We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, romantic hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel to your Saves list
Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 Reviews
new york city
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A beautiful, romantic hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We debated which resort to book and wow, were we glad we chose Tongsai Bay. The property is beautiful and our villa was a dream.

It seemed to be a bit quiet overall at the resort, which was a bonus. (We were there in late June.)

You can see from the photos that the villa is lovely, romantic, and private. Everything was perfectly clean. The bed was very comfortable.

The property has two pools: there is a big one beachside for families; there is one slightly removed that is for adults only, which we very much appreciated.

The breakfast buffet was spectacular.

We had beachside massages, which are given in an open-air covered deck. The quality was great.

We rented a moped one day and ventured down to Changwen and boy, were we glad we hadn’t booked a hotel there. We are adults and Changwen definitely seemed to be the MTV party locale for twenty-somethings. Bophut is definitely more quiet and low-key.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Tongsai Bay to anyone. It was fantastic!

A note: the mosquitos are quite aggressive at dusk and during the night: bring repellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    170
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
191
781
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I have just returned from a two week stay in this hotel and can't recommend it strongly enough. Not only is it a beautiful spot in it's own private bay the staff can not do enough to please. It took me a few days to adjust to the level of service offered as they will even take your breakfast plate from you as you walk back to your table. No member of staff ever walks past you without a smile and a greeting and it really does make a difference. You will always get a sun bed next to the pool however late you get up even when the hotel is full.
There seem to be a full range of nationalities staying at the hotel with no one nationality dominating.The hotel seems to have catered for all tastes in terms of the food. You can have porridge, sushi or noodles for breakfast for example.
The hotel is full of wildlife. Loads of birds, frogs at night, tons of butterflies and a number of lizards - some of which are huge. I really couldn't fault this hotel.
We took our two children aged 10 and 12 and I was a bit concerned it would be too sleepy for them but actually they were very happy as there were lots of other kids. Equally however I would recommend this as a honeymoon destination as there are loads of quiet romantic spots.
The food was superb quality and the cocktails were great. The entertainment was well selected and not at all cheesy. I would recommend the fire show and the movie on the beach night.
My tip for a good stay would be to hire a car for the week. The hotel is rather isolated so you can't really walk anywhere. With a car you can find beaches with no-one on which really are not to be missed. Make sure you go to the other side of the island to watch the sunset. We also went Elephant trecking and went to the zoo. Lots of the reviews on trip adviser advise not to go to either of these places. We went to look at the elephants at the end of the day and discovered that they live in the village with the villagers and had loads of space to roam around so that satisfied us. We got to the zoo early so could see all the animals playing before it got hot. The enclosures are small but it seems like the cats are totally domesticated as the baby tiger was very lively playing in his enclosure before sitting on my daughter's lap to be bottle fed. Great island for a family holiday and a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Just completed a 5 days stay at Tongsai bay for our a special occasion. Having stayed at Zazen Boutique last year, I have a pretty good base for comparison. The driver was 10mins late to pick us up from the airport as we previously arranged with front desk. Not a good start.

The room

Originally, I had booked a beachfront room and was upgraded to cottage. They never mentioned the upgrade upon checkin, just took us to the room. If it wasn't for the upgrade, this would have probably been a 3* review. At 1300+ eur for 5 nights, I felt it was way too much for the most basic room. The cottage wasn't really anything wow or special. Not really spacious and I have been in 3* airport hotels with better beds. Bathroom had a single window, no natural light and not much air to breathe. The shower was ridiculously low quality for a 5* hotel. There was a nice outdoor bathtub we did not use due to healthy concerns. Granted, the view was great but that's it! We were in 303 which involved about 10-15 steps but there were cottages that required 5-6x that amount. BEWARE if you have mobility concerns or request low level cottage, if you decide to go for one. The cottage was about 3-4 mins walking to front desk so we rarely had to call a buggy but they were pretty prompt when we had to call one.

The staff

We were really let down by pretty by most of the staff. Especially the male servers during breakfast and lunch at the bistro. They were all grumpy, unfriendly, not smiling and it was necessary to wave to get their attention. The ladies were a bit better. And at the end you get smacked with mandatory 10% service charge. Nobody to complain too. Nobody asked if everything is okay. The front desk were friendly and professional, but thats it. Housekeeping did a good job as sell. The people we had to interact most did not. Management was nowhere to be seen, even at checkout nobody asked about our stay. Huge disappointment.

The food

One of the reasons we come to Thailand. The food! The thai food was DISGRACEFUL both at the beach bistro and Chef's fancy restaurant. It is a shame to be boiled Tom Yum commercially available paste as a soup in Thailand. Not to mention the cost of it! No galangal, no lemongrass, just boiled paste, 3-4 pieces of chicken and 2-3 pieces of mushroom. That.was.it! I was so disappointed with the three meals we had during first day and a half, that we never ordered any food. Extremely overpriced and flat out horrible!

We booked their private car /taxi/ for 300 baht roundtrip to Choengmon (5min drive) and ate at one of the many (not so fancy) restaurants for a fraction of the price, galactic difference in taste and a world apart different service! I highly recommend Orchid restaurant (look it up). Even with the taxi cost, the meals we had turned out cheaper! At day 4, I rented a bike from the front desk for 350 baht per day and we used it to go out for two lunches and a dinner. It takes 5 mins from the hotel.

The beach

Is really good! Much better than anywhere else I have been in Koh Samui. Granted, there is no fine sand and it is rather grainy, but the water was clean and perfectly swimmable.
I really appreciated the adults only pool as the other one was a small zoo. They provide ice water, cold towels and a piece of fruit.

Overall

Consider this a 3* review. I am not slamming them only because they had the courtesy of upgrading us, else I would have felt even more disappointed. Having stayed at Zazen last year, which granted does not have their bay views and beach, excelled in all other aspects. And it was cheaper.

Tongsai wants to be in the upscale market, but they have failed pretty much on all aspects. To each of his own, but this is a really overpriced 4* property run by 3* management. I would not recommend nor return to Tongsai bay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Enjoyed a relaxing 6 nights at the resort. We stayed in the spacious Beachfront Suites which are very convenient for the pools, beach and main bar. It is quite a trek to many of the cottages and villas but the staff are very willing to give you lifts in the electric buggies. Staff were all particularly friendly and helpful. The food was excellent in all the restaurants - the two most popular are the beachfront restaurant and the Thai restaurant (Chef Choms) in the main building, which was also where the extensive breakfast buffet was served. Hard to understand why the tapas restaurant (Butler’s) was not more popular since we loved the food there. Great to have a 3 hour “happy hour” (5-7pm and then 10-11pm) when drinks are half price. Very handy for all the nightlife in Chaweng (10 min taxi ride). Overall, an excellent resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed in a Tongsai Grand Villa which lived up to its title, the accommodation and views were spectacular. If you wish to completely relax in a superb setting then we would highly recommend Tongsai Bay. The staff are excellent, from the house staff, to restaurant staff, to management, nothing is too much trouble with fantastic attention to detail. In summary we had a wonderful experience at Tongsai, surrounded by beautiful scenery in an unspoiled setting and staff that were second to none.

Room Tip: There is a wide range of accommodation at Tongsai, have a look at the range before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

In one word: "Heaven".
In three words: "Heaven on Earth".

In few more words:

This is our third trip to Thailand, mainly Samui and Phangan. We always liked small hotels, where after a short while you already know everyone and get this "homey" feeling far from home. That's why had some doubts regarding Tongsai Bay, it's not a huge hotel, but not a small one at all. We feared that we'll be getting an industrial, fake experience, far from the well-known Thai hospitality. But boy, all the fears and doubts went away the second we entered the lobby.

Everyone, and I mean everyone - The waiters, the front-desk team, the gardeners, the buggy riders, the cleaning ladies, the maintenance guys and the pool guys and of course the management - Everyone here makes you feel welcomed, feel at home. They are "God's" little Angels making this Heaven on Earth real. All with a great mixture of Thai and British manners.

The rooms are luxurious, specious, clean as a whistle and maintained to the highest standards. Well decorated in a way that infuse all your senses. Beautiful flowers, exotic fruits and intoxicating smell that’s follows you everywhere you go. The rooms are very well equipped (even small things like having plenty of AC outlets to make your life easier). The view from our room was breathtaking, blending with the sounds of waves, birds and insects into a perfect tranquility. Also important to note that we've traveled with a 1 year old, and the crib the hotel gave us was absolutely amazing – safe, comfortable and beautiful.

The beach is like a dream. A beautiful postcard. Shiny blue sea, white grainy sand and a wild green nature wherever you look. The staff keep it clean and pay attention to the guests needs from towels and tanning beds to cold water and treats like fresh fruits and refreshing cold towels to keep you happy . The pool has a unique design that blends with the surrounding nature – the beach, sea, rocks and forest. We found the shaded areas in the pool very helpful to hide for a little while from the hot Thai sun.

The nature and gardens of Trees, flowers, grass and various fields are all perfectly maintained and gives you a true feeling of nature all around you. All pavements and paths are beautifully maintained and blends right in with the nature.

Never dined in Thailand and enjoyed it like we enjoyed the food and drinks at Tongsai Bay. When you enter the breakfast area you're welcomed with a smile and a colorful picture of on-the-spot cut fruits, ridiculous variety of breads, salads, eggs, muesli, nuts and dried fruits, on-the-spot made waffles are few of the vast breakfast options which will make any food lover smile for a long while. Lunch and Dinner falls not far from breakfast, we loved every dish we tried, from Thai to European cuisines. The guys here believe at freshness and you can taste it!

In a bit lesser words:
God is in the small details, and lives in a peaceful luxurious heaven called The Tongsai Bay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

PROS:

*Ocean Front Pool Villa resembles a little dream home - spacious, cozy, and spotless

*Staff are happy, hard-working, and accommodating (mainly at breakfast.) Nearly a year since our first stay and we were still remembered by many

*Good breakfast and nice dinner at Chef Chom's

*Still my favorite hotel in Samui and probably at all

*Family friendly yet suitable for couples


CONS:

*It's very dark at night, the grounds could use more light. Fairy lights around the upper restaurant would be especially nice and desired

*No shuttle bus into town

*We happened to get a villa with (fire) ant nests under the deck so I left with about fifteen bites. They would come up through the deck and the cracks in the steps leading to the pool which was very bothersome. I also found that there was some ant problem on the tables in the restaurant as well

*The pool is absolutely freezing without the sun out

Room Tip: Choose a villa. Ocean Front Pool Villa is your dream accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.