We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst service and accommodation ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Peace Resort to your Saves list
Peace Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 176 Hotels in Bophut
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The worst service and accommodation ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I checked in on 27 June 2013. On 27 June (same day) I had a problem with the bathtub, where the spray did not work. While they were fixing the bathtub (which is now still not working) I had a problem with the shower, where the shower did not drain so the bathroom over-flooded.

Today (29th) I woke up and the toilet was blocked. My whole family had to leave the apartment and use the pool toilet - and the toilet overflowed leaving an awful smell in the room.

Now I am back at my apartment (24hrs after complaining - because now I am livered) and there is still a smell because of the blocked toilet that is unbearable.

The staff tried to 'upgrade' me to a room that was smaller than the one I am in now, and with 2 adults and 2 children this would not work.

The office manager, who is incompetent, said they would move me next door to the same type of room. So I have to spend an hour packing and moving for zero compensation. When I asked what compensation they offered he looked at me and said "you have to understand that this is Thailand" - think for yourself what that meant.

Throughout my travels this is truly the worst experience I have ever had! If there are no issues with you accommodation or if you have no complaints you may have a good time, but do not depend on the staff or disgraceful manager to help you should issues arise.

Regards,

Room Tip: choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    223
    61
    16
    13
See reviews for
97
306
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recommended by a colleague for peaceful, tranquil and restful place to stay and it met those objectives 100% there is very little that I would say that is negative and will touch briefly at the end of this review on 'things that could be done better' rather than negatives.

Lovely lush tropical gardens tended daily by a number of gardeners, very clean, lovely pool toilets ! Loved the bean bags round the pool & the seating by the bar looking out over the bay to sip a drink before returning to room for a shower after a day on the beach. Did go to the gym twice, lovely aircon, clean and with great equip, x trainers, treadmill and bikes with some weights if you felt inclined. If you wanted to learn to cook, school on site and looked fab,. The last couple of days they started restaurant upgrade, but it was not an issue at all.

Big big plus for the Peace Resort for us was the restaurant. Now we are foodies and usually find not only your hotel restaurant is expensive but also often mediocre. Well not in the case of the Sea Wrap Restaurant ( hotel restaurant). it was not the cheapest but very reasonable and we had the Very very BEST Red curry which was crab and papaya curry with coconut at this restaurant. We were at the Peace Resort for 16 nights, going to Koh Tao for 2 nights in the middle, eating at cheap (the Hut) , middle range & posh ie the Zazen and Oceans 11 amongst others but the best curry & overall meal was at the Hotel restaurant Sea Wrap. Now I have never said this before about a hotel I have stayed in so there you go ! a first !!! We also had the Thai night Buffet on the beach and it was fab, they spent all afternoon arranging the furniture and stage and the buffet for around 40-50 people was great, delicious and just very very very good. Excellent even. All staff very friendly, restaurant and reception and the bar etc.... do struggle as very limited English in understanding but smilling and helpful all the way.

Beach is lovely, people say it is not a great beach but I thought it was lovely and not spoilt, quiet with no music blasting out all day. Just us and the birds, the sea & the wind through the tropical plants etc... birdies are characters pinching your food from your plates on beach. Loved the husband and wife team with kayaks preparing fresh fruit platters on the beach & cooking corn on the cob, spring rolls, prawns & satay on little barbecues ont he back of the kayaks. Saved me around 7lb in weight eating fruit each lunchtime.

So, I come to the things they can improve in etc....

1. A bit more basic English/german to help them communicate
2. Sunbeds in long line, very close to each other, needed to be a bit apart for a bit more privacy
3. Parasols were pretty old, wood gone and dirty looking - need up grading
4. WI FI - the poor reception staff, everyone complaining it should be FOC, so it should be as not only did I spend 1300 Thai B on it you had to make sure you had logged out correctly to ensure the clock was not still ticking etc.... they said they have told the management but the management are not listening to the staff or the customers ???? shame as it is a simple simple thing to fix and everyone will smile more
5. Loved the bungalows, but they are quite small, not a lot of space for your stuff etc.. but not a problem, A bit like being in goldfish bowl, having to keep curtains shut etc.... therefore making it dark all the time etc.... we were in room 132

Outside the hotel control - the sea water in week one - 10 days in was very muddy and looked very slimey in the afternoons,. The mud is fromt he bottom as you can feel in beneath your feet. Not nice really. Not sure how clean the sea was. May be being paranoid. Outside Hotels control and would be interested in other TA reviewers comments on this one.

These are only little things, overall we loved the PEACE OF THE PEACE RESORT & the building and it traditional look, the laid back feeling of being there, & would recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful an relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 9 nights at this beautiful resort recently, and I have to say its one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. So, what's so nice? All guests stay in detached bungalows, single storey, and all absolutely immaculate. they're not huge, but perfectly big enough. Beautifully appointed, with great air con and a lovely bed. The pool is lovely, as is the beach area. Prices are very good for a beach hotel, though, if like us, you prefer to eat out of the hotel, there are a number of great restaurants within walking distance. There are also locals who arrive by kayak on the beach each lunchtime and sell fresh fruits and stays etc. General ambience is great and the staff are just brilliant. We had breakfast included which was also very good. Massage facility was also excellent, and very well priced.
Only two small improvements needed in my opinion, firstly, wifi at any hotel should be free, which it isn't here. All the local restaurants provide it, so this encourages you to go out. The other point is that they need to allocate an area at the pool/beach for non smokers, as we always seemed to be next to a smoker.
Overall though, brilliant place. We planted a tree in the grounds, and look forward to returning in a few years to see how it's grown!

Room Tip: They're all good!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just stayed here for 5 nights and what a lovely 5 nights it has been. The resort is beautiful with clean, well appointed, bungalows nestling in lush mature vegetation. From check in to check out ever single one of the staff have been warm welcoming and smiling with all of them stopping to say hello/ good morning etc. The breakfast is more then adequate and sets you up or the day. The pool and bar area have a wonderful view out to sea and the neighbouring islands. Fisherman's Village is a short stroll the beach with lots of very good if pricey restaurants. There are a view annoyances though: 1. My credit card was pre-charged at a very poor exchange rate. 2. The shower was either scorching or cold (though a cold shower is not really a problem). 3. Restaurant renovations were taking place and were quite intrusive when sitting around the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Peace Resort Koh Samui for 4 nights while taking a break from the madness of Pattaya. And what can i say.. It was perfect. From the service we received on arrival,to the lovely room i had, the fantastic pool and sun loungers, friendly, helpful staff, great food and amazing views from the beach i cannot fault it. if it,s relaxation that you are after, lazy days and meals on the beach in the evenings, then The Peace Resort is the place to go, valur for money is great, 4.5 star hotel at 2 star prices.. Can.t wait to save up and go back.

Room Tip: Not sure there would be any bad rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've been coming to Samui for over 10 years, and usually stay at hotels under 2000B/night. We speak Thai, and already know where we want to dine (hint: never eat at the hotel), so I cannot speak to the language or food complaints raised by other guests.

First the bottom line: For the price, this hotel was pretty darn good on balance. The grounds are indeed peaceful: well kept gardens dotted with various species of trees labeled in English and Thai. The resort is in Bo Phut, so the beach is not as busy. It was clean and well maintained. The pool area is small (it's not some Cancun mega resort), but nicely organized, and certainly adequate. The bar, breezy (and overpriced as usual).

The staff are fantastic! Can you imagine having to smile and greet guests _all day_every_day, year in and year out? Well somehow they still manage to make it look genuine at Peace resort, while elsewhere everyone is usually completely jaded. We stayed with a baby and got a crib; housekeeping neatly folded the baby's blankets and arranged the toys strewn about daily. The rooms are decent, not scuffed up. The overall feel of the resort is great: wooden reception, nicely appointed bungalows with a little porch for reading, palm shaded, winding paths lead throughout the gardens. This is a major selling point: it just feels nice to be there. A lot of alternatives have you staying in 4-story concrete buildings, close to the busy main road, or there aren't enough trees, or they're just a little too budget for comfort (people yelling, playing with motor bikes for the first time, whatever).

Paying less than 2k Baht usually means that you'll have to put up with some complications. Here were ours: the shower always oscillated between uncomfortably hot and uncomfortably cold. It just did not work. We stayed for 6 nights. More would have been unpleasant with that shower. We told them. They said we needed to adjust it ever so slightly. We assured them, it was not working properly, and it was not a matter of technique. They sent a parade of folks in to check it out, said they would fix it. It never got fixed. We gave up on that one. The shower area is designed such that water sprays everywhere, and makes the floor by the adjacent sink totally wet. Every time. No bath soap -- just shower gel. It seemed like nice gel actually, not too perfumy, but showering with gel is somewhat of a hassle. Rooms do not have adequate lighting. Everything is kind of dim, and you can't read in bed without fully illuminating the whole bungalow. The phone, not that we really needed to use it, had yellowed from age. Computer cases from the 80's take on a similar hue. The air-con unit: it is the sort that takes 15 minutes for the compressor to engage after turning it on. Imagine getting back to your room, sweaty from carrying a child through the resort, and wanting some nice cool air right away... when you want it most, it does not come on. There's no fan either, no respite. The bungalow is like a sieve, so the room quickly gets up to the outside temp when the compressor cycles off during the night. At night, we found the room temperature to be too warm and too cold around the peaks of the AC cycle. But it was bearable.

No pens are provided. Just a pencil. I like the rustic edge to that, but a pen is cleaner and more practical. We asked a housekeeper for a pen, and she readily gave us one with a smile. It was her personal pen. She probably bought it herself from Tesco. Now, she probably makes the usual 10kB/month. So, in the end we felt bad. There's a kid out front who's job it is to direct traffic. Since we drove, this was fantastic. The main road is busy, and he would get the traffic to stop for a second so we could pull out or cross the street on foot. Unfortunately, the poor dude was given a dark uniform (hot, and hard to see), no safety vest, and his only signalling device was a ping-pong paddle with the word "stop" painted on one side. Perhaps they could pause and upgrade this poor chap? At least his girlfriend comes to keep him company sometimes.

Will we come back? If the price is still low, probably. Although we might explore other options too.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I travelled here in november 2011, Hotel was amazing, I was given one of the beach huts and it was perfect and quiet and helped to set the perfect setting for a holiday in thailand. The people were wonderful and could not have been more helpful. The hotel was clean to a very high standard and well maintained, The food was also very good however was more expensive than the food found a short walk down the road. The bars and restraunts in the local town were nice and this was the perfect location for a nice relaxing holiday however it is also accessible to all of the main things you would want to be taking part in when holidaying in thailand, Full moon party is a must and was an amazing night! And so is the elephant treck, there is a good trip organisation desk right outside the frount of the hotel and we used this for all of our trips and felt we got good value. Deffinately try the food from the people on the beach they are lovely and the food is very good for an afternoon snack at the pool. overall amazing holiday and would deffinately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Beach huts are the best rooms and it feels like you have your own little home for your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Resort

Address: 178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#24 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bophut beach in the northeast of the island, the Peace Resort is a newly refurbished, friendly bungalow style resort, ideal for a relaxing family getaway. The style is best described as contemporary Thai with the architecture following local traditions, but a transformation in 2008 has given a more up-scale look and feel while the prices have remained very reasonable. The resort is well laid out in small buildings, ensuring a more intimate, human scale, while the grounds are tranquil and green, with a restaurant that spills out onto the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Resort Koh Samui
Peace Hotel Koh Samui
Peace Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.