We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undervalued” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chom Dao

Chom Dao
178/2 Moo 1, Tambol Bophut, Koh Samui, Surat Thani 84320 Thailand, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
7724 5795
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 301 Restaurants in Bophut
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Undervalued”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

In February 2013 came there twice from another hotel. The first night had lobster termidore and it is very much recommended. The second time it was a buffet night with tables on the beach and meat it was very good - lamb shoulder, tenderloin and duck were all great as well as desserts. The waiter spoke fair English and was very helpful and nice. The restaurant has atmosphere and class that make it different from the crowd of beachside and streetside places. Live music is good. Wine is OK (based on experience of US Chardonnay and Thai Shiraz). It has a potential to play in the top league. An obvious shortcoming is that it is off the beaten track so unless you stay at Bandara (or Zazen) you would not typically pass it by and it is not as famous as two surrounding landmarks - Zazen and H Bistro.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kempten, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great View, a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Today I went to Chom Dao at Bophut Beach. This restaurant has a very nice terrace with a great view on the ocean. The staff is very nice and the furnishing looks very noble.
I had chicken satay with peanut sauce, which was very good. For second course I had a pizza with tuna and onion. I never had a pizza in thailand because I dont think thai people knows how to do a good pizza and if you are in Thailand you should eat Thaifood and nothing else. But today I tried pizza and it was ok. Its not a traditional italian pizza, which is thin and crusty. This "thai"-pizza was a little bit more thick, soft and white at the bottom. The dough was a little bit sweet but I liked it. If you wanna have a real italien pizza than this is not a good place but for thaifood I really recomment this restaurant. I will go again and try some authentic thai food. The prices a little bit more higher, but still cheap for europeans.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Ate here with my wife on a thursday night, View and atmosphere were lovely. Our waitress was very attentive, and always made sure to repeat our orders back to us, and always ready to help in any way. I had the green curry chicken dish, i ordered it Thai-style spicy, and it was spiced to perfection. The chicken was shredded and there didn't seem to be much of it, and the curry was a tad soupy. My wife had the duck leg which was very flavorful, but didn't have a ton of meat on it. The cocktails were ok, I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here, but it was a satisfactory experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Ate dinner here for our wedding anniversary while we were staying at Bandara Resort and Spa. The service is great and the view from the terrace lovely, but the food is unfortunately only average and a little on the pricey side, especially compared to many of the restaurants in Fisherman's Village. Recommended if you don't feel like making the treck to the village at night, but otherwise skippable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not necessary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We had an open buffet BBQ there. Options were mainly seafoods and shish pork and chicken. Quality of food was really poor and there was a boring and childish show. The atmhosphere looks lovely but thats all.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chom Dao also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Chom Dao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chom Dao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.