We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and privacy but service could be improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akaryn Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Akaryn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Akaryn Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   63/182 Moo 5, Hanuman Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 427 Reviews
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Great rooms and privacy but service could be improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Akaryn as we were in Koh Samui for a friend's wedding. The website made the villas and rooms look amazing and at a very reasonable price for a 5 star hotel.

Making the reservation was a bit challenging - I was waiting for them to confirm whether the room rate included airport transfers and had to chase.

The rooms are beautiful and did not disappoint - we were in a pool villa with its own pool (approx 10 metres) and sun bathing deck. The room couldn't be faulted. It's clean, comfortable and very private. The communal areas and beach as equally as nice.

However, I am disappointed to write that it is a shame that the service at the Akaryn just doesn't live up to its 5 star rating. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels and the service here just doesn't compare.

The staff through out are friendly however their knowledge of English hampered their ability to provide a faultless service that I'd expect from a 5 star. I don't want to sound like a heathen by saying I expect everyone to speak perfect English when abroad as I don't, but when you pay to stay in a 5 star hotel I expect staff to be able to understand me so that they can provide the right level of service. On our first two mornings at breakfast I asked for tea and was given coffee even though the waiting staff repeated my order back to me. On one occasion I was given two cups of coffee in a row before my tea finally arrived. When ordering room service the staff member that answered the phone struggled to understand what we wanted. This is particularly difficult when the menu includes a number of Italian dishes (such as spaghetti alla vongole).

That aside, the speed of service generally at the three restaurants was also very slow to the point where it became a running joke amongst the group of friends we were with. Also the restaurant kitchens didn't seem to have the capacity to cook dishes so that they come out at the same time. On one evening with a party of 10 our main dishes come out over the course of 20 mins - some had already finished their meal by the time the final plates emerged from the kitchen.

Food and drink at the hotel is also expensive - probably comparable to prices you might expect to pay in a high end restaurant in London. The food itself was good - we had food from all three restaurants and room service - but the quality of the service was not up to scratch. In particular the steak restaurant is very expensive - you're looking at between £30 to £60 just for a steak (depending on the cut).

The most annoying thing is that the prices included in the food and drinks menus don't include 10% tip (which they add automatically to all bills) or 7% tax (the tax is applied to the 10% tip as well!). So be aware that you'll be paying nearly 20% more than the list price.

The spa treatments were fabulous and well worth the money. When we were there they were offering 50% discount on your second treatments and also a Spa Buffet where for THB3000 you could pick any number of treatments (from their buffet menu) to have in 2.5 hours.

Overall I loved the room, the private pool and the privacy - all at a reasonable price. I would stay there again on that basis as long as the price stayed reasonable, but I probably wouldn't eat at the hotel. I'd much rather venture into nearby Chaweng or Bo Phut.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to write such a review on tripadvisor. It is a pity to hear that you were not served the way other guests are served during their stay. Our restaurant service and particularly the variety and quality of breakfast, normally receives very favorable comments. Furthermore it is a shame that you did not like the food at our restaurants. The team would like to apologize for the fact that there was some miscommunication with the staff. Please be aware that our staff is doing its utmost best for the guest and that they are trying their best with their level of English. Our spa team is very happy to hear that you enjoyed the relaxing treatments and that they have met all your expectations. At last our rooms are comfortably designed and are very relaxing. The rooms are all accompanied with a pool so that the stay is even more private and relaxing. It was a great pleasure to have you at AKARYN spa & resort, it would be a pleasure welcoming you again so we can show we are up to the standards.

If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally; this is the best way to book the resort at rm.asm@akaryn.com

Warm regards,

Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    106
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
59
265
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is the best one I have ever been in all my travels. The location is perfect and the rooms are absolutely amazing. The staff is warm and is available for anything you would request: 7 stars service !. I m totally in love with this place and cannot wait for coming back. Thanks a lot to all the management team and the staff. You are doing a fantastic job !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Many thanks for your positive review on tripadvisor, it means a lot to us. It is also very important to hear that you more than enjoyed your stay and that you “fell in love” with our resort. This should be a good reason to come back and visit us very soon. Thank you for choosing AKARYN resort&spa and we hope to see you in the future.
If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally; this is the best way to book the resort at rm.asm@akaryn.com
Warm regards,
Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very good luxery hotel to spend some few days far from all turmoils. With the private beach and the swiming pool, we can spend days doing nothing or just enjoy the island by booking trip or renting a motorcycle to have your own wheels which is recommanded. It is a few minutes to Choeng Mon with a very beach for swin (the one from the hotel is not so swimmer-friendly => too much rocks) or go to the turmoil of Chawaeng (10 min) for night life and shopping.

The overall hotel decoration is very nice (espcially the rooms) and everything is there to make yourself confortable. The only drawback is that our room with private small pool (all of them have at last a 3x3m pool) was under a tree which mean a lot of leaves to remove from the terrace and worse from the swimming pool : we needed to call room service everytime we wanted to use it but they were quick to come. Apart from that it is really paridise.

We didn't have time to try their dinner restaurant since we spend a lot of time outside for visiting but breakfast was outstanding. Already a gourmet experience at wake-up with real good pastries and some of the best fried rice or chicken cashew nuts or beef Nothing like that to start a good day.

Thank you again to all the team for this very good and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms under big tree for pool cleanness
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear valued guest,
Our team is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at AKARYN. It is indeed a very special location that we have and especially with our quiet beach. You are far away from all the party noises of Chaweng, our resort is seeking for relaxation. We are very proud to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast; it is indeed a very good place to start the day with the view on the sea and the lovely pastries that we offer. The rooms with private small pool do have the problem with the leaves, but be aware that our team is doing its utmost best to fulfill the guest’s wishes. Thank you very much for your review and recommendation and we hope to welcome you again in the future at AKARYN Samui.
If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally to book and this is the best way to book the resort at rm.asm@akaryn.com
Warm regards,
Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My fiancée and I visited for 7 days for a getaway before our baby is due in a few months. We could not have been any happier with our stay and the resort. The staff go out of their way to make you feel special, and every request we had was met in a friendly manner.

We were after a place that offered great rooms, great views, a bit of luxury, but also a degree of privacy. Akaryn and its staff absolutely nailed in every respect.

The food choice is fantastic, and all the bar and waiting staff aim to please. We used the spa for scrubs and massages and it was top notch. They accommodated the pregnancy with care and we thought the sap was good value for money also.

The resort is not far from Chawang and the Fisherman’s village for those that need a bit of nightlife. Cabs are cheap and the resort organises helpful shuttle services as well. It’s great to do a few excursions, especially without the hassle, but still enjoy enviable seclusion at Akaryn.

The real beauty lies in its views, particularly from the beach villas and pool area. You can’t see any other beach resort and it really feels like you are in a nice quiet oasis. An oasis with a well stocked bar!

I’d definitely recommend this resort to couples looking for a great villa and a bit of down-time in Samui

Room Tip: We stayed in a pool seaview villa which was fantastic. Great proportions, both comfortable and luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you very much that you have taken the time to write a review about us on tripadvisor, it means a lot to us. It is our major duty in the resort to take good care of our guests and the team does its best to exceed the guests’ expectations. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay before your baby arrives. We do have a good selection of different excursions which are really worth trying once you are here. Our spa team is pleased to hear that they took good care of you and the baby during the massage. Many thanks that you recommend our resort because it is indeed a good escape from the hectic life. We hope to see you again at AKARYN resort&spa.
If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally to book and this is the best way to book the resort at rm.asm@akaryn.com
Warm regards,
Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
1 review
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed in Akaryn Resort & Spa beginning of April. It is simply a breathtaking place, and the staff is very polite and always willing to assist you. You don't have to worry about anything, this is exactly what we wanted.
Their restaurants are also very good especially their pizzas and their steak house!
We loved enjoying the fantastic view of the beach from their 3 swimming pools.
The villa we stayed in was really nice, and our private swimming pool was just fab.
We can only recommend you to stay there!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation on tripadvisor. Your recommendation about our steak house OCHOS and our famous wooden made pizzas means a lot to us. We have indeed very good restaurant with a wide range of different type of dishes. By having three swimming pools it gives the opportunity to look for a quiet place to relax. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the pool villa with its 8 meter swimming pool. It was a pleasure to have you here, and we hope to welcome you soon.
If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally; this is the best way to book the resort at rm.asm@akaryn.com
Warm regards,
Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Very good overall experience from check in to check out. After 5 nights i can say the Room are great and food especially are perfect .
The GM was very helpful as well as all the staff . Recommended :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive review that you posted on tripadvisor for us. We are glad to hear that the 5 nights you spend with us were great. Our rooms are indeed very comfortable even for guest that stay for a long time with us. We are proud to hear that you enjoyed our large variety of food that we offer. The staff would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future at AKARYN spa&resort.

If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally; this is the best way to book the resort.

Warm regards,

Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is just a paradise! We've been there with my wife and had beautiful 4 days. Check-in was fast and then frienldy staff escorted us to our room. The bed was georgeos and we spent all of our time in the resort, enjoying ourselves.
Food is excellent as well as wine selection. Staff is very friendly and they are really looking after you
I could wish nothing more!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor, it means a lot to us. AKARYN is the perfect place to stay as a couple to enjoy relaxation. Our team is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself in the resort and that you like it. Our team does its outmost best to fulfill all the guests’ wishes. It would be a pleasure to welcome you at AKARYN in the near future so you can enjoy another good holiday.

If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally to book and this is the best way to book the resort..

Warm regards,

Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akaryn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaryn Resort & Spa

Address: 63/182 Moo 5, Hanuman Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bophut
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#12 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akaryn Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKARYN Samui is an award Winning Luxury Boutique hotel located just 7 minutes north of Chaweng on Samui.For all booking and special enquiries please contact us directly for guaranteed best available rates and special offers.Thank you Matthias Jaeckel, Resident Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Akaryn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaryn Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaryn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.