We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service, nice food, pity about the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Luxe Beach Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tango Luxe Beach Villa to your Saves list
Tango Luxe Beach Villa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   79/100 Moo 5 | Plai Laem Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant service, nice food, pity about the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We only stayed one night but were upgraded to the grand sunset villa on arrival, which was very lovely. The service at the hotel is excellent, and the food was the best from a hotel we had consistently here, than any other place on samui or koh tao where we stayed prior.

The villa was well furnished and huge! Very comfortable. The outdoor area was very relaxing and spacious, and we enjoyed the large shaded pavilion. The only down side to this villa is that it's right next to the resort pool and beach bar, which means you don't have absolute privacy and are subject to the beach bar music which plays from 10am. We didn't mind the music but think some people may, and if I'd paid full price for this villa I wouldn't have been pleased with that.

Standouts were Aung's service, and the consistently good food. Perfect for relaxing in the property itself. The spa massage was also very good and not ridiculously expensive like some of the other resorts on samui.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungKK, Resident Manager at Tango Luxe Beach Villa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear HayleyMorris,
Greetings from Koh Samui, Thailand!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your 1 night stay at Tango Luxe Villas. It is always so wonderful to read such titles of reviews as brilliant, excellent, impeccable etc. etc.,..
We are very proud of our new European chef as well as Thai Chefs at our Qi Restaurant and it gives us great pleasure to know that their food stood out best through out your stay in Koh Samui & Koh Tao.
Of course, a big factor to making your stay memorable was the complimentary upgrade we were able to offer you, which was our pleasure. However, this is nothing we can guarantee or which we want future guests to expect, but our front office team does try to play around with our availability so we can arrange for these kind of surprises for our guests. Priority is always given to direct bookers, who we also quote the best prices. Again, we do not want guests to be disappointed if they are not upgraded, and keep in mind that all our villas are equally nice with a high value for money. We offer many different villa configurations and we are happy you pointed out the pros and cons of our 2 bedroom Grand Sunset Villa. We only have two units of this type and they are located closer to the sea front and the main pool with a bar. We have already brought up the music issue at the bar in our daily management meeting and have taken measures to completely minimize this for our future guests who booked this villa.
Again, thank you for your brilliant review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to welcome you back to Tango Luxe in the future.
Warm regards,
Aung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    53
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
151
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

What sets the Tango luxe apart from the rest. The staff here are the best I have encountered anywhere. Mr Aung and his amazing crew bend over backwards to fill each and every request you may have. We spent ten glorious days very there recently and I have to say, I was very impressed, both with the quality of the apartments and the attention to detail in the layout. House keeping do a very good job, I tested their skills by leaving small and not all that obvious goodies for them and everything was removed and replaced daily.

One suggestion would be, make use of the pool, be it the private one or the main one, the beach area is not great and very tidal, this is the only thing mother nature held back on here. There is a great and very laid back beach a couple of kilometres away in Choeng Mon, which is an easy bike ride away on the complimentary bikes or, the hotel shuttle can take you there, just ask. The entire area is very laid back and nothing like Chaweng, if you are after that scene, do not stay here.

The restaurant has an extensive menu, which we only discovered on the last day, make sure you check it out at the restaurant, do not rely on the one in your room. The chef here cooks both western and Thai to perfection, really good and not over priced like most resorts. If you have something in mind and it doesn't appear in the menu, let them know, as the team is willing to cater in that department also

Drinks are well mixed and very reasonably priced also, do not be fooled into the 70-90thb cocktails in local restaurants, they are all virgin and contain no alcohol.

I would like to thank Mr Aung and the staff at the Tango Luxe for a great, relaxing holiday and we will be seeing you again in the near future, along with many others.

Impeccable is the only suitable comment..

Best Regards

Jim & Laura

Room Tip: Anything with a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungKK, Resident Manager at Tango Luxe Beach Villa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Jim & Laura,
Greetings from Koh Samui, Thailand!
Thank you very much for your very detailed feedback regarding your recent 10 days stay with us. It made for very pleasant reading and it's great to see all the points highlighted. This is what we dream of daily, how to be better hoteliers and reading such a fantastic review makes it all worth it. I have passed your words of impression to our housekeeping team who were thrilled to bits and it made their day. We have noted your comments about the menu in the villas and we have decided to revise it so that our valued guests like yourself can enjoy more of the extensive menu both Western and Thai. Thank you once again for a glowing review and please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more memorable.
Until we see you both again in the near future...
Warmest Regards,
Aung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Tango Luxe provided the perfect spot of relaxation after an exhausting flight and brief trip in Bangkok. Unlike any other hotels we stayed at on our trip it offered an intimate and very personal experience throughout our stay. Resort manager Aung is such a gentleman who along with his staff knew exactly what we needed and catered to our every whim.

We were allocated in an incredible villa, Merica with a private pool. Although this hotel is a 4 star you will feel like a 5 star with grest architecture. It is a perfect haven to relax.
We were terribly disappointed with our next stop at the Banyan Tree in Phuket which is a big tourist trap with nothing natural.

As a young couple we did leave the hotel to enjoy the night life in Chaweng which is 5 kilometers away. But a taxi which costs 400 Thai Baht to and 300 on return was arranged for us in a short notice.  Although we enjoyed the hustle and bustle of Chaweng we were happy and relieved to be back in our little haven all times.
Worth hiring a scooter to sight see the island. Very easy to arrange and 300 Baht. Fisherman's village well worth a visit and has lovely beach side restaurants, at very reasonable prices.

Though we had intended to try and eat out in as many different places as possible, we ended up eating in the hotel almost every night. The main reason was that we were unable to find Thai food outside the resort that was anything like as good as that found within. It was probably the best Thai food we'd ever eaten, to the extent that we didn't even try any of the Western food on offer for lunch or dinner.

The only negatives were things that were out of the hotel's control. Mainly flights landing and taking off and to a lesser extent the road leading to the hotel.
There was also some quite significant building work taking place near the hotel, though they never worked early or late, so it wasn't really a problem to us, and one can't blame the hotel for that.

It's just nit-picking really, and any negatives are so hugely outweighed by the positives of this resort, that it's barely worth mentioning them.

All in all it was an excellent experience, and one that we suspect will be hard to better elsewhere.

Reading through the other reviews, we were surprised to see comments regarding the state of maintenance of the hotel. We found it to be very well cared for. There were a few areas in our room that looked less than brand new e.g. the floors and the walls as a result of the condensation and to that one has to keep in mind that the villas are built from natural materials and are situated in quite a wild environment. It is impossible to keep structures spotless in such conditions. If you want spotless and brand new atmosphere, stay in a 21st floor room in a hotel in Bangkok!

Thank you Mr. Aung and all the Staffs at Tango Luxe. We will definitely return to stay if we have a chance to visit Thailand again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungKK, Resident Manager at Tango Luxe Beach Villa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Winston W,
Greetings from Koh Samui, Thailand!
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed feedback. We are so glad you overall enjoyed your stay and that we were responsible for creating an intimate holiday experience.
It gave us great pleasure and are delighted that you found the Sala Suite Pool Villa, Merica incredible and that you were able to get a five star feeling with our accommodation and service. You are correct in pointing out the landing & taking off of planes which is not a unique issue for our resort alone as most resorts will experience this. There is really as such no specific flight path due to the small size of the island and planes land and take off in all directions depending on the wind. On your next visit please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable.
Warmest regards,
Aung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

wonderful hotel.

pros:
amazing room (!), very big, clean, beautiful and luxurious. Amazing private pool.
Nice restaurant.
Wonderful staff.
15 minutes drive from the airport (if you can find it)

cons:
A little bit hard to find.
Beach is not really swim-able.
need a mo-pad or a car to get out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungKK, Resident Manager at Tango Luxe Beach Villa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear S_K_F_R,
Greetings from Koh Samui, Thailand!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a short but powerful review of your recent stay at Tango Luxe Villas. We are so pleased to know that you found our rooms to be clean, beautiful and luxurious. Thank you also for your kind words on our restaurant and staffs. Personalized service is a hallmark of the Tango Luxe experience and we love to hear that we live up to it.
Renting a mo pad or a car exploring the island on your own can be a great day for our more adventurous guests. In addition, we also offer a free shuttle service into the city center Chaweng.
Please be in touch if your travel plans include a return trip to Koh Samui.
Kind regards,
Aung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here for 6 days of our honeymoon. First off the communication with this hotel was great. They were so welcoming and had a warm welcome for us. Our room was amazing. Nice little pool and large bathroom and bedroom. It is just a great set up and a cool layout of all villas. It has a great pool with bar and tables set up to order a meal. It has a great view of the ocean and has some breath taking views of the sunset. It is a great location on the island as you can get to great markets near by. Also with the size of the island its easy to get almost anywhere. They even helped us change our reservation. Great breakfasts served to your own villas in the mornings.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungKK, Resident Manager at Tango Luxe Beach Villa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear scott h,
Greetings from Koh Samui, Thailand!
Thank you for your amazing review and for your appreciation of our staff's efforts to make you feel so welcome and accommodating. Tango Luxe is definitely a place to relax and to get away from the hectic party scenes in some of the more touristic areas on the island.
Although we are only 10-15 minutes from the action in Chaweng, the serenity of our location feels like hundreds of miles away.
Thank you for mentioning our great breakfast menu as well as our breath taking view of the sunset by the sea front deck.
When you are ready to return to Tango Luxe, please let us know so that we can prepare and offer you our special return rates to welcome your smiling faces back again.
Kind regards,
Aung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Cant fault it. Immaculate presentation. Relaxing atmosphere. Attentive and kind staff. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The position of the Villas suited us. We liked the fact it was a short distance from the hustle and bustle. It was not difficult to go out and explore the island and we were only a short taxi ride to the shops and restaurants. The breakfast was lovely every day. There was a good choice on the menu and we especially liked eating breakfast in the privacy of our own garden. The restaurant served good meals. The private pool was clean and we used it daily. The bed was extremely comfortable and good quality linen.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, dont get a room by the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungKK, Resident Manager at Tango Luxe Beach Villa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear shirleyjoy,
Greetings from Koh Samui!
Thank you for your glowing review regarding your recent stay with us at Tango Luxe Villas Resort. We are thrilled that you couldn't find any fault with us and that you approve of our relaxing atmosphere and our well known attentive service as well as the breakfast served in the villa and food at our Qi & Sea La Vie Restaurants. You are right by saying the location of the resort is away from all the noise and crowds which is why 95% of our guests chose to stay here.
We thank you once again for having confidence in us and choosing us for your stay. The best complement will be if you return to us in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Aung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

As we loved our stay here last year we returned again. Villas, service and breakfast is still very good. However, it gives a feeling that the maintenance is not following. Chairs on the terrass and sunbeds were falling down. The pool was maintained recently but the 2nd day we were there the water had a green color. This place could still be good, but this year I was not fully satisfied.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungKK, Resident Manager at Tango Luxe Beach Villa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear npauliina,
Greetings from Koh Samui, Thailand!
Thank you for returning to stay with us on your second visit to Koh Samui and for taking the time to share your well balanced review. We are delighted that you had an overall good time with us and thank you for highlighting our constant level of service, accommodation and inclusive breakfast. Thank you also for pointing out some inconsistencies regarding maintenance in the resort. We pride ourselves on our attentiveness and high level of service and it's great to get constructive criticism. We are addressing these points and are now in the process of systematically going through all our logs, checklists and routines.
The main swimming pool was under renovation for a month and on the last day of the tile replacement works we had pumped in water to test which obviously was green in color and this unfortunately coincided with your arrival. However we are pleased to inform you that we now have the brand new pool and is in full service to our happy guests.
I can assure you all feedback is welcome and we hope it did not tarnish your desire to return to us on your third visit.
As a remark I would like to point out to future guests that if there is any issue arising that you would like to bring to our attention, please do not hesitate to contact me. You can simply inform a staff that you would like to see me. Most issues can be handled easily by my team, but if you do want to see me for any reason I am always happy to do so. Feedback is arguably the most important tool for me to improve our services and I always enjoy a good chat with our guests and although I always encourage guests to write reviews, it is not necessarily the fastest way if you are currently in-house and experiencing an issue. Pages such as Tripadvisor take a few days to review the content before it is posted, which delays the resolution to the problem unnecessarily.
Yours in hospitality,
Aung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Luxe Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Luxe Beach Villa

Address: 79/100 Moo 5 | Plai Laem Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#8 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Luxe Beach Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Luxe is a collection of contrasts which combine to create an enigmatic and sophisticated resort atmosphere. You'll find an eclectic mix of style influences, incorporating contemporary and traditional design elements to showcase the versatility of natural materials. From the moment you arrive, the attention to detail and contrasting styles are instantly evident in the spectacular lobby area, which looks directly through to the pool, pool bar and beach. Contemporary wooden tables sit comfortably beneath traditionally styled chandeliers and everywhere you look there's a view, ornament or furniture piece to focus your interest. The relaxing ambience starts here, and you really get the feeling that this would be the perfect location to simply sit and enjoy the surroundings. Cielo spa above the lobby offers an opportunity to enhance your relaxation even further with a skilled massage, jacuzzi or steam room. Stepping into the lobby bar and restaurant is like entering another world. Qi Oriental cuisine lobby bar signifies the source of life's energy in Chinese, and this area is heavily influenced by the Chinese culture. Exotic paintings adorn the bar walls and contrast with the white marble counter, whilst intricately carved wooden doors fold open to bring the outside in. A plant-lined wooden walkway leads through the private luxury villas and directly onto the pool terrace. The wide pool sits above the beach and is surrounded by decking which literally wraps around the palm trees lining the front of the property. The poolside Beach bar and Bistro, Sea La Vie, provides you with the picture-perfect image of sipping cocktails and enjoying the sensational sunset. From this position it would be easy to imagine that you are the only people on the whole island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tango Luxe Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Luxe Beach Villa Hotel Koh Samui
Tango Luxe Beach Villa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Luxe Beach Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.