We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
You added The Tongsai Bay to your Saves list
The Tongsai Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Bophut
Newtownabbey, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My new wife and I spent 10 days here in June 2014 for our honeymoon. We'd spent the previous 8 months watching all the new fantastic reviews get added so had big expectations before arriving, and thankfully we weren't disappointed.

After 14 months of hectic wedding planning the Tongsai Bay was a perfect place to go and relax; so much so that we didn't leave the hotel for the first 3 days.

We had booked a Seafront Cottage and the hotel put us up in cottage 214. I would say that this is the farthest cottage away from the lobby, apart from the more expensive Hideaway Cottage. Being a newly married couple the more isolated location didn't bother us (if you get my drift!) but it might be something for some prospective guests to consider. Even with a buggy to and from the hotel facilities, there are still some steps to walk before reaching the room. The view from the room though was fantastic, and it was so quiet out there, other than noises from wildlife outside which didn't really bother us. As mentioned in previous reviews the interior of the cottages consists of lots of dark wood, but this ties in perfectly with the look and style of the hotel. It's obvious from other reviews and photos that this is not an ultra contemporary hotel, and we were happier for that. It's by no means old and decrepit. Instead my wife and I found the cottage and rest of the hotel amenities exuded warmth and tranquility. The cottage was always really clean and the staff were always friendly and courteous when cleaning and turning down in the evening. The only tiny negative about our room, and I mean tiny, was that the veranda was fully shaded by 1pm. We still had our choice of loungers round the pools and at the beach when we still wanted some afternoon sun.

Breakfast was very tasty with decent variety of foods available. If anyone has the recipe for the breakfast smoothie that had carrots in it, please message me lol I can't remember what else was in it and want to make my own :(

We ate in all three restaurants and whilst all three were very tasty, my wife and I preferred Butlers tapas over the other two. Chef Choms was actually our least favourite. The hotel also put on a cinema night one evening on the beach. We sat on large bean bags enjoying the film with a free bag of popcorn each. There were lightning storms lighting up the sky in the distance which added to the evening enjoyment. Unfortunately the BBQ night was cancelled the week we were there and we'd been looking forward to that :(

My wife and I used the gym a few times during rain showers and it was well equipped with modern machinery and free bottled water. We also had a free massage at the spa as part of our hotel package, but we also went back a couple of times for other treatments. The setting for it was lovely amongst the trees, the costs were perhaps a third cheaper than what we might pay at a smart UK spa and the treatments themselves were nice, albeit maybe a bit average.

We utilized the taxi company a few times who were employed by the hotel. We found the fare to be similar to a local private hire taxi company in the UK. We always arranged a return time for collection and the taxis always turned up on time.

Free wifi pretty much everywhere on the hotel grounds was great when we needed it and it was quick enough for video calls, streaming etc.

As mentioned on other reviews, the staff were what really makes this hotel stand head and shoulders above other places. We didn't meet one staff member who didn't greet us with a smile and a warm welcome. Everyone without exception went out of their way to make us feel special. My wife and I want to thank everyone in the hotel for that and hope this gets back to them.

We have some amazing memories from our stay here and we'll never forget this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

having stayed at the Tongsai Bay 3 time i must say it really is the most wonderfull place we have ever stayed at . It is amazing all around and we will surely go back there.

Rooms are excellent, restaurants great, but best of all is the staff , really go good, nice and happy, they really make your stay a dream.

Kids already asking for us to go back in 2015, witch i wouldnt rule out.

Room Tip: all rooms are great, but we do like the split level cottages if you travel as a family of 4. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Having stayed at Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel in '11, we returned for another vacation here in July 2014, and we were not disappointed!

The Tongsai Bay features a great location, where they have created a superb resort with fine respect for the nature. It is truly a fantastic resort with exceptional individual service from the staff.

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children (1 and 5 years old) stayed in a Cottage Suite - room # 236 - a 2-level suite of about 80 sqm. The suite features a living room with sofa, TV, dinning area and also bath room at the ground floor. At the top floor there is a large bedroom and large bathroom along with the lovely open-air balcony with “bath-with-a-view (see photos).

The room is on the hillside overlooking the sea and is a 1-minute walk among coconut trees and tropical garden from the swimming pool, beach and the Po-Lad Beach Bistro & Bar.

The private beach of Tongsai is peaceful and never gets crowded. The hotel offers a number of different water sports; like kayaks, sailboats, windsurfers and paddle board. All free of charge and in the line with there respect for nature no motorised water sports are available or allowed. Please note that the beach slopes quite steeply into the sea, so within a few meters the water is deep.

The hotel features 3 restaurants. Chef Chom’s at the main reception area serves fine Thai cuisine. Butler's Dinner is a new restaurant open 3 nights a week, and offers a Tapas menu. Last but not least is the Po-Lad Beach Bistro & Bar at the beachfront. During the day they serve Thai and Western dishes, and in the evening the restaurant is quite a romantic gourmet restaurant. The Po-Lad Beach Bistro & Bar has a weekly and fantastic BBQ, and some nights entertainment there. Don't miss out on the beach bar @ Po.Lad, where they offer happy hours daily and you can enjoy your drinks as you watch the sunset.

All restaurant are truly great with fair pricing. The fact that you will find 3 different restaurant within the resort meant that we had 7 of 9 evening dinners at the Tongsai restaurants.

The breakfast - served at the Chef Chom’s restaurant - is second to none. Absolutely fantastic! A large selection of fresh fruit, pancakes, croissants, chocolate croissants, donuts, danish, various juices and of course omelets or scrambled egg made to you as you want it. They also have a juicer, who will make you a smoothie as you prefer (also free of charge). We loved it!

The staff of Tongsai offers a superb, very personal and down to earth service. Truly makes you feel like home!

All in all Tongsai is an excellent resort where you can easily stay 7+ days without getting bored. We will most likely be back next time we come to Koh Samui :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We are shocked and surprised by some of the reviews on the Tongsai we wanted to let Trip Advisor readers know you really need to take some of these reviews with a pinch of salt.
We are lucky enough to have travelled all over the world and stayed in many top hotels and we are both in agreement that the Tongsai is right up there with the best.
Every hotel you stay in will have something you think could be improved and the Tongsai is no exception. For example we did not like the main pool as the sides were sloped and it was bit strange for us, but we used the adults only pool which was great. The sand is not the greatest quality but we stayed at the Hansar and its just the same. As I said we stayed at the Hansar and it was great to just walk along to the Fishermans Village but at the Tongsai they put on some great nights. Beach Barbecue with great music, Thai Night with dancers etc which we really enjoyed and you don't get that at the Hansar. Like all of Thailand the people at the Tongsai are amazing and always happy to help and always with a smile. The food is great, breakfasts especially are amongst the best we have had for quality and selection and the view from the breakfast area is amazing.
What we think makes the Tongsai is the scenery, the walk to breakfast in the mornings is so special we have already booked to go back in Feb. There are a lot of steps but its part of the experience and you wont be rushing anywhere for all the views, flowers, trees etc you will be stopping to take photos every few minutes.

We had no hesitation in giving my daughters friend rave reviews as she has booked to have her Honeymoon there.

So to all the negative reviewers on here we think you need a reality check and to come into the real world. I don't think we have ever seen a hairbrush in any hotel we have stayed in and to put that down as a negative is beyond crazy!
Its expensive especially if you going for a pool villa but not as expensive as other hotels with similar facility's and service, we stayed in Hideaway Cottage no pool but spectacular views.
We could go on and on but for those of you that do go, I can assure you, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Absolute beaut of a holiday!! Everything about it was a pleasure. Chaweng was a great experience that we went to a number of nights and Fishermans Village was great for quieter nights. Had dinner on last night by the beach bar which was incredible. Staff always attentive and couldn't do more. Just watch out for cicada (bugs) they are noisy and fly at you.... All part of the fun though. Loved it! Will go again for sure!!!!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We were very lucky when we stayed here we had a villa tucked into the hill side with the most amazing views especially at sunset with a sunken bath tub on the deck what a wonderful way to start your evening. Spacious rooms with everything you could ask including a big comfy bed.

I found Tongsai such a romantic relaxing place, we loved every minuet and managed some quiet time by the pool on the beach and even a little afternoon tea in sip. I really hope to get a chance to stay again one day.

It was a while ago now & I know there is a lot more competition in this up market type resort but I think Tongsai would be hard to beat thanks to trailfinders for recommending it so highly and a good friend

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Today, I have the honeymoon blues.

Thinking back to our 11 night stay in a suite with a pool outside. It was heaven.

Service was excellent. Food was superb. Location was bliss. I dont miss the insects but I do miss the other wildlife that was everywhere.

The management appear to be taking care of their staff with a 10% service charge on all service for food and drink. At first I was a little taken aback that this was on all items however the level of service is so high, they deserve every penny (Bhat).

Samui's finest private bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.7 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa
7.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#1 of 174 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
4.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#6 of 102 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#4 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing