We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Akaryn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akaryn Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Akaryn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Akaryn Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   63/182 Moo 5, Hanuman Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Mumbai
1 review
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great time at Akaryn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We travelled in May 2013, my wife and 2 year old - nice property, great food, poor location away from the usual hotspots Lamai or Chaweng. Breakfast was very good-the buffet was nice, iced coffee is a must try, the view overlooking the sea was awesome, rooms nice and comfortable, pools were very small but good for a dip.....the sea is rocky-no good if you like taking a dip.
Service was good though, some language issues with the staff, but overall a good experience for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    100
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
58
247
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The resort is great, really well maintained. Nice big rooms with a very nice private beach. The staff was extremely cheery and service oriented. It is a great place. Deffinetly would recommend it and come back

Room Tip: We stayed in the pool villa. The private pool is rather small. Would recommend the regular room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It was a great experience the hotel had its anniversary deals going on so we got a good deal on the room. all rooms have private pool which is a plus. The property is beach front. Very private beach location if someone is looking for absolute privacy. The food is excellent. If you are missing Italian then this is a great place to eat the chef Andrea makes awesome Pizzas.... The breakfast is made to order so its hot and fresh perfect in portion. Fresh juices... very delighted as we spent 5 days in Koh Samui 3 days we had prior booking at other hotel then one of the couples suggested us this place and we thought to try it out and were glad to make this as a choice to stay.... We could not enjoy the spa as we didn't have enough time. The infinity pool is amazing with inset bar which made it more enjoyable for us. Guys if staying in Koh Samui take minimum of 7 days to enjoy the island......

Room Tip: All rooms have pvt swimming pool choose rooms 121 around that area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We hadn't originally planned to visit Koh Samui but we changed our plans and got a last minute room for two nights. The room was great - comfortable bed, great bathroom, fantastic design and attention to detail, good outside area with sun loungers and private pool, everything was very modern and clean. The highlight of the hotel is the pool area and the swim-up bar, which go a long way to making up for the lack of a decent beach.

Compared to the beaches we later visited in Koh Phangan, the beach at this hotel is disappointing and the rocky coastline does make for a less than comfortable entry into the sea. Not many of the rooms are anywhere near the beach, which is something which is not clear from the hotel's literature. However, the views from the restaurant are impressive and the quality of the food and the attentiveness of the staff go some way to making up for the fact that the beach is not ideal. I am also not convinced that it is appropriate for the manager/owner himself to sit and enjoy a lengthy evening meal during the peak dining times. On our second night we went to a fantastic local restaurant called Relax, which was situated just outside the resort - fantastic food and service. We very much enjoyed our stay and we would recommend this hotel but feel that we cannot give a 5/5 rating for this hotel because of the beach and because another hotel is being constructed next door - query whether this means the beach will remain as quiet and uncrowded.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Normally i dont leave reviews after my holidays, but for the Akaryn i just have to! the only way we can describe our holiday here is perfect! Just everything was perfect! The Staff were amazing! The food was incredible! The resort itself was beautiful! If your looking to go to samui but are not sure where to go... THEN GO HERE! i promise you, you will not be dissapointed! Also a quick shout out and a massive thank you to Bjorn for making our holiday amazing! your a true credit to Akaryn.

Luke & Danielle UK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Friendly stuff, nice app with own pools,meals excellent both in edge restaurant/italian/ and ochos/steakhouse/. We were afraid of the beach seeing the photos of previous visitors but comparing to another beaches it was maybe the best we coud have:-) Would come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

You find relaxation in Akaryn resort and spa.
location is pefect you will be in the medle between Chaweng and fisher man village, 15 minutes long for each area.
All pools in this resort is salty water. the regular rooms with privet pool has very small pool about 3X3 meters but pool villas room is much better . Over all its good

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akaryn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaryn Resort & Spa

Address: 63/182 Moo 5, Hanuman Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akaryn Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKARYN Samui is an award Winning Luxury Boutique hotel located just 7 minutes north of Chaweng on Samui.For all booking and special enquiries please contact us directly for guaranteed best available rates and special offers.Thank you Matthias Jaeckel, Resident Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Akaryn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaryn Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaryn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.