We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian in Ko Samui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amala - CLOSED

Amala
16/8, 16/13-26 Moo 4 | Prana Resort, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 7724 6362
Website
Improve this listing
4.5 of 5 stars 26 Reviews
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian in Ko Samui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Finding vegetarian food in Samui was a challenge compared to Chiang Mai and Bangkok.
Amala is wonderful! The menu is quite expansive and everything we got was very food. I would say that we enjoyed the Thai food better than the Western food here overall. The curry that we had was out of this world and the tempura was made perfectly.
Well worth the trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I am a vegeterian and their thai and mexican food was the best. we were staying very far from this hotel (Prana Beach Villas) but still went there twice for dinner as the food was just too good. A must go for vegetarians. Best thai food i have ever had.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian food, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband picked Amala for a night out in Samui as I'm vegetarian. The restaurant itself is beautiful - not cluttered, beautiful views, and the herb garden is a nice touch. The food was fantastic and SO fresh. I had one of the best Panang curries I've ever had. We were also pleasantly surprised with our final bill - talk about value for money! Unfortunately we were the only 2 in the restaurant. This restaurant definitely deserves more customers than that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food,Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a great time at Amala. The evening was brilliant with slight drizzle, and we sat by the beach. The food was awesome. We had mexican starters and Italian and Thai for Main Course and every thing was delectable! Slightly out of the way from Main Town Chaweang - but it was well worth the visit as we were already in the neighborhood!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic dinner (almost) on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good vegetarian food and very friendly staff. All the food was very good, the cocktails were all delicious (we had 3), there was not a single thing wrong during our dinner. They served exactly in the pace we asked for and called our cab when we wanted to leave. Excellent restaurant. I hope they get more customers, because during our dinner only 3 tables were taken and they certainly deserve more than that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amala also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.