We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location for a vegetarian meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amala - CLOSED

Amala
16/8, 16/13-26 Moo 4 | Prana Resort, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 7724 6362
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely location for a vegetarian meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The tom yum soup was nice. The rice paper roll was fresh but a bit bland. The red and green curries were good. Highly recommended for vegetarians visiting the island as the location has great views of the beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Being a vegetarian, I was excited to hear about this all Vegetarian restaurant. Headed there on the second day of holiday (had to convince the husband) and was excited to see a great menu - all vegetarian! There is mexican, italian, thai and various soups and salads. Decided to order a phad thai, spring rolls and mexican wraps. The phad thai was okay, not a flavour burst but average. The spring rolls were filled with glass noodles and overall were bland. The mexican bean wrap was soooo bland and tasteless we ended up leaving it. The fries that came with it, were those crinkle cut frozen fries (by the looks and taste of them) again extremely disappointing.

Perhaps we ended up there on the wrong day, as other people seem to have rated it highly.

I can say the views are amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian in Ko Samui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Finding vegetarian food in Samui was a challenge compared to Chiang Mai and Bangkok.
Amala is wonderful! The menu is quite expansive and everything we got was very food. I would say that we enjoyed the Thai food better than the Western food here overall. The curry that we had was out of this world and the tempura was made perfectly.
Well worth the trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I am a vegeterian and their thai and mexican food was the best. we were staying very far from this hotel (Prana Beach Villas) but still went there twice for dinner as the food was just too good. A must go for vegetarians. Best thai food i have ever had.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian food, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband picked Amala for a night out in Samui as I'm vegetarian. The restaurant itself is beautiful - not cluttered, beautiful views, and the herb garden is a nice touch. The food was fantastic and SO fresh. I had one of the best Panang curries I've ever had. We were also pleasantly surprised with our final bill - talk about value for money! Unfortunately we were the only 2 in the restaurant. This restaurant definitely deserves more customers than that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amala also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.