We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and relaxation - will definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White House Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added White House Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
White House Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   59/3 Moo5 | Bophut Choengmon Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Wellington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peace and relaxation - will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel was a haven - the rooms (Superior room) were very comfortable and clean. The hotel is characterised by stunning tropical gardens, fish pools and Thai sculpture - the atmosphere is restful and staff gracious and friendly - all located on the lovely Choeng Mon beach - highly recommended! We were offered discount prices as this is the low season - breakfast and a complementary massage was included in the tarrif.

The beds are a little hard but that is the Thai style - they were softer than previous hotels we tried

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    78
    13
    13
    17
See reviews for
49
84
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Stayed here for 10 nights with friends and we found the hotel perfect.
Our friends room was fine,but when shown our room it was very dark even with light on,this is due to the foliage in the beautiful gardens.
We were given an other room which was fine.
Everything about this hotel was just lovely and the staff the most happy and friendly I have ever come across..
Location is great ,right on the beach,and a few minutes stroll to bars and restaurats,(not many ,but enough to please)
We ate mainly on the beach and found the food was excellent and very good value.
Choeng Mon is a delightful place and lets hope that it does not get too popular and spoil the wonder of it.
We stay at Lamai (our first time in thailand) and was not keen ) Choeng Mon is totally different and not a "Girlie Bar" in sight.
If you are thinking of a holiday here, then the White House is a totally relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

First off the service at this hotel was 2nd to none. My partner was sick and they constantly came to check on her wellbeing and to see if we needed any help.
The location is fantastic. It's away from the hussle and bussle of the traffic/markets, yet close enough to 'Scooter' over there for a bargain.
The beach is quiet, yet all activities are available there. The pool and dinner area are beautiful, with a forest setting around the entire complex.
We will be back in Thailand in 2011, and rest assured this lovely hotel with it's lovely people will be seeing us again.
Callen + Melissa
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckapotts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Yet again, we find ourselves in The White House celebrating our 1 year anniversary, and yet again we are very happy with our choice. The island at the moment is very quiet, but they still have all the same staff and constant care and attention towards the guests.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are just as good as last year, but for a change, we ventured out and as we clashed with the Ashes Cricket, my hubby found the perfect sports bar just down the road... Lords Bar. Andy (the owner/manager) is very attentive and will do anything to make your time in the pub as comfortable as possible! Opening at 7am to let the cricket fans in, giving me ice cold face clothes, constantly supplying us with drinks, and great food... definately the best chicken burger on Samui, if not the best Ive ever tasted! and a Sunday roast lunch to die for... choise of lamb / chicken or pork with all the trimmings.... word of warning: you should book in advance though! its very popular with the local expats!

Excellent holiday again... will be back again soon!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed here on our honeymoon last February, and it was a delight from the start. We were greeted with coconut water and a lovely little brooch for my wife. Then we were escorted to our pool-facing Junior Suite. With a cry of, "Surprise!" our hostess threw open the door to reveal a suite literally covered in flowers...what a welcome!

The room was large and clean. Only wish the bathroom had had a tub, but I believe Samui has a water shortage, so the lack of a tub is understandable. The food at the resort was good too. Loved the private beach, complete with water sports. Wish Tue pool had been a wee bit cleaner.

The resort is fairly close to the main area, and they have cars to drop you there. The service was awesome and friendly - a hallmark of Samui.

Finally, on our third night there, we were told that we'd only be paying for three of our four nights there. And we were just blown away.

You cannot find a better place to kick off your honeymoon. And we'd go back in a jiffy.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Nine of us with age range from 60 to 5 years old had a wonderful two weeks. The staff are very courteous and friendly while the hotel is located in one of the quieter areas with lovely beaches. Be wary of local tailors nearly opposite the hotel, one made a suit with different material for the trousers, hoping we wouldn't notice, and when ordering silk, having confirmed he could get the exact match, he produced poor quality silk of a different colour and would not return our deposit, the tourist police were polite but useless!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We spent several pleasant nights at this hotel which I would be generally pleased to recommend to others. If you are not contemplating a stay in a "Thai Suite" then ignore the first paragraph below. The hotel is generally broken into small blocks of four apartments, two on the ground floor with two above. The Junior suites are semi-detached single floor units. The score for room quality was based on the booked room and not for the Junior suite which would have scored a 4 (losing one point for no outside balcony or terrace!)

We booked a Thai suite at this hotel as it promised a small outside terrace to laze on. We were very disappointed with the one we were offered, as it involved a climb up some steep wooden stairs to a small suite which was, to say the very least, rather rickety. Part of the super-structure was far too low for anyone of average height and above, and resulted in a number of cracks to the head. The bathroom was unsealed from various outside elements and there was little effective sound proofing in the suite from either local wildlife or revellers returning from a night in Chaweng!. It was dark and dingy, and as stated elsewhere, extremely creaky. The terrace of the suite we were given was also smaller than those of the other two suites, with just enough room for the two supplied sunbeds The Thai suites are also at the furthest point from the beach. Having said all that if you are a young honeymoon couple, for example looking for away from it all privacy, then despite the drawbacks you might enjoy it.

But... read on. After 3 nights we were offered, and accepted, a Junior Suite and some free Thai massages to make up the slight difference in price. Although we missed the outside terrace, the Junior Suite was otherwise excellent and comfortable, The Junior suites are also ground floor apartments so there are no access problems, and are located near to the restaurant, pool and beach

Everything else at the hotel was superb, the breakfasts were fine with a good selection of both British and continental style food and there is, in my opinion, no need to go elsewhere if it is included in your tariff. We were also given free newspapers and a free afternoon snack including a pot of Thai tea which was delivered to our room. The hotel grounds and rooms was kept clean and tidy and the staff were faultless, polite and friendly.

We did take dinner on the beach at the hotel on one night, it was relatively expensive, compared to restaurants in the village of which there are several, many offering a good choice of Thai or European style food.

Choengmon village was very quiet, slightly off the beaten track, but access to livelier Bo Phut and Chaweng for example are easy enough by taxi, rather cheaper by Song Chaew but these are few and far between after dark.

The beach is absolutely excellent and in a stunning location. The water is crystal clear first thing but the sandy floor gets rather stirred up by bathers and and other users by the end of the day. It is very safe for supervised children but there are rather lot of jet-skis in use which may not appeal to everyone. There also a lot of hawkers, all very friendly but they can be a bit irritating at times. It would also appear that the hotel has recently replaced all its sunbeds, an earlier reviewer said some were broken.

A fine, comfortable little hotel, just be careful what accommodation style you book! The award of 2 stars for the room is based on the original booked accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White House Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 59/3 Moo5 | Bophut Choengmon Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Bophut
#39 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#41 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White House Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White House Beach Resort & Spa is a 4 stars hotel in Koh Samui,Located at Choengmon Beach.We are a natural paradise for honeymoon couples, families and travelers seeking peace and tranquility. Houses in a traditional Thai building,surrounded by lush gardens and hidden alleyways and sculptures. It's an ideal hotel for leisure Destination On Samui Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your White House Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Beach Resort And Spa
White House Beach Hotel Koh Samui
The White Hotel Beach
The White Resort Beach
White House Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.