We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Vegetarian Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amala - CLOSED

Amala
16/8, 16/13-26 Moo 4 | Prana Resort, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 7724 6362
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Splendid Vegetarian Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Although it's just vegetarian dining, the dishes were very good and fulfilled our appetite. The price were quite reasonable too given that it's a restaurant in Prana Resort. And also, it has won an award. :)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven for a vegeterian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've had a dinner with my non veg wife today.
Food was surprising in new flavours and tastes we didn't experienced before. We've tried only thai food, as it seemed to be better than italian style.
Food was just great and we've got an excellent service.
My wife liked it as well.
One tiny problem we have had: food was sometimes to spicy. (This is hard to admit for spicy eaters like us...)
In total, we wil make an effort to return visiting before we leave samui!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The setting was great and the waiter was nice and trying his very best. The dish one of our party chose, the aubergine, turned out to be unavailable. It would have been good to have been told this at the time we ordered. Most of the desserts were also unavailable because, we were told, the fridge had broken down. Don't know why the mango and sticky rice dessert was also off the menu. Two of us had the spinach appetizer and loved it, the tofu kebabs and sushi were fine but nothing out of the ordinary. Main dishes and desserts were also just ok. the lychee/mint/green tea drink was lovely and we had a refill.
All in all, not bad but not worth the money. We have had amazing vegetarian " gourmet feasts" before, often for less than we paid here, hence the disappointment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice vegetarian restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were lucky to find a vegetarian restaurant in Samui. The food was delicious. However, as per the waiter's explaination, because of the sorbet machine was broken and the sticky rice was not good that day, there was no choice of dessert. We could only try the Tiramisu, but not too bad.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We visited the place after going to the Big Buddha. The restaurant is located within the Prana resort. The entire menu is vegetarian and you get a choice of Thai or Western.
We sampled from the Thai menu and let me tell you... You will not know you ate eating vegetarian food. I has two meat eaters with me and they absolutely loved the food. The service was impeccable and view amazing. -you can actually see the Big Buddha from a distance.
I would definitely recommend this place. -do not let the vegetarian menu fool you. The flavor is so tasty that you will not miss the meat.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amala also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.