort.
We are glad to see that you did like your stay and would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.
Palm Beach has not been a 5-Star so far and too much would have to be changed to become a 5-Star resort :-)
However we are currently working on a upgrading program in rooms and all public areas.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and we really enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were very spacious and clean. We had the room cleaned every day and the towels changed too. The breakfast was perfect with a lot of different kind of foods. The swimming pool was clean, but i think they have three of them but we only used the one by the beach. The only thing i would like to mention is if you stay there it's better to rent a scooter or a car because there is only a few things close by, but the hotel is beautiful. I would recommend it for any type of stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Gabor C
Thank you very much for your comment about your experience at Palm Beach Resort and giving us this great feedback.
Renting a scooter is a great way to see the Island for all who feel comfortable driving it on Thai-Streets:-)
We are glad to see that you fully enjoyed your stay as well as our offers and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in August for 10 days with a party of 10 after staying in Dustin Thani Bangkok which is 5 star luxury. Booked it as a 4 star and there is no way it's even a 3 star!
The pool area is nice as shown in the pictures but the rooms are awful. Dirty, old & worn out with no attention to detail of any sort. Worn out towels, dreadful crockery etc in buffet. Paint on curtains, burns in bed, moldy shower & bath & these were superior rooms.
Asked to change hotel but could not be accommodated anywhere else as big party.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Katiee2012
Thank you very much for your feedback about you stay at Palm Beach Resort.
It is correct that some elevators are out of order. The management has decided to close them as a safety check needs to be carried out what will take some time to get a company looking at it as not available on Samui. This is a request by international safety requirements for the travel industry.
I am not pleased to see the other points as our staff usually delivers the suitcases to the rooms.
The room booked was a double room where some room offering two single beds (next to each other) and some a king size bed. I have followed up and in your case our reservation did not get the information about requested single beds.
We clearly suggest keeping any values in the free safety box and not in the room. Minibar is usually not paid to the maid and there may be a misunderstanding in placing money. An international sign for tip is placing the money on the bed. Maids are not supposed to take any money anywhere else in the room.
Regarding the missed pick-up from our shuttle bus I apologies for this mistake of our driver as he did not get this information that you booked a return.
Communication can be difficult an we are aware that the level of English could be better and do all we can to improve.

However we would like to thank one once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Andrews
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We had travelled for over a dayvto get to Thailand and arrived tired and wanting bed. We had to carry our suitcases up the flights of stairs because the elevator was out of order and was out of order our whole trip. Our room was okay. Our beds were suppose to be single beds but turned out to be a double bed with a seprator in the middle. There was hairs in our sink and bath tub. I'm assuming it's the fire alarm it was hanging down by wires and cracks in the wall. Breakfast was from 6 am to 10.30am I personally think it should be on later. We had trouble communicating with the reception. We had gone into the city and paid for a return but the bus man didnt pick us up or another couple of girls so we all had to pay for a taxi back! Then we had taken drinks out of the mini bar. So i didnt forget to pay later i left money and when i came back it was gone. So i asked the reception that it was paid for and they said yes. When we left they tried to charge us for that drink which i flat out refused to. So he phoned the 'cleaner' and she pretended she didnt take the money! On top of that there was a 10% service charge. Seriously. I personally wouldn't come back. Nice place perfect for the beach but will not come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Katiee2012
Thank you very much for your feedback about you stay at Palm Beach Resort.
It is correct that some elevators are out of order. The management has decided to close them as a safety check needs to be carried out what will take some time to get a company looking at it as not available on Samui. This is a request by international safety requirements for the travel industry.
I am not pleased to see the other points as our staff usually delivers the suitcases to the rooms.
The room booked was a double room where some room offering two single beds (next to each other) and some a king size bed. I have followed up and in your case our reservation did not get the information about requested single beds.
We clearly suggest keeping any values in the free safety box and not in the room. Minibar is usually not paid to the maid and there may be a misunderstanding in placing money. An international sign for tip is placing the money on the bed. Maids are not supposed to take any money anywhere else in the room.
Regarding the missed pick-up from our shuttle bus I apologies for this mistake of our driver as he did not get this information that you booked a return.
Communication can be difficult an we are aware that the level of English could be better and do all we can to improve.

However we would like to thank one once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 175/3 Thaveerat-Pakdee Road, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#30 Business Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Palm Beach Resort is located just 15 minutes from the airport on Bophut beach on the north of the island. With stunning views of Koh Phangan Island our beach is one of the most beautiful settings you will ever encounter. At 270 meters, it is the longest beach-front of any resort on the island. There are a total of 148 rooms, separated to 2 wings. Hotel Wing has 78 rooms with own terrace and balcony. Royal Wing has 70 rooms with own terrace and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Palm Beach Hotel Bophut
Samui Palm Beach Resort And Hotel
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.