We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tongsai Bay - World Class - Idyllic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel to your Saves list
Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 Reviews
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Tongsai Bay - World Class - Idyllic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Tongsai Bay - World Class - Idyllic

Koh Samui's environment & world class service of this luxurious hotel was our ideal choice. We booked a seafront cottage suite, amazing views.The friendly & gracious service within the resort was exceptional - every day a smile.
International cuisine at the beachside Po-Lad Bistro or Chef Chom's is one of the island's finest Thai restaurants there was no complaints from this couple. Try out your skills a the twice weekly Thai cooking class & a visit to the resort's produce farm you will really enjoy the day, especially eating your own prepared meal.
Spectacular adults-only half-moon pool looking out across the beach a focal point.
During the day relaxing on beach then indulging yourself with cocktail list at the beachfront bar it was a pleasure. The staff at the beachfront bar 10/10 & fun to be with.
We spent time in the spa hidden amongst the jungle, yes please - heaven. For those more energetic than us a fitness room & tennis court or just go there enjoy & relax
"Delight on the memories, really loved it" Thank you Tongsai Bay! GCD

Room Tip: A seafront cottage suite, amazing views, bath on the patio. GCD
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    170
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
191
781
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a great choice we made staying here...best resort I have ever stayed at. Location, restaurants, facilities, atmosphere etc are top notch! Staff are incredible - lovely people that care. The food at the restaurants is excellent.
We stayed as a family of 4 - and we stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom suite - which was good - and the kids were on roll-away beds in the lounge area at night. It was a bit tight - but we expected it. We inquired about a bigger room and were offered the View Point Cottage at a great rate - 2 massive bedrooms, 2 massive bathrooms, and 2 lounge areas - and a great big deck with outside bath. Even a few friendly geckos to keep us company. This cottage is a bit of a walk from the pool and restaurants - but that was good given the great food we were eating - a walk was nice. But if you prefer they have golf buggies to get you around. Views also from this cottage are excellent - as you would expect given the name.
We looked around Samui and one thing we realised was how lucky we were - no crowds here, no hawkers on the private beach, no motorised water sports causing noise pollution, etc,

Perfect in every way! Love this place - will be back!

Room Tip: View Point Cottage is excellent for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retired
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me my husband and another couple stay in Tongsai for a week from Sep. 22,2013.
when I endered the property it was a wow, gorgeous view of the bay strait in your eyes. When I entered the room, I was abit disapointed since the hotel is a bit dated when it come to furnishing and amenities. However after one day of stay all was clouded by this beatiful property with 100% private beach and pleasant water that makes it hard for you to get out of them. I did change my room to a vila which was amazing and worth the extra bucks to pay. Serve througout hotel is excellent, food is tasty and reasonably priced.While visiting Ko Samui i made it my business to check other properties i considerd, and was most satisfied with my choice. I find Tongsai Bay to be one of the best resort on the island with a top location while staying away from the Havoc of the o 2 close towns of Chaweng and Buput. I highly recomend this property that I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: try for the villa. worth the extra money. if not beachfron cottage are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had an absolute pleasure of staying at The Tongsai Bay. We stayed in a Beachfront suite. The room is simple but functional having everything that you need spacious , well maintainanced and very clean. The view from balcony is spectacular. Staffs are incredibly friendly and helpful with their honest smile on their faces all the time. The food was great. Excellent in all respect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about Tongsai Bay.
The beachfront suite room was excellent. There is even ice in the ice bucket, never seen that before.
The staff were always smiling and friendly and helpful
The views were fantastic and the service was great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel on our trip to Thailand, and we had an absolutely wonderful experience. I believe that the best thing about it is the fact that is has a private location, and that you can enjoy an amazing view over the island. Everything about our stay was highly comfortable and accommodating, and the service here is absolutely impeccable. The cottage that we booked was also beautifully decorated and clean, and it had a cozy vibe to it. I really have no bad words to say about this amazing place, and I hope I will have the opportunity to come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I have to say that upon our arrival we were really quite disappointed especially with our accommodation. The accommodation (in our view) was probably 5 star 25 years ago but not now and not given the very high standards offered by other hotels we have stayed in. Room was gloomy, dated, had poor lighting and, as we discovered that night , a very noisy a/c unit. Bathroom or rather the shower could have done with a good clean too. I've never understood those reviewers who post photographs of 'faults' which they find but I actually found myself taking photographs on this occasion to do exactly that but won't post them for reasons which will hopefully become evident later in the review. We did advise the reception team and our rep of our disappointment and despite a promise to relocate us no alternative was offered so we decided to put it behind us and 'make do'. Having done so we quickly warmed to the Tongsai Bay and left at the end of our two weeks having had a great holiday. So what turned this one around ? Quite simply the staff who are absolutely wonderful. From reception to restaurant, the buggy boys to beach - staff everyone was so wonderfully cheery, happy and couldn't enough to please you. The food too is excellent. Beautifully prepared, presented and great tasting. Somehow the team here have found the right line between being too in your face to being on hand for your every need. They've also achieved a good balance by having buffet nights, cocktail receptions, occasional entertainment and Friday night film nights where you can watch a movie on the beach, under the stars all of which keep you within the hotel and a very relaxed attitude when you choose to go out to any one of the nearby towns and villages which you really should take advantage of if only for the incredible value and quality offered by local bars and restaurants.

So ignoring if you can the dated nature of the accommodation which we did, you should enjoy a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.