We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PLACE TO BE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akaryn Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Akaryn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Akaryn Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   63/182 Moo 5, Hanuman Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 424 Reviews
Annecy, France
1 review
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“THE PLACE TO BE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed in Akaryn Resort & Spa beginning of April. It is simply a breathtaking place, and the staff is very polite and always willing to assist you. You don't have to worry about anything, this is exactly what we wanted.
Their restaurants are also very good especially their pizzas and their steak house!
We loved enjoying the fantastic view of the beach from their 3 swimming pools.
The villa we stayed in was really nice, and our private swimming pool was just fab.
We can only recommend you to stay there!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation on tripadvisor. Your recommendation about our steak house OCHOS and our famous wooden made pizzas means a lot to us. We have indeed very good restaurant with a wide range of different type of dishes. By having three swimming pools it gives the opportunity to look for a quiet place to relax. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the pool villa with its 8 meter swimming pool. It was a pleasure to have you here, and we hope to welcome you soon.
If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally; this is the best way to book the resort at rm.asm@akaryn.com
Warm regards,
Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    104
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
59
264
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Very good overall experience from check in to check out. After 5 nights i can say the Room are great and food especially are perfect .
The GM was very helpful as well as all the staff . Recommended :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive review that you posted on tripadvisor for us. We are glad to hear that the 5 nights you spend with us were great. Our rooms are indeed very comfortable even for guest that stay for a long time with us. We are proud to hear that you enjoyed our large variety of food that we offer. The staff would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future at AKARYN spa&resort.

If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally; this is the best way to book the resort.

Warm regards,

Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is just a paradise! We've been there with my wife and had beautiful 4 days. Check-in was fast and then frienldy staff escorted us to our room. The bed was georgeos and we spent all of our time in the resort, enjoying ourselves.
Food is excellent as well as wine selection. Staff is very friendly and they are really looking after you
I could wish nothing more!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor, it means a lot to us. AKARYN is the perfect place to stay as a couple to enjoy relaxation. Our team is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself in the resort and that you like it. Our team does its outmost best to fulfill all the guests’ wishes. It would be a pleasure to welcome you at AKARYN in the near future so you can enjoy another good holiday.

If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally to book and this is the best way to book the resort..

Warm regards,

Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

From the reception up to my room ,the staffs are so friendly they really made sure our needs been well checked .The rooms were so relaxing ,loved the furnishing of the rooms very unique and gorgeous.The restaurant was so delightful ,I enjoyed their wide selections and very famous Pizzas.
The steaks are excellent along with selections of wine, night time was so peaceful even just sitting at the beach,although its just minutes away from midtown chaweng .I would really recommend this place for everybody, its a place for a wonderful holiday ..

Room Tip: if you are travelling as a couple i would suggest the rooms at the south,for families try the pool v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Resort. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay but also the extensive food selection. Our steak house OCHOS is of great quality, you can enjoy amazing steaks. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our famous variety of wooden oven made pizzas. The location is very peaceful and you can relax at our private beach. It was a pleasure to have you in our resort and it would be great to welcoming you again at AKARYN spa&resort in the near future.

If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally to book and this is the best way to book the resort.

Warm regards,

Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is perfect for a trip with your beloved one. I booked two nights there, but I finally stayed 5 nights !

The hotel is a lovely place if you want to have a good moment. The staff is very friendly. At our arrival, we had a great warm welcome from the Manager Christophe who gave us all the good tips about Koh Samui.

The room itself was well decorated and very comfortable. It was very convenient for people who want to rest in a nice atmosphere.

The smiling staff was always here to assist us, helping us to take pictures or making sure that we were well served.

We wanted to eat outside of the hotel, but finally had all of our meals there as the food was so decilious.

To summarize I will recommend this hotel for couples, family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued Guest, ‘
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on tripadvisor and for your recommendation. It means a lot to us to receive good feedback about our Resort. It is also a pleasure to hear that our team was able to fulfill all your wishes during your stay. We are very proud that you enjoyed the food from our restaurants. Hopefully the good atmosphere of the Resort will bring you back at AKARYN very soon.

If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally to book and this is the best way to book the resort.

Warm regards,

Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have been there last month during a trip and i was suprised by this place. First the pool villa is fantastic and the hotel is close to the airport. Really convenient. Staff are great and helpful. You gotta try the restaurant there. Good food and great wine selection. Will be back again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much to have taken the time to write a review about us on tripadvisor. Indeed our pool villas are really spacious and beautifully designed. We are very proud of the wide range of food selection we offer at our different restaurants. It is really worth trying it. We have a wide range of beautifully oven made pizzas and we have the only steak house on the island.The location is indeed very convenient for all the guest, it is far away from the noises of Chaweng but close from the airport. Thank you for choosing AKARYN spa&resort and we hope to see you very soon to welcome you again.

If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally to book and this is the best way to book the resort..

Warm regards,

Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked 4 nights to do the 3 day health package which offered 3 healthy tailored made meals,3 snacks,3 juices, 2 private excercise classes and a massage each per day. When we arrived they had no knowledge of our booking only that of the room even though we had a confirmation email which we showed them. Luckily someone sensible intervened and realised they would lose quite a substantial sum as we were getting ready to walk. Next day they tried really hard to pull a package together but it didn't quite work. Lack of communication meant every time we went to eat we had to explain our package and a meal was hastily prepared. Not always healthy and low fat which my husband did not complain about! there was only one fitness session available per day due to lack of staff. Initially we were told we could join the FREE yoga classes on the beach with the other hotel guests....I opted for a discount! Saying this the staff always tried their best. Credit to the F and B manager and the Spa manageress for trying to make it work for us. They did say no one usually books this and believe me you could tell! We had a late flight on the last day and told we could check out at 5pm. On the day we were told to be out by 12! After asking to speak to a manager we were moved to a smaller room which we enjoyed till we left.
Rooms are nice but getting shabby. The plastic surround for the pool light sat at the bottom of our pool for 3 days and just a general lack of attention to detail gave it a slightly scruffy feel which is a shame as the rooms are decorated very nicely.
Girls in the spa are really nice but when you've paid a lot for the 3 day package and see all the specials they offer because it's so quiet then that's a little annoying . We ate at the signature restaurant the first evening but as we were late and everyone seemed ready to pack up that wasn't a great experience. First we were forgotten about and had to keep reminding them we were there and the food was very average. We did have a lovely meal on Valentine's evening because they forgot to prepare us something as very busy so as we are weak and easily persuaded to break our diets we accepted the set menu for that evening....was very good!
There are better places to go for this kind of holiday...and much cheaper! If I stayed at the Akaryn again it would be just for room only as they are reasonable for what you get.

Room Tip: The pool villas are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMChristopheGestin, Manager at Akaryn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the AKARYN Resort & Spa for your holiday.
We are sorry for the inconvenience you had with the booking for your special treatments.
We would like to let you know that we immediately reported this mistake to the concerned department and will not occur anymore as everyone is briefed professionally for special packages like yours. Our Spa and Food& Beverage team are pleased to hear that you appreciated the efforts made to meet your needs and wants.
It is very unfortunate to hear that you had to repeat yourself every day and that you did expect a very different service and stay with us. This should definitely not happen. Our team is doing its utmost best to fulfill all the guest’s wishes.
Thank you very much for your nice compliments about our special and memorable Valentines dinner which you enjoyed at this night. Furthermore we are very proud with our rooms that we offer. They are very large in size and beautifully decorated.
I t would be a great a pleasure welcoming you again at AKARYN spa and resort. Please allow us to show our real standard by giving us a second chance for your future holiday on Samui Island.

If you or any of your friends are planning on coming back to AKARYN or any of our AHMS Hotels please contact me directly. We provide better rates and benefits for all guests who contact me personally; this is the best way to book the resort at rm.asm@akaryn.com

Warm regards,

Christophe Gestin, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akaryn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaryn Resort & Spa

Address: 63/182 Moo 5, Hanuman Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bophut
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akaryn Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKARYN Samui is an award Winning Luxury Boutique hotel located just 7 minutes north of Chaweng on Samui.For all booking and special enquiries please contact us directly for guaranteed best available rates and special offers.Thank you Matthias Jaeckel, Resident Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Akaryn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaryn Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaryn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.