We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ochos Steakhouse at Akaryn

Ochos Steakhouse at Akaryn
63/182 Moo 5 | Akaryn Resort & Spa Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Ochos)
+6677914700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 301 Restaurants in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 44 Reviews
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: OCHOS is a Premium Steakhouse, using only top Quality ingredients,simply prepared. What matters in our cuisine are the main ingredients. Please note that we only serve our seafood specials on Friday & Saturdays, due to our seafood delivery on Fridays. The rest of the week we focus on top quality Meats!
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We're looking for dining option out of the ordinary. The setting of Akaryn is certainly divine and the service was great although we were only one of two customers so would have been interesting on a busy night. All in all it was a fab experience and certainly a fine dining 'tapas' experience rather than sitting a bar munching away. It was expensive but the presentation and flavours were amazing. The tuna and Osso bucco got the double thumbs up from the whole family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Ochos Steakhouse at Akaryn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your helpful review on Tipadvisor. Indeed, our restaurant is one of the best dining options for "that" extraordinary experience. We offer fabulous quality of steak in fine presentation with food matching wine. Our team is very delighted that we met the expectations of your whole family. Please visit us again and we would be more than happy to serve you in near future.

Thank you

Your Ochos team at AKARYN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Dine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We ate in Ochos during our stay in Akaryn. The food had blown us away! The taste is just great and the portion is just right (as tapas)! We tried almost everything in the menu as we have quite a big group family. We enjoyed the atmosphere too as they offered, long table... Fine but casual... It's just like some of the wine bars you could find in Lan Kwai Fong but quieter and refine. We surely recommend you to try out this new restaurant in Akaryn if you are going to stay there. It is a different experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“OCHOS! Will definitely visit again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were at OCHOS few days ago and must say this must be easily one of the best places I have been so far on the island.

Great food, and a very nice staff.

The good thing here is that portions are tapas size which means you can actually try many dishes, in fact they have three different options where you can choose a selection of 3,5 and 8.

I recommend the ratatouille with goat cheese ice cream and the salmon tartar.

Thank you OCHOS and hope to visit again soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice Tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I tried ochos, 3 days after its opening and I was quite impressed as its quite different than other tapas restaurants that I tried in Bangkok. The food is quite innovative and the presentation is excellent. As I was one of the first customers, they let me try their ham with molecular tomato and it was really good

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Something new on Samui! And Love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Ochos has been opened finally on the fifth of December 2012 after hearing about it for months! I was lucky to be invited for their opening dinner. Belows are my honest opinions:
Food:
WOW! Pantanegra ham top with fruit caviar... Goat cheese Ice cream... Crackers with gras ... Scallop with coconut sticky rice... Salmon tartar... Slow cooked beef with potato risotto... Chess cube... Every single dish that been served was just amazing from the flavor, presentation, cooking skills, and most importantly you can feel the 'heart' of the chef!
Beverage:
Start with their signature molecular sangria! It's absolutely new to me, but like it! It's a funny feeling that you kind a drinking a sparkling wine, but you get to chew some fruits caviar that burst in your mouth when you bite them! The selection of wine accompanying the dish were just right and make our dining experience a different one!
Service:
Service in Akaryn Resort were good is known, but in this particular restaurant, is even better!
Dining concept:
The restaurant were set with long tables which I first thought was because of the opening there are more diners that they could not cater with the normal set up. I was wrong! The manager told us that the restaurant is set as such for the real tapas concept! There are also seats set at the kitchen bar where you could watch the chefs cooking and decorating the plates (which was a pleasure).
Atmosphere:
The restaurant is equip with both air conditioned and open air. At the open air area, is just next to the resort's spa and fish pond which definitely gave us a very relaxed and fresh feelings.
All in all, we did enjoyed the opening dinner so much! Thanks to Akaryn Resort for the invitation. We will definitely come back for dinner on our own again!
Congratulations and well done!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ochos Steakhouse at Akaryn also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Ochos Steakhouse at Akaryn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ochos Steakhouse at Akaryn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.