We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort right on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peace Resort to your Saves list
Peace Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
El Segundo, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This beautiful resort kept filtering out of my Trip Advisor search since they don't have it listed as being on the beach, But it is! I finally discovered this fact on their website and am so glad I did. The rates are really reasonable and the location is perfect. The bungalows are lovely and situated in a gorgeous, lush tropical setting. The pool and bar area were very nice (there are pool-side massages available at about $10 US for an hour!) We ate dinner in the village each night, so can't comment on the restaurant. Best of all, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. When we had to leave to catch our flight at 4:30am, they had to-go breakfast bags for us to take with us. They also helped book a trip to the marine park for us. They just could not have been nicer. We really hated to leave this place and look forward to returning someday.

Room Tip: All of the garden bungalows looked to be in great locations around the pool and were just steps from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    299
    76
    18
    15
See reviews for
117
382
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The resort is on a lovely peaceful setting of a tropical garden and we found the bungalows to be perfect. They are far enough away from each other to be private, have everything you need including a couple of deck chairs on the balcony to enjoy a lovely evening drink or two. The location to Bophut is great, only a short walk along the beach.

We hired a scooter from the hotel which was hassle free, also the reception organised any taxis we required.

The breakfast was good. The pool was busy, which was fine as there are also many beach chairs on the beach. We bought our lunch from the Thai people cooking food and selling it on the beach outside the resort which was cheap and great food.

We would recommend this resort and we would love to return.

Room Tip: Our bungalow was at the end of the walkway so we didn't have many people walking past. It was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Overall a very enjoyable stay in July. There were six of us at one stage. My wife and I had a cottage at the top end which was fine if a little in need of a revamp. My sister in law had a cottage near the beach which was seriously nice but significantly more expensive.

The pool was good but the sea a bit messy (hopefully only oily). Get the cocktails at happy hour and enjoy the view. Fisherman's village is about 10-15" stroll along the road with a good choice. Never ate at the hotel in the evening generally as too pricey. My wife and daughter did go to the evening barbeque which was very poor. However some of our lunches were very good.

If you need issues in your room sorting ask the maids who usually get the rather slow wheels in motion. Staff generally excellent and very friendly. My family really enjoyed the poolside massage.
Never been to Thailand before so not able to comment re the hotel in comparison with others.

Room Tip: Rooms near beach seem to have been done up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After much hesitation about where to stay in Koh Samui, we eventually decided to book the Peace Resort in Bophut, mainly due to the number of good comments. We weren't disappointed! The hotel accommodation mostly bungalows, is situated in spacious landscaped tropical gardens with winding paths leading to the pool and beach. The view from the pool/restaurant/beach onto Koh Pha Ngan is lovely.
We had 3 teenagers with us, so we booked 2 de-luxe bungalows and 1 terrace room. The deluxe bungalows were nicely appointed with everything you would need including a hairdryer and a nice little terrace. The terrace room was, in my opinion, nicer - very modern Thai/colonial - but without a balcony. Although the rooms lacked storage space it wasn't a problem because we used the sofa in the living room area.
Despite the hotel being very busy (it was August) there was enough space for everyone and was never noisy. There were lots of sunbeds around the pool and on the beach, just a few steps away from the pool. The beach was very nice and although the sea wasn't crystal clear, it was fine for swimming. At lunchtime, most people on the beach order lunch from the ladies and man who come and cook the chicken skewers and spring rolls just by the water's edge. The food is delicious and costs next to nothing. At Bophut people tend to walk on the beach to get to Fisherman's Village as it's much quicker than by the main road. We went to Fisherman's Village a few times but preferred to eat at the restaurants near the hotel, particularly K-Siri next door (cheap and good Thai food) and Cactus (Thai, pasta and pizza) just down the beach. We never ate at the hotel due to the fact that we preferred to explore the neighbourhood.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the front desk staff and housekeeping. We rented motorbikes from the hotel (200 Baht a day) most days and had lots of fun exploring the island. There are lots of lovely places to visit and in our opinion, Chaweng is best avoided!
The walking street at MaeNam on Thursday evening was really nice. In fact, we really liked MaeNam and would probably stay there if we were to return. It has a lovely vibe and the beach was much quieter and prettier than Bophut. Our favourite bar was just past the pier, with the hammocks and the reggae.
We had a suit and some shirts made at the Indian tailor a few doors up from K-Siri and were really pleased with the finished products and the price.
I would definitely recommend hiring motorbikes to explore the island because there is so much to see. In Bang Kao we rented a longboat at Bang Kao Seafood (where we had a delicious lunch) and the nice Thai fisherman took us out for a memorable snorkelling trip to Ko Taen island just opposite. And, while you're in the south of the island, you must have a meal at the Beach restaurant. Our only disappointment was the trip to the Angthong Marine Park which cost quite a lot (5 of us) and it was a real tourist trap (old boat jam-packed with tourists, yelling tour guide, rubbish lunch, and the place was teeming with visitors so I'd give that a miss unless you are in a small private group.
All in all, it was a fantastic holiday and ticked all the boxes. Peace Resort was a great choice for us, and although it wasn't cheap, it was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was the most expensive accomodation of our holiday and a little disappointing due to the 'rules' in place such as only one towel per day at the pool, if anything is broken/lost in room will have to pay for it and had to apy for wifi. Also happy hour was a bit complicated with only percentage off certain drinks...why they could not just say buy one get one free I do not know. . Cosidering thecost of the accomodation would have expected more. The rooms however are absolutely beautiful and resort well kept and directly on the beach. If you want somewhere with a good atmosphere and traditiona Thai food try eating at KSIRI restaurant outside Peace Resort on right. Looks nothing from outside but food is delicious and very reasonable. By end of holiday many people from Peace Resort were eating in there and it was always full. Can even pay to get washing done there and everything comes back washed and ironed .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked on the strength of the reviews and were'nt disappointed. We would suggest not eating main meals in the hotel as they are a little overpriced and there is better local fair nearby.

Rooms are quiet, and the staff are very courteous, overall we think we made the best decision on this island to book here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Peace as a less expensive resort on a long trip where we'd been 5 star everywhere else. We stayed for 5 days and really enjoyed the quaint charm and peaceful surroundings of the hotel. Location is excellent- a romantic 10 minute walk into the fisherman's village along the beach (road is not recommended as smelly, noisy with cars and not paved all the way). There are numerous local restaurants and bars along the beach way. Pool area was nice and overlooked the sea. We stayed in a bungalow- I think the basic one 'deluxe bungalow' although not sure if there could be a class below. These were simple, comfortable and had a quaint thai style we had not experienced in other more expensive hotels or in 'blocks'. Yes, the rooms are not sumptuous but they are pleasant and fairly well equipped - tv, DVD, air con (not in bathroom which was hot!), umbrellas, beach bag, safe, fridge. Tv reception was poor- called engineers who briught a brand new tv but it didn't really improve the signal. Prices are on high side for food/drink but everything we had was good, including breakfast. Pool snacks were tasty and cocktails great. Take advantage of happy hour- 241 deal. We ate out every evening. Pool side thai massage was good value and good quality. The beach is nice enough with good views but the water wasn't that enticing as it had a scummy, oily residue -due, I think to boats. We visited the marine park on a day trip and got our fill of beautiful beaches there so were happy to lounge by the pool!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Resort

Address: 178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#22 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bophut beach in the northeast of the island, the Peace Resort is a newly refurbished, friendly bungalow style resort, ideal for a relaxing family getaway. The style is best described as contemporary Thai with the architecture following local traditions, but a transformation in 2008 has given a more up-scale look and feel while the prices have remained very reasonable. The resort is well laid out in small buildings, ensuring a more intimate, human scale, while the grounds are tranquil and green, with a restaurant that spills out onto the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Peace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Resort Koh Samui
Peace Hotel Koh Samui
Peace Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.