We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Peace Resort to your Saves list
Peace Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Durango
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I am not that picky, however this hotel lost points on several areas.

My first clue should have been when I emailed them twice and received no response. I had booked through Travelocity and by mistake, entered 1 adult instead of 2. Travelocity was kind enough to try to call them directly, also twice, and both times they said that nobody answered the phone. They made sure to call during regular business hours.

I booked an upgraded room because it was in a newer building and had an outdoor bath. But this was a very poorly designed room. The bed was in a glassed in space with no place to store clothing. Once outside the glass enclosure, you had to walk down a hall to the bathroom, and all this space was not air conditioned. Within the bathroom space was a wardrobe with a few hangers, but no shelves or drawers. This room had no patio, as this space was used for the outdoor tub, which was completely useless. It was massive, and the water pressure was so low that it would have taken hours to fill it, and then the water would be cold. It was technically outdoors, but it was enclosed by a concrete wall for privacy. This space would have made a lovely patio.

They advertised a happy hour special that included buy 1 get 1 cocktail free. However there was a list of drinks and it applied to only those drinks. We could not get a vodka and tonic - the only drink they were willing to do with vodka was with Red Bull! Yuck! We found this to be nitpicky.

Another thing we found offensive was the sign by the pool towels that restricted guests of the hotel to one towel per day. This is supposed to be a nice resort, why shouldn't you be able to get a dry towel?

On a good note, the hotel had nice grounds, a nice pool and an average beach. But I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    244
    65
    16
    14
See reviews for
101
325
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at the Peace Resort in Bophut for ten days at the beginning of Jan 2014. The accommodation was perfect and was a short walk (10 mins) to the main Bophut area.
The bungalows were of a high standard as was the rest of the hotel and all members of staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was also perfect, with good food and plenty of choice.
The overall holiday was incredible and we would definitely return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Lovely setting, bungalows in the well established gardens were great. Got lost trying to find our room a couple of times when we first arrived. Hotel is very clean and the staff are delightful, always polite and always smiling. Could do with more drawers for clothes in the rooms, Only a small wardrobe so was difficult to store all our clothes.
The breakfast was very good, fruit , bread, cereals, chef to cook eggs how you wanted them, bacon etc. Other food in the hotel was also excellent, the only draw back was by the time the service charge and local tax was added it worked out quite expensive, as were the drinks. Not many people seemed to use the bar at nights which was a shame. However drinks were far cheaper in local bars so it was understandable really. It was very close to Fishermans Village where there were lots of reasonable restaurants and bars.
however saying all that , I loved the place it was so peaceful and a lovely hotel for a holiday. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The setting is fine , the staff are wonderful but small things let it down . All these points are minor but they turn a good hotel into a great hotel and sadly this is where The Peace Result let's it's self down
The rooms are comfortable and clean, but there is no storage space for suitcases o or clothes. The veranda chairs are very uncomfortable. They are either deckchairs or hard wooden upright chairs. Both are not conducive for sitting out in the evening sipping a long cold drink. This brings me on to my next gripe, the ridiculous price of drinks at the hotel bar. Just outside the hotel s main entrance you can buy a large can of local beer for 49 Thai Bht . At the hotel bar a small can of the same bear costs 120 Thai Bht . A ridiculous mark up in anyone's books , so obviously guests buy there beer and all other drinks in local shops. Further the hotel charge a 10% service charge, which I am sure is not passed on to staff. If I wish to tip I will, all this charge means to me is I eat outside the hotel. Come on Peace Result stop trying to rip off your customers, in the long run you would make more money as your guest would stay in house rather leaving to eat and drink.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

First impressions are good. The gardens are beautiful, the chalet we were in was surrounded by tropical trees and bushes.
2nd impressions were not quite so good. Our chalet was spacious with a good size bed, but overall it looked as though it needed refurbishment.
There was no proper drawer storage. And we had to make do with keeping some clothes in the wardrobe, this was made difficult because only one door opened. The result was living out of our suitcases, which I hate.
The biggest problem in my view was the bathroom/toilet door was only partly obscured. Also the only window was clear glass, opposite the similar window in the chalet 1 metre away.
Perhaps we're old fashioned, but we ended up washing and toileting in the dark!
I think this is one of those resorts where you should go only if you can get a good price.

Room Tip: Choose chalet accommodation. I read the beach side ones are the best (and priciest)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This resort has everything you need, a quiet area, but a short walk to fishermans village, if you want some more activity. We are staying in a bungalow. Gym great, wonderful walks on beach. Breakfast very good, lots of choices, amazing views from the restuarant off the sea. We booked our room on agoda for approx. $85 per night. The downside was check in, they said there was some confusion with agoda, and they put us in a room, that was glassed in, with outside bathtub. Manager suggested was an upgrade, I don't think so, bungalows much nicer. After we complained, all wasm good. I would recommend this resort for people who want to chill, and families.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just came back after a short stay in this hotel and had a great time!
The location is very nice on the Bophut beach. a little far from the Husell of Chaweng but its not a bad thing...:)
Upon arrival we got upgraded to a "DELUXE SEA BREEZE VILLA" that was amazing! very large room with both shower and a Jacuzzi, only a few steps from the beach.
The pool is very large and clean and provided a great relaxing place for the day..
The beach was nice but note that the water in this beach are often wavy and not as clean (hotel staff clean it every morning)
The hotel its a short walk on the beach from the very nice "Fisherman's village" promenade, that provides a great selection of restaurants and bars.
Breakfast buffet has all the options you can ask..
Hotel staff a extremely friendly and welcoming
a very good selection if you want a quiet getaway...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Resort

Address: 178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#23 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bophut beach in the northeast of the island, the Peace Resort is a newly refurbished, friendly bungalow style resort, ideal for a relaxing family getaway. The style is best described as contemporary Thai with the architecture following local traditions, but a transformation in 2008 has given a more up-scale look and feel while the prices have remained very reasonable. The resort is well laid out in small buildings, ensuring a more intimate, human scale, while the grounds are tranquil and green, with a restaurant that spills out onto the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Resort Koh Samui
Peace Hotel Koh Samui
Peace Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.