We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant, best food we had on Koh Samui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana

Nirvana
73/1 Moo 1 | Fisherman's Village, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 87 515 2153
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 301 Restaurants in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 164 Reviews
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Set in the heart of Bophut's ' Fisherman's village ', this small and intimate venue offer a varity of both Thai and European cuisine. Enjoy a romantic evening on our suspended deck only meters from the waters edge, or watch the world pass by on our street side seating. Our small and unique menu is designed to cater for all tastes with a perfect balance of Thai and European flavours.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant, best food we had on Koh Samui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

First restaurant we went to and although we tried many others the four of us rated Nirvana the best by a considerable margin. Absolutely sensational food ( my favourite was the Tom Yun Goong soup but if you say yes if they ask whether you want it Thai style you'd better like it HOT! ) When you consider the excellence of the food in general on Koh Samui you have to be pretty special to elevate yourself above the others but Nirvana ace it. It's in the best part of Koh Samui as well, being right in the heart of the Fisherman's Village, so book a balcony table overlooking the ocean and enjoy this wonderful place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    26
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Visited this restaurant on our last night in Koh Samui and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent and cooked right in front of us. This was without doubt the best meal we had on our trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Well, we are back in South Africa and missing the wonderful meals we had at Nirvana! We stayed in Samui for a month and once we got to Nirvana... We had found ours!
The Nirvana and Pepper Steak are to die for. We ordered the prawns on a few occasions and I can honestly say it's the best prawns we have had anywhere. We are a family with two grown up daughters and we have very different food tastes but Nirvana delivered! We found Torben and his lovely wife great hosts. We even had some special requests which they happily saw to! The wine by the glass was an ample serving and good value. We spent many great evenings there and I would recommend it highly! Can't wait to return. Thanks Torben for being a great host! The Sterlings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

found this in Trip Advisor during last leg of trip, brilliant food & being sat right in front of the food prep/cooking area was fabulous - the two lady chefs worked their doo-da's off during a sudden rush of punters, slight delay on starters arriving but well worth the wait. A must visit if you are fortunate enough to visit this gorgeous location!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
466 helpful votes 466 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had read good things about here on tripadvisor and thought we’d give it a go. Both the food and service were good, good value too, lived up to it’s good reviews.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.