We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food over the Mountains - a bit overpriced though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant

9Gems Lounge & Restaurant
t 141/190 Moo 6, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
+66 77 256 125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 301 Restaurants in Bophut
Cuisines: Tapas, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food over the Mountains - a bit overpriced though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The restaurant is what you can expect of a very trendy, chic and nicely decorated european restaurant with a lounge, original feeling. Staff was very attentive and the ambience/cocktails, food and drinks were very good.

That has it's price when it comes to Thailand though, for a wine + a la carte dinner, dont expect to pay less than 50-75 EUR: worth the price if you are feeling generous though!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    15
    6
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very classy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Delicious delicious delicious.. The food was Extra tasty, one of the best three places I ate at in my life.. Very clean l
BUT, the portions are hilariously tiny, it's not a dish to eat its just to taste although it's a very expensive place, if u can afford it order the plate twice so u can be half full, don't ever go when ur hungry.. I recommend u go by sun set, the view is magical. The service is really professional & friendly, and the owner cooks him self, the soup is perfect, and the duck dish I got was magnifico..
It's a must try place.
N.B it's a little hard to get there do make sure to get the right directions before hand..

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Food
Very nice and tasty but the amount of it was a total joke, we left still starving, I can't argue about their prices as they are one of the only restaurants to show this on their website, but their is no need to be giving so little on the plate, hence value for money isn't worth it.

Ambience
Visited on a Saturday evening at 9 and we were the only 2 people in the restaurant. Very nicely done out to a high standard.

Staff
Very helpful and friendly.

Overall
Tried the Rockpool few nights later and overall experience here was much better, food to match but more of it.. At nearly half the price. Can't help but think that you are paying for the obvious high price they paid to create 9gems. I wish them good luck.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Among all Samui restaurants, 9gems was one of the best surprise! First, 9gems isa little bit off the beaten tracks and offers a stunning view of the island. Then the staff was incredibly kind and pro.
In terms of food experience, we have been delighted from beginning until the end! The wine list was also quite impressive. Prices are high, but worth every penny. Their macarons are the best i have ever had since a while... even the famous la duree is not that good..
really looking forward to being there again!
tschüss...

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Owner at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your visit and your kind words, we are happy that you have had a good time at 9gems.

Look forward to serving you again.

Warmst regards

Sathit and 9gems team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All STYLE BUT NO SUBSTANCE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We found this (highly rated) restaurant to be extremely unprofessional relative to its food e.g. the Tom Yung Goong soup was basically packaged chicken stock with tinned mushrooms and a touch of chilli and some sliced tomatoes. The two curries: Penang Curry with beef and the Red Duck curry - no subtlety in the flavours - stringy tough beef and over-cooked duck. The grilled tuna was reasonable as was the gnocchi - for which the chef is apparently renowned. Extremely expensive drinks - over priced glass of Prosecco (540 baht per half filled glass!). Then to cap it all - a 10% sur charge on top of the 7% VAT.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Geschäftsführer at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us, I understand your feeling, that you are expected that you will eat Tom yam soup, with all herbal such as lemon grass etc in the soup, which we do not put that inside, we just cook all chili, lemon grass, etc first and get just the soup and cook it with prawn. You ate it all after you complained to our staff, you have had a choice to send it back and asking to make the way that you eat Tomyam soup in the normal Thai restaurant. I have checked with my staff if you were satisfy and ate all the food and checking all your plates after eating. You are right you didn't like duck curry much you just left 2-3 pieces of duck in your bowl, the rest of your meal you ate them all.

As you can see that, 9gems has been built with high quality product used all most of famous designer furniture such as Philip Stark, best sound system of bose etc, and high quality of the food products. We have shown all prices of food and drinks in our website, we have to apologize if the price is to high for you.

We still hope that we can make it better and serving you again.

Thank you and best regards

Sathit Muangprom

Owner and Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.