We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace-ful; mostly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Resort

Save Saved
You added Peace Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
Peace Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 53 hotels in Bophut
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Peace-ful; mostly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just stayed here for 5 nights and what a lovely 5 nights it has been. The resort is beautiful with clean, well appointed, bungalows nestling in lush mature vegetation. From check in to check out ever single one of the staff have been warm welcoming and smiling with all of them stopping to say hello/ good morning etc. The breakfast is more then adequate and sets you up or the day. The pool and bar area have a wonderful view out to sea and the neighbouring islands. Fisherman's Village is a short stroll the beach with lots of very good if pricey restaurants. There are a view annoyances though: 1. My credit card was pre-charged at a very poor exchange rate. 2. The shower was either scorching or cold (though a cold shower is not really a problem). 3. Restaurant renovations were taking place and were quite intrusive when sitting around the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    199
    58
    17
    13
See reviews for
87
269
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Peace Resort Koh Samui for 4 nights while taking a break from the madness of Pattaya. And what can i say.. It was perfect. From the service we received on arrival,to the lovely room i had, the fantastic pool and sun loungers, friendly, helpful staff, great food and amazing views from the beach i cannot fault it. if it,s relaxation that you are after, lazy days and meals on the beach in the evenings, then The Peace Resort is the place to go, valur for money is great, 4.5 star hotel at 2 star prices.. Can.t wait to save up and go back.

Room Tip: Not sure there would be any bad rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've been coming to Samui for over 10 years, and usually stay at hotels under 2000B/night. We speak Thai, and already know where we want to dine (hint: never eat at the hotel), so I cannot speak to the language or food complaints raised by other guests.

First the bottom line: For the price, this hotel was pretty darn good on balance. The grounds are indeed peaceful: well kept gardens dotted with various species of trees labeled in English and Thai. The resort is in Bo Phut, so the beach is not as busy. It was clean and well maintained. The pool area is small (it's not some Cancun mega resort), but nicely organized, and certainly adequate. The bar, breezy (and overpriced as usual).

The staff are fantastic! Can you imagine having to smile and greet guests _all day_every_day, year in and year out? Well somehow they still manage to make it look genuine at Peace resort, while elsewhere everyone is usually completely jaded. We stayed with a baby and got a crib; housekeeping neatly folded the baby's blankets and arranged the toys strewn about daily. The rooms are decent, not scuffed up. The overall feel of the resort is great: wooden reception, nicely appointed bungalows with a little porch for reading, palm shaded, winding paths lead throughout the gardens. This is a major selling point: it just feels nice to be there. A lot of alternatives have you staying in 4-story concrete buildings, close to the busy main road, or there aren't enough trees, or they're just a little too budget for comfort (people yelling, playing with motor bikes for the first time, whatever).

Paying less than 2k Baht usually means that you'll have to put up with some complications. Here were ours: the shower always oscillated between uncomfortably hot and uncomfortably cold. It just did not work. We stayed for 6 nights. More would have been unpleasant with that shower. We told them. They said we needed to adjust it ever so slightly. We assured them, it was not working properly, and it was not a matter of technique. They sent a parade of folks in to check it out, said they would fix it. It never got fixed. We gave up on that one. The shower area is designed such that water sprays everywhere, and makes the floor by the adjacent sink totally wet. Every time. No bath soap -- just shower gel. It seemed like nice gel actually, not too perfumy, but showering with gel is somewhat of a hassle. Rooms do not have adequate lighting. Everything is kind of dim, and you can't read in bed without fully illuminating the whole bungalow. The phone, not that we really needed to use it, had yellowed from age. Computer cases from the 80's take on a similar hue. The air-con unit: it is the sort that takes 15 minutes for the compressor to engage after turning it on. Imagine getting back to your room, sweaty from carrying a child through the resort, and wanting some nice cool air right away... when you want it most, it does not come on. There's no fan either, no respite. The bungalow is like a sieve, so the room quickly gets up to the outside temp when the compressor cycles off during the night. At night, we found the room temperature to be too warm and too cold around the peaks of the AC cycle. But it was bearable.

No pens are provided. Just a pencil. I like the rustic edge to that, but a pen is cleaner and more practical. We asked a housekeeper for a pen, and she readily gave us one with a smile. It was her personal pen. She probably bought it herself from Tesco. Now, she probably makes the usual 10kB/month. So, in the end we felt bad. There's a kid out front who's job it is to direct traffic. Since we drove, this was fantastic. The main road is busy, and he would get the traffic to stop for a second so we could pull out or cross the street on foot. Unfortunately, the poor dude was given a dark uniform (hot, and hard to see), no safety vest, and his only signalling device was a ping-pong paddle with the word "stop" painted on one side. Perhaps they could pause and upgrade this poor chap? At least his girlfriend comes to keep him company sometimes.

Will we come back? If the price is still low, probably. Although we might explore other options too.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I travelled here in november 2011, Hotel was amazing, I was given one of the beach huts and it was perfect and quiet and helped to set the perfect setting for a holiday in thailand. The people were wonderful and could not have been more helpful. The hotel was clean to a very high standard and well maintained, The food was also very good however was more expensive than the food found a short walk down the road. The bars and restraunts in the local town were nice and this was the perfect location for a nice relaxing holiday however it is also accessible to all of the main things you would want to be taking part in when holidaying in thailand, Full moon party is a must and was an amazing night! And so is the elephant treck, there is a good trip organisation desk right outside the frount of the hotel and we used this for all of our trips and felt we got good value. Deffinately try the food from the people on the beach they are lovely and the food is very good for an afternoon snack at the pool. overall amazing holiday and would deffinately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Beach huts are the best rooms and it feels like you have your own little home for your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irymple, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Wow, from the moment we arrived at check in to the moment of check out has been unbelievably the best service from all staff! We had 40 guest staying with us at the Peace Resort for our wedding (with Faraway Weddings) and everyone was well looked after! Cleanliness was second to none - we had a Sea Breeze room and daily room service and turn down service at night with fresh towels delivered each time. Bar staff will look After you if you look after them. Massage ladies are awesome and prices are the same as on the street! We will be coming back to stay in room 209 again! Only downfall that we can say is that there should be free WIFI! Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We traveled last year and stayed for 10 nights. The Resort is absolutely lovely. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the bathroom was just stunning. Sitting on the balcony we were surrounded by tropical vegetation so you could already relax at your doorstep.
The beach was lovely and only a few meters away. We didn't have breakfast included. There is a good variety of resorts in walking distance so we tried something different every other morning.
Overall we were having a wonderful time, the peace resort fits perfectly into the exotic surrounding of Koh Samui and has a most relaxing atmosphere. We would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed for 13 nights late May.Hotel very peaceful no loud music ,prices for food and drinks rather expensive at hotel so it seems most guests went out to eat .Lots of restaurants outside hotel reasonably priced and Fisherman's Village 10 mins walk where there is a lot of places to eat for all budgets Hotel itself is very nice and gardens are well kept and rooms cleaned daily found staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Resort

Also Known As:
Peace Hotel
Peace Resort Koh Samui
Peace Hotel Koh Samui
Peace Resort Ko Samui/Bophut
Address: 178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bophut beach in the northeast of the island, the Peace Resort is a newly refurbished, friendly bungalow style resort, ideal for a relaxing family getaway. The style is best described as contemporary Thai with the architecture following local traditions, but a transformation in 2008 has given a more up-scale look and feel while the prices have remained very reasonable. The resort is well laid out in small buildings, ensuring a more intimate, human scale, while the grounds are tranquil and green, with a restaurant that spills out onto the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Peace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.