We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing welcome reception for our wedding and an excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of World Resort Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added World Resort Bungalow to your Saves list
World Resort Bungalow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175/1 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing welcome reception for our wedding and an excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Where do I begin about World Resort?? I think the first thing is that it is much nicer than the photos on the website depict. Those pictures are very old. My husband and I got married in Koh Samui this June so our friends and family, 20 people, stayed at World Resort. We had a fantastic time and the service was fantastic!

My husband and I stayed in several rooms over the course of the 10 days we were there. The hotel rooms are nice and more modern but the bungalows have much more charm. In one of the standard bungalows the shower didn’t drain well but the hotel had no problem switching rooms. The standard bungalows are a bit dark, I think it’s the dark wood decor. Some of our friends stayed in the deluxe garden bungalows and they were very nice and more modern than the standard bungalows but retained the charm. We also stayed in the ocean front villa and that was amazing! The windows from the bedroom overlook the ocean and there is a deck out front for sun bathing. The bathroom was wonderful, it was very spacious and had an outdoor shower. Note: For people who don’t like any kind of wild life the hotel room is probably best because lizards will come in the outdoor shower. Plus there was also a small living room with a little tv. The tv didn’t get great reception but we were so busy we didn’t need it. The tv in the basic hotel room however was fine. There is also another ocean front suite not mentioned on the website that is the same price as the first one. It is above the breakfast area and more secluded and has a private balcony. The set up is one big room with a big bed, sofa and big flat screen tv. It also has a nice bathroom but no outdoor shower. It is new, very nice, with modern thai décor but I prefer the charm of the original ocean front villa.

As for the service, it was wonderful and they left us fresh fruit in the room and flowers for my parents on their anniversary. We had a welcome cocktail party and I highly recommend them for any party type function. The whole staff was busy the entire day preparing for it. The place looked fantastic with candles, and woven banana leaves, all sorts of plants that they cut, wove, and did all kinds of crazy things with to decorate. The food presentation was impeccable and it was delicious! The cocktails were also yummy. Everybody was ooohing and ahhhing and was very impressed. They had beautiful fruit carvings also for decoration. I can't even imagine what that would have cost in America. Everyone was so impressed and a couple people wanted to learn so the next day they had a fruit carving class for us. Also the individual service we received was excellent. On our way back through Samui to pick up the wedding photos I was sick from something I ate in Koh Phangan and the staff brought in a dvd player since I couldn’t leave the room. Also the pool lady,Kew (sp?) took great care of our grandpa when he was constipated making him some homemade concoction, she was always getting us ice for our beer from 7-11, or doing something else nice. The staff take a personal interest in you and it is so refreshing. So many of the girls gathered around when I got the wedding photos back because they wanted to look at them.

The pool is nice and has 2 tanning pools. There is a bar there and lots of cold beer. The pool is not right next to the ocean but thats probably better so that the hawkers don't bother you. There are also massages right on the beach. The only down side was you have to pay for wifi and it wasn't that great of connection speeds.

So lets see how many times did I say wonderful and fantastic? I highly recommend World Resort to anyone. Any time we are back to Koh Samui we will definitely be staying there. My hard drive crashed with the pics from the party but as soon as I get it back I will upload them.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    62
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
64
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

My husband, myself and two children (4 & 6) stayed her for 4 nights recently and really enjoyed it. We requested an upgrade an got it from the friendly reception staff. Our room was a Pool Room, which is next to the pool, but separated by a wall with a Balinese type doorway, so you don't get all the pool noise. The rooms are decorated in dark woods and can seem gloomy,but we liked it. We had a very comfortable King Size Bed and a single bed,with a separate bathroom and dressing area. The rooms have TV (kids liked that in the early evening), fridge and kettle. Outside is a really nice sitting area and there are comfortable lounges built in. There is also a washing line for every bungalow which is handy for swimwear or underwear and also a tap at the steps to each bungalow for washing sand off feet, nice touches.

The staff are all very friendly, although the guy on the egg station was a bit strange, but efficient. The breakfast was good with the usual suspects of cereal, toast, hot choices including rice, eggs etc and juice, tea and coffee. We only ate one evening meal here and it wasn't that great, so we ate out mostly in Fisherman's Village (try the Friendly Frog near beginning of village).

The beach is quiet (just a few sellers), but the water and sand feels a bit slimy underfoot, so we stayed around the very nice pool which also has 2 kids size pools. The massage lady was really good and removed the tension from my knotted shoulders, highly recommended.

This is a very relaxed place and owned by a Thai man, which makes for a more authentic experience, no big overseas corporates here. Would definitely go back there and recommend to anyone with young kids.

My only gripe is that the resort is a few km's from Fisherman's Village so you can either have a leisurely 20 minute walk along the beach (not always good for little legs) or grab a songthaew (cheaper than the taxis in the most part).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

we tried to go to koh tao but too late to catch the boat so we decide to stay in kho samui
we wanted a paradise beach, quiet to spend only 4 days
we followed the lonely planet advises and went to BOH PUT
indeed the beach was not large but really quiet with beds and restaurant of the hotel facing the beach. great population in the hotel but too many small kids
they gave us a deluxe room for the price of a normal bungalow at 3200 bath per nigth
bungalow have a very nice decoration all in wood, good bed, air conditioning, patio, even a little bed in front of the television, shower
lezard are welcome, it means no spiders :-) carefull of mosquitos
people were very nice and helpfull
we have made a great kayak/snorkeling excursion in the maritime park
chaweng shopping center is just 5min nearby 80bath/pers with taxi
fisher village, good restaurant (600bath)
otherwise there is no much things to do

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

world resort is on bophut beach a lovely romantic beach. we had a triple room which was great value very clean, had a tv with some good channels which kept the boy happy in the mornings. we booked for 3 nights ended up staying 6. pool was lovely real clean and not busy at all. can't reccomend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights at this reasonabley priced resort. The setting was beautiful - cobbled paths wound among trees and gardens which, were lit with soft lighting at night. We had a wonderful stay - from being picked up at the airport and being dropped back there. The staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The lovely weather helped, of course. Our cabana was almost on the beach and it was spacious and very tastefully furnished.
I would reccommend it to anyone wanting a relaxed holiday by the beach.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

just returned back from 4 weeks at world resort
we had a fab time
we stayed in a superior bungalow which was clean and comfortable next to pool area.
xmas and new year parties fantastic
very family orientated
staff were excellent and nothing to much trouble
fishermans village about 50bhts in local bus
cheweng about 70bht.
would reccomend as a lot of hotels are now expensive spas here you can feel you are in thailand with tropical plants and walk way to beach and reasonably priced.
the only thing now in thailand it is not cheap any more which may put off tourists returning.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

My wife and i went to Thailand for my son's wedding. It was held at the World Resort and what a marvellous job they did. A beautiful wedding on the deck overlooking Bophut Bay, pre-dinner drinks on the beach, an elephant, fantastic dinner in the open air restaurant, fireworks and dancing away til the morning. This was an incredible experience for my family and one I will remember for a very long time.
We stayed 7 days in a Deluxe Beachside Bungalow, going to sleep with the water lapping on the beach and waking up to the sunset or the noises of the fishermen or the Water Buffalo as it gets led up the beach each morning. The Resort is owned by locals and this is reflected in feel of your surroundings and the friendliness of staff. Our Bungalow was very well appointed without being plush. If you are looking for a friendly and comfortable place to stay, the World Resort is a real treasure. Take it easy and just chill out. This place is relaxation central.
The buffet breakfast had a very good range, particularly for western tastes. The open air restaurant and Sand bar are great places to mingle or sit back and soak it all in. On our last night we wanted to just sit back on our deck and enjoy dinner. Without asking the staff set out a beautiful table with flowers and mosquito coils for our comfort. Nothing was too difficult for the staff.
During the time there, my wife enquired on the Batik prints that the staff have for their uniforms. The owner organised for a bus to take her to the shop and she was accomanpied with a staff member who bartered for her in Thai. This is probably a one off situation, however it is quite obvious that the staff are willing to make a difference for your stay at the resort.
I will definitely returning to Samui and the World Resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to World Resort Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Resort Bungalow

Address: 175/1 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — World Resort Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your World Resort Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Resort Bungalow Hotel Koh Samui
World Hotel Koh Samui
World Resort Bungalow Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Resort Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.