We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We moved after one night.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peace Resort to your Saves list
Peace Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Wimbledon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We moved after one night.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We were meant to stay at Peace Resort for 8 nights but decided to move after seeing the accommodation. This review may go against the grain of other reviews and I’m not normally the sort of person to complain. However, we did move to the Bandara which was next door after seeing how the other half live. We called expedia and asking how much it could cost to move. We expected to have to pay quite a lot more but were surprised to find it was the same price. The Bandara is in a completely different league and we had an excellent stay. I would strongly recommend you compare the Bo Phut, Bandara and Anatara (spelling?) as they are all next to each other but are much better value then Peace.
We felt that the bungalows lacked privacy and did not match the photos they have on the website. The bungalows resembled a conservatory as they had nine large windows wrapping around the room so if you wanted privacy you had to pull the blinds down leaving you with a small dark room as the lighting was poor. If you kept the blinds up you could sit on your bed and look at your neighbours who would be a couple of meters away from you on all four sides. The rooms where also very small and poorly laid out.
The facilities at the hotel were also a let down as the pool was small and crowded, the gardens were none existent and the restaurant was also not up to scratch. We also felt the hotel were unhelpful once we decided to move (within 2hrs of arriving) as they made us stay for the night even though we had not used the room. I guess it was their prerogative but it did leave a sour taste. Fortunately we did not stay long enough to find other faults.
Strongly advise you to look at the other hotels as they are much much better and you can get similar deals!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    244
    65
    16
    14
See reviews for
101
325
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

SAWASDEE-KA
We stayed at Peace Resort a girlfriend and myself for 7 nights. Peace Resort is in Bohput and only 10-15 minutes from Chaweng Beach (where all the nightlife is). I enjoyed staying at Peace Resort in Bophut as its quiet peaceful and relaxing alot less busier than Chaweng. It's right on the beach front and only a short walk along the beach to Fisherman's Village (alot of nice eating places). Accommodation is Villas with alot of greenery and in the entrance there's a nice waterful feature. Staff were extremly friendly and bar staff were very entertaining! They had organised alot of different events in the hotel (in the evening) and had put invitations by our door which i thought was cute and made us feel important.
We stayed in the deluxe room which was quite good. The pool was beautiful a bit small and all the chairs are facing inwards and close to the pool so you feel like everyone is watching you. We were the only 'Non Couples' staying there everyone seemed to be on their honeymoon and kanoodeling all the time (vomit bucket) but we still loved Koh Samui. I wasn't that impressed with the breakfast as its generally pretty busy and you have to get there early to get anything good as the food doesn't seem to be replaced when its empty but i think after 3 weeks in Thailand you get sick of eating Buffet brekkie everyday!!
The other thing is that they do not have a Non-Smoking section in the resturant anywhere so you could be in the middle with both tables lighting up either side of you which i thought was a bit rude (probably being an aussie and all). The hotel also has the best set up (along the whole beach) on the beach for dinner by sunset.
Just outside the Hotel (Entrance to Peace Resort) there is a travel agency (the second one along) and an American guy works there he is very helpful with organising tours and scooter hire etc. Scooters are $6 a day to hire and the best island tour would be Koh Ngyuyen (Japanese Garden). He gives good price too:)
I will be staying a Peace Resort next year and probably the Anantara also (which is 2 doors down from it) Overall i would rate this hotel!!!!
KA-PUN-KA!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

The resort is conveniently located near bohput village which is not as touristic as the other places on koh samui. The little huts are nice, the staff is nice, the swimming pool is good and service is good.
However don't leave anything valuable on your balcony/patio over night as it might be gone the next morning.

Stayed October 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at Peace Resort for 9 nights as the first stop on our honeymoon. It was really lovely. The only reason I am not giving it a full 5/5 is because the pool area wasn't amazing (although it was perfectly looked after and maintained).

We'd travelled for pretty much 2 days to get there (after only 3 hours sleep after our wedding) and when we arrived the staff were excited to see us and made a really big fuss of our honeymooners status.
We were upgraded to a Deluxe Wing room which was like a mini villa. There was an enclosed terrace with a stone bathtub (big enough for four) and little extras like bathrobes and slippers. It even had a tealight chandelier (with matches thoughfully provided).
It was made private from the suroundings with bamboo plants screening us. I loved this, but my new husband (although loving the room) missed having a view. To be honest though, apart from the beach front villas I don't think anywhere really had a view from their terraces.
The pool was the only disapointment. It was quite small for the number of guests, and the sunloungers were really bunched up. However we never had a problem finding one, even when we got up late.
Breakfast was fine - nothing amazing, but standard buffet style things. We only made it on a few days (as it wasn't really worth the effort for us). One day we went at 9.30 (it finishes at 10) and couldn't get a table as everyone else had obviously wanted a late start too!
Location was fabulous - right next door to the bophut resort and spa, about 20 minutes walk from Fisherman's Village. But who needs Fisherman's Village if you walk out onto the beach and turn left? I wish someone had told us to do just that at the beginning - beach bar after beach bar all on the sand with cheap Singha, cocktails and good value food. Many also had fresh seafood catches too.
Think it was definately best choice for value in Bophut - but this isn't a spa resort hotel.
Would happily recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at the Peace Resort for 2 nights in September 09. Found the staff to be very helpful and accommodation extremely comfortable. Food good quality, pool was lovely and hotel has a great beach location, where the sea is very good for swimming. Recommend late night cocktails on the beach looking out to Koh Phangan - just fabulous! Spa treatments were good but a little expensive. It's about 15 mins walk to 'Fishermans Village' - Shades restaurant, The Shack restaurant, and Karma Sultra bar all highly reccomended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Resort

Address: 178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#23 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bophut beach in the northeast of the island, the Peace Resort is a newly refurbished, friendly bungalow style resort, ideal for a relaxing family getaway. The style is best described as contemporary Thai with the architecture following local traditions, but a transformation in 2008 has given a more up-scale look and feel while the prices have remained very reasonable. The resort is well laid out in small buildings, ensuring a more intimate, human scale, while the grounds are tranquil and green, with a restaurant that spills out onto the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Resort Koh Samui
Peace Hotel Koh Samui
Peace Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.