We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peace Resort to your Saves list
Peace Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Food only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I came here for food with friends who stayed there. The food was spot on, friendly staff and very relaxed atmosphere. The place itself looked amazing. We stayed around the pool majority of the day with the friends. the hotel was built around the trees which was original.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    299
    76
    18
    15
See reviews for
117
382
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is really a three star resort offering good value for money and would suit young families.

What's good ?

-Layout of the resort

-Pool

-Restaurant - a la carte is good (though most people staying don't eat there other than at breakfast)

-Location: nice stretch of beach and walking distance to fishermans village

-Breakfast fine

-Staff very friendly and helpful

-Gym: a recent addition, a bit small, but good to have

-Cookery course good fun (and filling)

-Free wifi

-Relatively cheap.

What's bad?

-Room quality. This varies a lot depending upon what you choose. In our case we booked rooms in the main complex to discover the bedroom was in a glass air conditioned box and the bathroom was outside of this. It had been raining heavily before we arrived and it was very buggy, so we upgraded to bungalows. Though better, these were not good: cramped by oversized uncomfortable furniture, single bank of power sockets hidden behind furniture, bathroom poor, no shaving socket etc.

-Overcrowding. When the place is at full capacity the place struggles to accommodate people round the bar and at breakfast and in the gym

-Billing. Numerous cases of having to get bills at the bar and restaurant corrected

-Spirits. Some of these are counterfeit (try the Pernod....)

-Front desk English is poor. Bizarrely, the restaurant staff seem to be more proficient.

-Beds overly firm, especially singles

-No games room: it would be good to have table tennis fussball etc

For Christmas eve dinner we went next door to the Bophut Resort just to confirm we weren't being overly down on the place. Ok, just an event, we weren't staying, but it was better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I spent 6 days at the Peace Resort and it was absolutely stunning. The rooms were excellent and very clean, the surrounds and location are perfect. Only a short distance from nathon and chaweng where the markets are recommend the Friday markets) The attention to detail in the gardens and surrounding resort are 2nd to none.

We had breakfast supplied which was quite good, but cannot comment on the restrraunt for meals as we did not eat there. We hired scooters for the.time we were there for 200baht a day from the resort, but if I went again I would recommend crossing the street and hiring them from Alyssa travel for the same money, but better bikes.We bought our own helmets from "the big C" shopping centre just up the road for 450baht because the ones supplied were terrible.

I would also recommend after 5:30pm buying drinks at the before mentioned Alyssa travel for only 60baht per cocktail.very cheap and nice friendly people.

My first time in koh samui, but will go back and stay at the.peace resort again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Room
On arrival we got some welcome drinks, the staff were friendly and we got to our room quickly. We didn't get a superior bungalow like we booked but the room was so nice we decided to keep it. The room had a large 2 person bath on the balcony and was very nicely decorated. However, we had bed bugs. I was badly bitten every night and saw a couple of bugs jumping around the bed. We had our sheets changed but this didn't make any difference. I dreaded going to bed on a night.

Entertainment/facilities
This hotel is very quiet and peaceful. Maybe too quiet. There was no entertainment and little to do outside the hotel. The restaurant is way more expensive than outside the resort. I recommend a restaurant called addy Siam cooking class and restaurant. There is a separate spa across the road which is also expensive. There are many massage places outside the resort which are great and cheap. The beach wasn't well kept. It hurt to walk on the beach, the sand was very hard and rough. The pool area was nice and a nice size but the pool was very cold.

Fisherman's village
There is a fisherman's village just a 10 minute walk away which has stalls and food places. Go on a Friday for the market. There is lots to buy. Dont knock the street food stalls as the food is very good.

All in all the staff in this resort are very nice but I do think it is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. What a great place for it.. Its not a 5 star resort, but to me it felt like it was. The facilities and the staff were excellent. Koh Samui as a whole is an amazing place.. but as good as the resort is, there is plenty of exploring to do.. A must see is the local Friday night market at the Fishermans Village.. Don't be scared also to eat "street food", very nice, and amazingly cheap.. Make sure you eat from the people that sell food on the beach (prawns, spring rolls, chicken, mango etc..).. This resort is in a perfect location, as its walking distance to many good shops and resteraunts.. Its also a great base to explore the island from taxi or a vespa.. (this was one of the best parts of the trip) and for about $7AU a day, great value too.. We stayed in a Superior Bungalow, which was very comfortable (a little small for luggage), but the only real downside was the water pressure for having a shower, however this could be just a general problem with the island, so no big deal.. We had free WiFi which we could connect to over the whole resort.. And dont forget to get a great Deep Thai massage on the beach (every day), it's only about $10AU for an hour...
Overall we were extreamly happy, and plan on coming back again soon... (my brother and nephew will be there in a week).. I should be getting commision? :)

Room Tip: Our room was further away from the beach which was good, as if there are any night activities planne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've been back to the peace for the third time this year still exultant value for what you pay
Booked for two months in 2014

Staff outstanding service from reception to cleaner in room very polite and friendly

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Peace Resort for 8 days after 16 days non stop travelling and sightseeing in China plus two hectic days in Bangkok. We were looking for a hotel which would allow us to relax and the Peace Resort certainly did this. The bungalow, perhaps a little outdated, was clean and spacious had everything you needed. After being there for two days the Resort introduced free WiFi which, although hit and miss at times, was a real bonus and is a very positive addition to the hotel.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Something that was difficult to understand was the price of drinks at the Peace Resort. It was much cheaper to use your own room mini bar than order drinks at the pool bar and even happy hour was not the temptation it should have been - a real shame as the bar staff were excellent and it was a great place to meet people.
The location is good with Fishermans Village a short walk away. It has plenty of restaurants and eating on the beach is a wonderful experience - we ate on the beach at Shades and the food was good and at a reasonable price. If you there on a Friday evening make sure you go to the market - well worth a visit. If you want somewhere cheap to eat with excellent food try KSiri next to the hotel or Cafe 69 down the road.

If you want absolute luxury this might not be the place for you but if you are looking for a very friendly and well run hotel which allows you to relax, this is the place for you. Peace Resort - a place with charm and that something a little different.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Resort

Address: 178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#22 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bophut beach in the northeast of the island, the Peace Resort is a newly refurbished, friendly bungalow style resort, ideal for a relaxing family getaway. The style is best described as contemporary Thai with the architecture following local traditions, but a transformation in 2008 has given a more up-scale look and feel while the prices have remained very reasonable. The resort is well laid out in small buildings, ensuring a more intimate, human scale, while the grounds are tranquil and green, with a restaurant that spills out onto the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Peace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Resort Koh Samui
Peace Hotel Koh Samui
Peace Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.