We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanna Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lanna Samui to your Saves list
Lanna Samui
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   11/85 Moo 4, Soi Kalara, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Spa Treatments...!!!
Ranked #3 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Lanna for 7 nights in August 2013 and it was the most beautiful holiday we have ever had! All professional pictures here are true, this small resort with SPA is a paradise!

1) HOTEL
We have booked 1 bedroom suite and it was very good choice. The communication with hotel was very good, quick and we have got all, what they have promissed to us by the booking (earliest check-in, latest check-out, transfer from the airport, spa voucher, etc.)
Room was very clean and well equipped. The size is very comfortable for one couple, kitchen is also very well equipped with all, what you need.
Maybe some suggestions what could be improved is to add some small hooks for towels in bathroom and clothes horse for towels after coming from the pool or beach.

Position of hotel is very good, if you are not so much interested in the night life or beach life and you would like to enjoy peace and go out from the busy life during the year. It was the one, what we wanted, therefore we chose Lanna and our requirement was met 100%.

They offered shuttle bus to Bangrak beach every hour and to Chaweng beach four times a day and it is really good enough. You need to only book your seat in the bus and you can enjoy their service. Otherwise, you can also walk to Bangrak beach, it is rougly 5 minutes walking distance. There you can also find a convenient store to buy, what you need!

Hotel staff is very nice and ready to help you and fulfill all your requirements every time. They have also booked a trip for us with snorkeling on Koh Tao and Koh Nang Yuan by speedboat and it was also a very nice experience. On Friday´s evening they have also brought us to the Fishermann´s village, where is every Friday walking street and where you can find lot of shops and restaurant. After then they have picked up us 2 hours later and brought us back to the hotel.

What you need to try is their SPA garden, it is really an experience. Everything what you will choose, you will be not disappointed.

2) BEACH
We have visited both beaches - Bangrak and Chaweng. Bangrak is more quiet, Chaveng is more busy. Be careful, on Bangrak beach you can find some sharp rocks directly in the sea (on the right side from main entrance to the beach) and my husband has cut his foot. So we had to visited the hospital and we were leaving Koh Samui with 9 stitches in his foot. Also here we have had a very good service, receptionist helped us to organize a transfer to the hospital and also recommended a good hospital.

3) RESTAURANT and BREAKFAST
Food in the restaurant is really delicious, we have tried lot of dishes from Thai and also from international cuisine and every time we have got, what we have expected.

In first days of our holiday we have got breakfast as combination of buffet and a la carte, later they have changed only to buffet breakfast and it was really a good decision from hotel management. It was more comfortable for guests and also for restaurant staff, they were not so busy and had so enough time to clean up tables and take care about the special requirements from their guests.
If you will order some drinks or foods during lunch or dinner, they are sometimes not quick, but you do not need to be in hurry, because you are on holiday. :-)

We need to only recommend this hotel and say thank you all Lanna´s team that we have had really a wonderful holiday! If we will visit Thailand again, I am sure, we will come back to Lanna!

Have a good time in Koh Samui!!!

Marianna&Martin

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suite in second floor was really a good choice, very comfortable and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CodeandLanna, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review...!

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at Lanna so much, and thanks for taking the trouble to provide such a detailed review to assist future guests...

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we do all we can to make sure that our guests have the very very best time possible while they are with us...

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Thank you for choosing Lanna.

With very best wishes,


The Lanna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    75
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
229
43
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Good:
Aesthetically, Lanna is beautiful. The inner courtyard containing the pool and the restaurant will grow on you more and more each day. The water is always warm and the food in the restaurant is exceptional.
Gary is the manager of Lanna and has recently come from Code, its sister resort. Gary is absolutely obsessed with providing the best possible experience for each of his guests. He is a first class host, to say the least. Others who provide very helpful service are Alex in the office, and Mr. Chai, the taxi driver, who gave a fantastic 5 hour tour of the island.

Some potential improvement points:
I'm not nearly as nitpicky as some, however, there are some important things worth mentioning so that you don't get caught off-guard:
1) Do not take for granted the front desk staff understand the questions you are asking. Double check, as they speak English well, but their understanding can be suspect.
2) The shuttles to Chewang only run 4 times/day -- make sure that you reserve a spot the day before.
3) The rooms are small. However, you'll realize that you really don't need much more space in the room -- there is excellent closet space (if you're staying for as long as we did, kind of important)
4) The restaurant staff is clueless. I have a feeling that by the time you arrive, there might be a staff over hall.

None of these 4 factors will turn you off from this awesome resort, just make sure that you are aware. Overall, we loved this place and would go back in a heartbeat. Very relaxing week. Thanks to everyone who contributed in our experience.

Room Tip: Room 47 was great for us :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CodeandLanna, Public Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review and brilliant to hear that you describe Lanna as being an 'awesome resort' - lovely to hear...!

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we do all we can to make sure that our guests have the very best time possible while they are with us...

Many thanks for flagging up areas which you think could be improved - funnily enough, exactly as you say, these are the precise areas which are currently being addressed - so next time you visit you'll see these improvement in place - we appreciate you taking the time to flag them up with us...

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Thank you for choosing Lanna.

With very best wishes,

The Lanna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Lanna after a week at their sister hotel, Code. We were greeted by a teem of Mosquitos when we were shown our room. By the first hour we had killed 10 mosquitoes most of which were in the bathroom. (The bathroom door was closed when the host showed us to our room). The toilet was badly stained and needed a good clean with a toilet brush. We subsequently found out that the room is owned privately and it seemed that when the room is not occupied by the owner is it rented out. This would explain why toilet was dirty ( the cleaner addressed this the following day as part of room service) and the bathroom drawer needed repair I.e it would fall off it's rail whenever we pulled out the drawer. also the room did not have a outdoor garden furniture when other garden view rooms in the hotel had as it was up to the owner to supply such furniture. If we weren't exposed to all these issues we would have said that this is a terrific hotel. Avoid going at 9:30 for breakfast as there is inadequate staff to address the Mid morning rush. It would be good to see fruit platters and bread covered as flies were hovering - breakfast is served in an outdoor area.
Food at the restaurant is great. We had one of the best Paneang curry. Location wise, it is only 5 min walk from Bangrak beach. There is regular shuttle to Chaweng Shopping area and to Bangrak beach. Gym equipment is modern and very good as is the pool. Just a real pity about our room. Also there is a lack of privacy for those in ground floor garden view as all rooms face the swimming pool area. When the curtains are apart, folks at the pool or walking pass the room can look in. Pity there is no screen to the glass doors facing the pool. Having said all this, the price was excellent as we had a good deal.

Room Tip: Request for rooms at level 1 or 2 as these have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CodeandLanna, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review, and I'd just like to apologise for the oversight on our part regarding your room - many many thanks for flagging this up as now utmost care will be taken to ensure that 100% in all cases thorough room inspections are done to suites prior to guests' arrival - this should have been done for you, but our sincerest apologies for this not being the case...

Garden View Suite 59 is now perfect for all future guests; thanks to your input these issues have all been dealt with...

Great that you liked the suites - at Lanna we provide the very highest level of accommodation at a very competitive price, and all in a location which makes the ideal base for our guests to get the very best from the island while they are with us.

Brilliant that you describe Lanna as 'a terrific hotel.'

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Thank you for choosing Lanna.

With very best wishes,

The Lanna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here in May for the holidays, 4 days, couldnt have picked a better hotel. Rooms were new and well decorated, breakfast was awesome! For the price you can't beat it. Its not so close to Changwei Beach, or on a beach but they have a free shuttle to take you there, just getting back you will be on your own. Most taxis know their way around as well, you can ask the friendly receptionist to have you write it clearly to show the taxi driver on your way back. Very quiet property and they are willing to help you with any request. The pool was broken for a half of a day during our stay and they gave everyone vouchers for a free oil body massage....how can you complain after that? The massages and services in the spa are very affordable and very good. I don't have any complaints and would most likely return!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want....you want pool access, first floor, if you want more privacy and open up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CodeandLanna, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at Lanna so much that you will come back to us next time that you're on the island.

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and if there's anything you'd like or need while you are with us, just ask...

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Thank you for choosing Lanna.

With very best wishes,


The Lanna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerhaven, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My new husband and I had a WONDERFUL stay at Lanna during our honeymoon. The rooms are nice, clean, and have everything you need. What really makes this place great is the superb and helpful service and staff. We felt taken care of every moment we were there. They have people working all day to drive to/from different areas around so that it is more convenient for you. We were able to see Chawang Beach area, Bangkrak beach area, Bophut Fisherman's Village (great market/walking street on Fridays) in 2 days thanks to the hotel drivers. I can't say enough about the friendly service--they even packed a breakfast for us when we were leaving at 6:30 AM to get to our flight! Also, it was a welcome sense of cleanliness and civilization for us after staying in more 'rustic' and 'bungalow' type places for a few days before this :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CodeandLanna, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time at Lanna so much...!

Lanna provides the ideal environment to get the very best from Samui, and great to hear you enjoyed both Fisherman's Village and Chaweng as well as the beaches...!

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, so if there is anything we can do to make your time with us even better all you need to do is ask - wonderful to hear you enjoyed the service while you were with us...!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon...!

Thank you for choosing Lanna.

With very best wishes,


The Lanna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived in need of a relaxing holiday and thats exactly what we got, the hotel is well designed and very welcoming, the staff are very very friendly, the rooms are luxurious and have all the facilities for a welcome break. The food is of a very high standard and very well presented, Gary the Manager is very helpful and always ensuring the guests are looked after and their needs are met. The hotel is ideally located and if you need peace and quiet then Lanna is the place to come, the hotel provides a free shuttle bus and if you need the beach then its 2 minutes away, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: one bedroom garden views on the ground floor are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CodeandLanna, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at Lanna so much!

Guest satisfaction is our number one priority, and we do all we can to make sure that our guests have the very best time possible while they are with us - if there is any help or advise you'd like all you need to do is ask...

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon...!

Thank you for choosing Lanna.

With very best wishes,


The Lanna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iraq
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a new property which opened only eight months ago. From a price standpoint, it offers excellent value. Restaurant was very good, although service was slow, a not uncommon problem in Thailand. There were problems with the complimentary morning breakfast bar, but the management reorganized on our last morning there and it looks like things are moving in a much better direction. Room was very nice, but a bit smaller than we expected from photos. We think this would be a great hotel for couples who just want to spend time at the pool and with each other or families with kids, but the one downside to this hotel is an out-of-the-way location. There are periodic free shuttles to Chaweng, but they are not frequent and the last one departs Chaweng at 2015. We'd have preferred a hotel with a location that made it easier to sample the night life in Chaweng and would stay elsewhere on a trip back to Koh Samui, but there's a lot to like at the Lanna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CodeandLanna, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Wonderful that you enjoyed your time at Lanna so much.

The 'Studio Suites' at Lanna offer great accommodation at an excellent price, and if you would like a larger suite we also have larger '1 Bedroom Suites' and '2 Bedroom Suites' which guests can upgrade to for a minimal extra charge.

Lanna is perfectly located to be within easy reach of all of the island's activities and entertainments, so wherever you go and whatever you do you always have a great suite to come back to...

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon...!

Thank you for choosing Lanna.

With very best wishes,


The Lanna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanna Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanna Samui

Address: 11/85 Moo 4, Soi Kalara, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#3 Spa Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanna Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury resort of 75 interior designed suites has been composed to create the ideal location for the discerning guest looking to get the very most from their tropical island getaway. With spa, bar, restaurant, sauna, steam room, gym and magnificent huge swimming pool equipped with hydrotherapy beds - Lanna has it all... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lanna Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanna Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanna Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.