We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel choice for families with small babies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 hotels in Bophut
hong kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel choice for families with small babies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed 5D/4N ex HK, 2 adults + a 10mth old baby, very smooth passage into and out of Koh Samui - great efficient airport run by Bangkok Air.

Upgraded from a Beachfront suite to a Double cottage suite - a so called two level suite which is really a few steps connecting the lounge room to the bedroom/bathroom areas. Not a 'WOW' accomodation by any means, but a comfy bed, + most creature comforts catered to. An electric mosquito scent burner provided - bring mozzie spray also for walking outside after 4pm.

Golf cart buggies to take you everywhere around the resort - as long as we had our kid in a gorilla grip these were safe.

It's been said here before - hospitality and service are key reasons why you would choose this hotel over others. Very impressed by how hard working the staff are here - you will see the same restaurant staff running around at 7am and also working the night shift in the restaurant.

-A large portable travel cot provided, no baby bottle steriliser but they can sterilise and prepare baby bottles + an ample of supply of highchairs at their restaurants
-The staff loved to try to interact and play with our kid (as in other parts of the island)
-The breakfast soup noodles at the the buffet are outstanding. Very good 'western' grill on offer also (eggs/sausages/pancake grill) + a very good selection of fresh fruits & juices at the buffet
-Thursday night Thai buffet with a good spread of Thailand's greatest hits & grilled seafood
-Main pool is large, lots of stoney ledges to accidently hurt yourself on though. Didn't try the 1/2 moon pool for adults
-Their in-house Spa was OK - without being great. There are definetly be other spas to choose (eg Tamarind springs/Let's Relax) on the island
-Tongsai Bay also offers an in-house taxi service (small cars - 4WD). 400 Baht one-way will get you to most tourist destinations

Would recommend that you visit the market @ Fisherman's village in Bophut if you stay on a Friday. One of the highlights of the trip

A very enjoyable stay and would recommend for parents of young children/couples - also saw lots of young couples/newlyweds/emptynesters so clearly something for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    892
    163
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
169
738
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After reading the reviews prior to booking the Tongsai Bay, we expected heaven.......and we were not disappointed!!
Upon arrival Mark, the hotel manager, checked us in, and ensured that owing to my heart condition, the cottage was acceptable to our needs. Which is was, just perfect.
All restaurant staff were aware that I needed a salt-reduced diet, and accommodated this requirement with ease and a smile,.
The cottage itself, overlooking the pool, and the beach, was superb, with the 'signature' bath on the large balcony, along with sun loungers being a great touch. Although I have to mention that the bathroom was somewhat 'gloomy' with the eco-friendly lights not being particularly bright. Yes that's the only fault we could find!
All three restaurants were fantastic, and the few reviewers complaining about the food, must be used to Michelin starred quality, or maybe just never satisfied.
Both pools were great, our favourite was the quieter half moon pool, but seriously could not find a fault with either, with pool towels readily available, and iced water at hand.
The Tongsai Bay, is a fantastic resort to just chill and relax, away form the more garish and noisy 'entertainment' available elsewhere.
A huge thankyou to Mark, and all the staff for making our stay a memorable one!!!
Oh, and Mark.....we've won it five times!!!!! :-)

Room Tip: I really don't think you could choose a poor one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is more than I could ever asked. The hotel staff are kind to and always helpful. The room is big and spacious. The hotel is so clean and they take care of you're every need!!!!! The pools and the service in that area is amazing!!!!! And the food.. Everything is so tasty...cooked to perfection. For sure we will back there soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

service and breakfast fantastic. beach is grainy coarse sand and very cloudy water but water sports with sailing and wind surfing was great, safe area for wind surfing and great beginner board but only 1 available. I was planning to go with my son next time and wind surf together but was disappointed to find out they only had 1. the rooms have fantastic view and having a bath on deck was a laugh and feels alittle decadent. complimentary fruit bowl topped up daily, great bed made a fantastic stay. rooms were lovely but feels tired at edges.
gym is small and sufficient but with older equipment. pool was a little cloudy on some days of our stay and added to tiredness feeling of the resort. interesting but dated pool and when it was built I can imagine it was cutting edge for its time. if you can ignore some of the dated feel (I trend to contemporary and others may find this charming instead) than you will love this resort and its certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 wonderful nights at Tongsai Bay Sept 5-10, 2013. We booked Hideaway cottage and could not have been more pleased. After the trip from the US, we needed a place to relax and reconnect before heading to Northern Thailand. The property and staff exceeded our expectations in every way. We have traveled extensively in the Caribbean and in SE Asia and this is, without a doubt, our favorite resort. There are a lot of steps, so if you cannot do steps, it is not a place for you. (We are in our 50s and had no problem) We enjoyed the walk through the shady topical gardens to our cottage and loved the view, the privacy, and the outdoor tub and canopy bed.

Some little, unexpected, touches that we appreciated were that there was a coffee pot (Mr Coffee style) and filters in the room, along with a hot water pot and tea pot/service. My wife loves her coffee and brought a pack of Starbucks along, while I am a tea drinker. The wifi in the room was as fast as what we have at home. Each afternoon, they left a snack for us! We had a AC unit that quit working, and it was fixed by the time we got back from dinner. The breakfast was amazing. The made to order waffles and french toast was the best we have ever eaten. The kayaks and Hobie cats were in good condition. There were more than enough beach/pool chairs, so we never had to hurry up to reserve one.

It is not within walking distance to other properties or restaurants, so we ate at the resort, and were very pleased with the food. They rent motor bikes on property and this is a good way to get around and see the island. Tesco Lotus in town sells wine :)

I could go on and on, but if you are looking for quiet, restful, and romantic get away, this is the place for your holiday.

Room Tip: We would stay in Hideaway Cottage again. The view is amazing, and you cannot see another villa from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tongsai for 12 nights on our honeymoon. It was our first trip to Thailand so although we knew kho samui was very commercial it wasn't really our cup of tea per se, Tongsai however was just amazing. The staff are really helpful and friendly and they seemed sincere with it too! The breakfasts are so worth getting up for, there is so much choice. We ate most days at the bar and I particularly recommend the red curry-delicious.
I think the thing we most enjoyed was all of the flora and fauna, if you like being close to nature you will love it at Tongsai. I liked that it was a family run hotel because it felt so much more personal.
Whilst your staying in kho samui make sure you go on the marine reserve tour, it was a truly amazing experience. You can book this through reception.
Don't miss happy hour for cocktails and enjoy an afternoon soak al fresco with the outdoor tub.
Go
I miss Tongsai and will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Don't miss out on the cottages with the freestanding baths- lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have just had the pleasure of spending a week at the Tongsai Bay.

The hotel and its cottages are set on 25 acres of lush forest hillside looking over a private beach. We opted for an Seafront Cottage, which was perfect - it was luxurious and comfortable, nestled into the green hillside with a beautiful view out over the water.

I was initially concerned at the hotel's location, as it's a bit out of the way (we walked into the nearby town of Choengmon one afternoon and ended up very sweaty.) But I soon realised this is to its advantage - its location is stunning and feels very private and exclusive. The grounds are impeccably maintained by the staff and there's an abundance of wildlife.

Although it's a bit of a hike out of town, you can easily get a car from reception into Choengmon for 150 baht or Chaweng/Fishermans Village for 400 baht - ferried to/from your room in a golf buggy!

The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Everyone - from reception to the gardeners - greet you with a smile and hello.

The resort attracts a good mix of people, mostly with a skew to couples aged mid 20s to late 40s. (As a side note, I travelled here with my boyfriend - we're a gay couple - and there were a couple of other gay couples staying here as well).

The only slight let down was a meal we had at the Po-Lad beach bistro. We ordered a seafood platter and it didn't taste at all fresh. Given the number of fishing boats visible on the horizon this was a bit disappointing.

However, all in all it was a fantastic experience, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#4 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.