We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food,Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amala - CLOSED

Amala
16/8, 16/13-26 Moo 4 | Prana Resort, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 7724 6362
Website
Improve this listing
4.5 of 5 stars 26 Reviews
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food,Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a great time at Amala. The evening was brilliant with slight drizzle, and we sat by the beach. The food was awesome. We had mexican starters and Italian and Thai for Main Course and every thing was delectable! Slightly out of the way from Main Town Chaweang - but it was well worth the visit as we were already in the neighborhood!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic dinner (almost) on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good vegetarian food and very friendly staff. All the food was very good, the cocktails were all delicious (we had 3), there was not a single thing wrong during our dinner. They served exactly in the pace we asked for and called our cab when we wanted to leave. Excellent restaurant. I hope they get more customers, because during our dinner only 3 tables were taken and they certainly deserve more than that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This vegetarian restaurant has great views of the ocean and really good food. When we went, there were only two other people in the place, so service was quick and very friendly. We stuck with the Thai menu and it was very delicious, but the green curry had a bit a strong pea-flavor (it was full of peas).

They have some mint growing behind the tables, which is neat to look at.

The price is higher than what you'd find at a regular beach side place, but the ambiance is much nicer. I recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great selection, friendly staff, beautiful ocean views, tasty food and drinks, and price matched the ambiance and quality of service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in Koh Samui -Chewang area and struggled with vegetarian food. We love fine dining and thought Amala would be worth a visit. The food was lovely, couldn't find a fault. We've been to most fine dining vegi restaurants in London and Amala is definitely in par with those. We went there twice during our 7 day holiday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amala also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.