We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Temple of Relaxation ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nest Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Nest Samui to your Saves list
The Nest Samui
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   30/33 Moo 4, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
1 review
“A Temple of Relaxation ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our original plan was to stay at The Nest for 2 nights and then move around the island, a few nights here and a few nights there etc etc ... incorrect .. we extended our stay from 2 nights to 12 nights.

As soon as i walked thru the 100 year old malasian oak doors that front this magical place, i could not believe my eyes, The Nest is as asthetically pleasing as any boutique hotel i have stayed in anywhere before.

5 beautifully crafted villas neatly nestled around manicured grasses, bamboos and tropical plants all add to the very peaceful calming aura that The Nest gives off by the bucket load. The plunge pool jacuzzi is like something from a show magazine and is imaculately tended every day.

But for me the best part of my stay at The Nest was the owners Charlie and his wife Mailii, they really could not have done more for us to make our stay on Samui any better. Friendly and very helpful they arranged taxi's, carhire, booked restaurants and trips for us and even arranged for laundry to be done during our stay.
(inbox charlie before you arrive and he will arrange a private taxi on your arrival at a cheaper rate)

In summing up The Nest is a gem and i rate it as 5 star accomodation at incredible value

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie t, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Jamesrasin,
Thank you for your great review in TripAdvisor.By knowing you have enjoyed your holiday with The Nest, made us more determine to assist and make our guests holiday a happy and a memorable one in Koh Samui!
Looking forward to seeing and welcoming you again in Koh Samui.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you are staying on Koh Samui, come here. It is beautiful. It is family owned and they are so friendly and helpful and speak great English. It is near to the airport, 500BHT taxi journey. It is just off the main strip on the North coast so you're where its all at but it is behind big walls so it is very peaceful inside.

It has 5 lovely living spaces all really well kept, lots of space, comfortable with modern air-conditioning. The pool is nice for a dip and if you want to relax in peace and privacy, this is the place to come. If I'm back on Koh Samui, I'm staying here again for sure. The owners, where possible, will even pick you up and drop you off at the airport for a very reasonable price.

I only stayed 2 nights there as I was in transit but the owners made that less strseeful with helpful tips and hints. They are talkative but also respect your space so thats an added bonus.

The beds are hard (not a complaint), just some info for those of you liking soft beds. however, all beds I've stayed in in Thailand are hard.

Room Tip: They are all great but splash out for the top rooms if available, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie t, Director of Sales at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear GregOSullivan80,

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor and also for choosing to stay at The Nest.

We are very happy to know that your stay with us is comfortable, private and relaxing.

Hope to see you staying longer at The Nest in your next visit!

Best Regards,
Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the very moment I arrived I had nothing but great experiences. The room was amzaing, the complimentary WIFI was fast and reliable and I slept like a baby.
From the very fist glance it is obvious that a lot of attention to detail went into the property and design of the yard. It has a certain Spa feeling.
I can understand why people would feel seduce to extend their stay as it is an amazing bargain for the price.
I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie t, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Milan J,

Thank you for your amazing review in the TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you really enjoyed your stay at The Nest and finding the setting of the property amazing.

Thank you and hope to see again in Koh Samui.

Best Regards,
Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We initially stayed at The Nest for four nights and immediately wished we had planned to stay longer. Charlie and his wife are lovely hosts who make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. We stayed in the deluxe room and it was beautiful. Incredibly spacious fitted with a mini bar, cable TV, a safety deposit box and a fantastic bathroom. Charlie told us that many guests accidentally over sleep on their first few nights staying at The Nest because the beds are so comfortable - and this is very true! We had the best sleep out of our whole holiday so far, a quality I fear many hotels are losing. We loved our stay so much that after our visit to Koh Tao and Koh Phangan we decided to book another two nights! However, this time we stayed in the superior room and it was just as fantastic. A small kitchenette with kettle and bench space was great to store our belongings on. You can tell that a lot of love and effort went into creating these rooms as there is such attention to detail and quality fittings - nothing is overlooked.

The Nest is also situated in a great location. Down the Main Street there are many fantastic places to eat and drink to suit any budget. Directly across the road is Bangrak beach which is quite small and quiet but perfect to relax on. A short ride away from the Fisherman's Village at BoPhut meant that we were able to enjoy the walking street market twice (each Friday night) - something you shouldn't miss out on if you are there on a Friday. We didn't have breakfast at The Nest but from our understanding you can request it and breakfast will be organised for you, which looked delicious! There is a gorgeous pool and outdoor kitchen area where you can sit back and relax at anytime - a fantastic feature.

It was refreshing to stay somewhere where you feel so at home and your feedback is so greatly appreciated. When asked by Charlie if anything could be improved to make our stay more comfortable, we honestly could not think of one single thing that needed amending. Quality, comfort, exceptional value for money, a great location and hosts who are happy to help you with absolutely anything. There is no doubt that we will be staying here again as soon as we get the chance to come back to Koh Samui. We also have no doubt that The Nest will do exceptionally well and attract guests from all around the world - and remain at 5 star quality!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie t, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Taylor,
Many Thanks to your review .

We are very happy that you love and enjoy staying in both our Deluxe and Superior room.

We hope to see you again in the near future and we promise The Nest will always maintain the 5*quality ( but 3* price) that you experience in the years to come.

Best Regards,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great location (big Buddha pier), not ON the beach though but really close.
Rooms and hotel are so clean and nice, above expectations.
Staff is really nice and takes the time to give you the places to see!
We really enjoyed our stay and will return if we have to come back to samui!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie t, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Charlesgml,
Thank you for sharing your review about your stay at The Nest in TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to staying with us again.
Best Regards and hope to be of service to you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived at The Nest to the warmest of welcomes from the owners Charlie and his wife Mailee. We immediately felt at home. We were shown around the property and to our superior room. The room and the hotel went way beyond our expectations. It was furnished to an extremely high standard with a huge comfortable bed, a modern spacious bathroom, cable TV, air conditionning and a kitchenette. The outside was as equally amazing, with a lovely clean pool, a beautifully maintained garden and an outdoor kitchen area. We opted for breakfast with our stay in which the fruit was delicious. We had only originally planned on staying here for 2 nights but eneded up staying for 12. This was not just due to the high standard of The Nest but from the friendliness of Charlie and his wife. They made us feel incredibly comfortable. We particularly enjoyed our morning chats with Charlie as well as our tours around Samui. Nothing was too much trouble and they did everything to make sure we enjoyed our time on the island and at The Nest. One little tip: If you need a transfer from the airport, email The Nest beforehand as Charlie can arrange this at a cheaper price than what the airport charges you.
! We cannot wait to return to this little gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie t, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Sara ,

my wife and I are very pleased that both of you enjoyed your holiday in Koh Samui.
We are very happy that your 12 days with us was enjoyable.

Thank you for your great review in TripAdvisor and we hope to seeing you again at The Nest next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I checked into the Nest for two nights in August and wish we had booked longer.

We were given a very friendly welcome and treated to a free upgrade of our room on arrival! Our room was spacious and comfortable with a beautiful bathroom complete with a shower, hair dryer etc. The room had great aircon, tv, a fridge, kitchen area, outside table and chairs and a big comfy bed.

The rest of the hotel is stunning with a crystal clear pool and fast wifi throughout. We were asked what time we would like breakfast and this was then served to us in the morning outside are room and was lovely.

The hotel is fantastic but the best thing is the hosts. Charlie and his wife are friendly, welcoming and willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay the best possible experience! It is more like staying with friends than being in a hotel.

Overall we couldn't recommend this hotel enough and it is the best place we have stayed in Thailand. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie t, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear KLAW100,
we are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us at The Nest.

It has been our utmost priority to ensure that all our guest/customers are look after as friends while holidaying in Koh Samui.

We truly appreciate your great review in TripAdvisor and thanking you for allowing and trusting us in helping to make your holiday a memorable stay in Thailand.
Thank you and hope to see you in your next holiday in Koh Samui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nest Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nest Samui

Address: 30/33 Moo 4, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nest Samui 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Nest Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nest Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.