We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel to your Saves list
Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent 7 days at Tongsai Bay and it was simply perfect. The service is excellent, the staff are friendly and nothing is too much. We're normally up for more adventurous holidays, but it was our honeymoon, so we thought we'd give it a try and we could be converted! As it was our honeymoon, they gave us a bottle of champagne on arrival as well as a thai massage each and a candlelit dinner on the beach. We felt rather special. The breakfast buffet is a treat, with plenty of options, including fresh fruit smoothies, pancakes, cooked breakfasts, waffles etc. We went to the monday night bbq on the beach which was well worth the money - my husband and I ate about 5 lobsters each! Apart from that, the food at the resort, although very tasty, is rather expensive and there are ample other places to go on the island so it's worth exploring. You can hire a kayak and row over to the beach across the bay for super cheap lunch options. The free renting of kayaks and sailing boats means you can mix relaxation with a bit of activity, which is perfect for those people who aren't so good at pure beach holidays. I also recommend hiring a car and going out to explore the island. I'd certainly recommend this resort to anyone wanting ultimate relaxation and a retreat away from reality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    183
    45
    11
    7
See reviews for
197
858
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

What can I say about the Tongsai Bay? Where do I even begin! We booked this hotel to stay for 4 nights in October on the basis of the reviews on here alone in the hope that it lived up to expectation, and well - if you're looking for a hotel in Koh Samui then this the ONE!

We came from a 2 night stay in Bangkok and arriving at this hotel can only be compared to stepping into complete paradise. 5 star on every possible level from the airport pick up to the lovely housekeeping staff. Never have I stayed in a hotel like it, and frankly I don't think I will find a hotel to beat it!

We stayed in a pool villa (507) which was outstanding. Amazing outdoor area with the private pool, a glimpse of the beach through the privacy of the green palm trees, four poster bed, 2 sunloungers, huge bath tub, kitchen area complete with all amenities and huge dining table area. Heaven! Inside was just as impressive with really good air conditioning (a nice break from the heat outside). Loved the little touches of a treat delivered to the room each afternoon in the form of some sort of cake or cookie, plus flowers on the bed and in the bathroom. They really have thought of everything here - even umbrellas for the rainy days!

Breakfast is just as good as the reviews say - anything you could want and lots of smiling faces greeting you every morning. We also had a couple of lunches and a dinner at the Po Lad Beach Bistro which were exceptional. Yes they were more expensive than you would pay outside of the hotel - but surely this is to be expected and the quality of the food was great. The other evenings we ate out in Fisherman's Village (thoroughly recommended) - some good places there. Would particularly recommend this on a Friday night when they have the night market - great atmosphere with local music and food. We also ventured to Chaweng (just a bit different from Fisherman's Village...) worth it to have a look as food is cheaper, but much busier with clubs and bars.

The hotel will also arrange any tours which you may like to do. We did an elephant trek which was amazing - roughly 1200 THB each with pick up/drop off from the hotel also included. We were so short on time, and there was so much else we would have liked to have done. We did a trip to Big Buddha which was a 10 minute drive from the hotel and would liked to have done a boat tour island hopping had we had more time (will have to save that for the next visit!)

We opted for the hotel's taxi service to get to/from places purely due to convenience for our short stay. Plus if you agree a time with the driver they will pick you up and bring you back to the hotel - or you can call and they will come and get you at any time up to 10.30 pm. It is worth noting that the hotel don't allow other taxi companies into the hotel resort - they will drop you off at the entrance gate by the security hut and you will have to walk down to the lobby from there.

Pool areas were great - barely seemed to see a soul! Beach boys also on hand to give out water and towels and assist with anything which you might need - paradise! On our last day we were even told we could have a complimentary late check out and keep our villa until 3 pm! The only regret we had was not staying longer. Do the right thing and stay here! You will not be disappointed!! World class hotel.

Room Tip: As everyone says..if you can go for a pool villa. TOTALLY worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in September for my wedding.
From the moment you walk into the Lobby you know you are going to have a wonderful stay.
I honestly could not fault this resort, it is magical.

The location is on a private beach but the a activities team have themed nights and activities each day so you don't feel bored.
Each room feels individual and special and although it is a huge resort te layout is so perfect that you feel as though you are the only people there.

The staff at this resort are better than five star! They are genuine, friendly and so incredibly eager to please.
Aom helped me organise the wedding for 60 people and she did and amazing job, the wimple process of getting married overseas could be very stressful but because of Aom I felt like I could relax and it would all be ok... And it was!

I would recommend this resort to everyone. We cannot waitro come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent 11 days at Tongsai Bay and loved it. If you want to be left in peace and get away from the crowds and any vendors - this is the place. We had fun visiting other parts of the island, but were always more than glad that we had chosen the Tongsai Bay to return to.

We had a Beachfront Suite on the first floor, which was fine, had a great bathroom and offered a nice sea view (but honestly, "beachfront" is just something different, so the choice of this name remains a mystery to me... :-). The suites on the top floor looked better from the outside (less dark), but offered comparably little protection from sun & rain on the balcony, so beware. The seafront villas up on the hill looked all fabulous, so if you can get hold of one, you will love it.

The property is magnificent. Yes, it is hilly, but this makes it really stunning. If you are not up for walking up and down, they take you around in golf buggies. But honestly, it is good being forced to do some exercise and eat a bit more, no? ;-)

I would overall rate it between four and five stars - there are just some things missing for the golden five. Here is a list of plus and minus points, as it all depends on what is important and less important for each and everyone.

Plus points:
- Beautiful property
- Flawless service, everyone was super nice and helpful
- Amazing breakfast - really amazing
- Decent free Wifi in the rooms
- Free water, fruit and cookies in the rooms every day
- Free ice water, cold towels and in the afternoon fruit served on the beach
- Comfortable beach beds, some with extra privacy
- Quiet beach with nice view, no vendors (!) and no hassle; water gets quickly deep enough to swim
- Free hobycat sailing, windsurfing and canoeing
- Once a week free cocktail reception
Thai buffet night is really worth it

Minus points:
- The Thai restaurant was not great - the choice was not impressive, and we had one Pad Thai there and decided not to go again - in an expensive hotel in Thailand one should expect amazing Thai food, so this is difficult to understand and was the main reason why I overall came down on 4 instead of 5 stars
- Generally, dinner was often comparably pricy and not always top of the line - but this led us to discover a bit the restaurants on the island
- The massages are overpriced - we are in Thailand, and just one bay further you get the beach massage for a fraction of the price - of course the quality might not be the same (even though I personally enjoyed the cheap massages too), but the price difference is just too high
- If powder sand is important to you, you should go to one of the many other (but less peaceful) beaches - this beach has very fine pebbles, but the peace was more important to us
- I recommend that the Tongsai Bay offers a free shuttle bus twice a day or so to Chaweng and/or Fisherman's Village, like many other resorts in this area and in this price category

Overall, we loved our stay there and thank the staff for all the effort. I think there is still room for improvement, but the hotel is definitely on the right track. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel,with friendly staff. Lovely food from the wild range of menu.
Lot of activity for you to choose from. Quite location good for honeymoon .
Nice, clean ,big room with all the mini bar!
Pretty close to the airport. Not far from night life at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's no secret one can find beautiful 5 stars resort in koh samui for less than $150 per night. It's especially the case when traveling in low season. So when you are asked to pay over $270 per night for the most basic room you expect nothing short of WOW. You expect to get the best.
The island comprise some of the best resorts in the world and we wanted to be in the best one (honeymoon). After hours on tripadvisor we have located Tongsai Bay Resort. We wanted a picturistic location, top notch service and easy access to restaurants/ bars/ etc., and we were willing to pay for it.
The worse part of the resort was the shower - horrific experience. My wife refuse to enter the shower without shoes, it had rust stain on the floor, and the hotel puts cheap plastic rug to cover it (bit discussing). The rust stain where also underneath the sink. It's also weird the hotel used a cheap shower head like in hostels and no rain-shower-head , which is standard on other 4 stars hotel around the island. I hope to post some photos we took of the shower.
We haven't seen much people at the resort, it looked quite empty (bit boring, even for secluded honeymoon destination) .
On the positive side, its a beautiful property, staggering view from our balcony, and best breakfast I had in Thailand. Remarkable really.
Staff are ok too (especially good words to the restaurant team), although some of the services we expect to see weren't available or took long time before it was done:
As the rooms are located down/up hill, they use an electric car (like golf cart) to drive you around, if you want. But it takes time from the moment you ask for it until you get it. Sometime it does not come at all.
Price around the resort are as expected from 4-5 stars resort, so ok.
Overall we have enjoyed the place and tried to forget the dear cost and the shower area.... It's our honeymoon after all.

Room Tip: Rent a scooter in the hotel, its 100 baht more but it makes your stay more enjoyable, cheaper, and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

An older establishment, in a good way, as it is unassuming, well maintained with mature foliage completing the landscape of the tranquil beach front location it is set, making it very cosy and unpretentious luxe. Our room is a beachfront suite, on upper floor, with a lovely view of the ocean, and the lapping waves the background sound. Service overall is good and friendly. Breakfast buffet spread is not wide, but of good quality, the juice lady is a joy with an ever ready wide smile, whipping up interesting concoction of fresh morning boosters adds a nice touch. Spa has highly trained masseuse, which leaves us very satisfied, considering we are massage/ spa enthusiasts and go spa hunting everywhere. Location of this hotel however is a bit out of the way, the nearest to anywhere is a small village Choeng Mon, which is a 10 minutes walk downhill, and more uphill back. A cab ride out of the hotel sets you back at least 400bht, so unless you plan on staying put, this hotel would be perfect slice of heaven, but we were down for the Jazz festival, which sees us shuttling up and down Chaweng ( a10 min ride) for 800bht return journey for a couple of night, (cab ride we guess costs 300bht from Chaweng if you negotiate 1st, if not, the moment you mention the hotel, all price automatically goes up to hotel rate). 1 suggestion we left for the hotel to consider would be to provide some form of shuttle service to nearest village/town/fishermen's village.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#6 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.